Game Recap (ED. NOTE- THAT GAME WAS AWESOME)

(ed. note- About halfway through writing this Game Diary I realize that a lot of the stuff I wrote at the beginning of the diary was all wrong-headed.  So, I went back and made some notes.)

-Holy crap do I wish Vincent Lecavalier was a Sabre.

-Holy crap do I wish Jochen Hecht was not a Sabre.

-Remember that time Lecavalier and Hecht fought?  That was awesome.  If they fought again right now I might be rooting for Vinny. 

- I love it when a guy scores a goal and then immediately points to the guy who gave him the pass.  Vanek does that all the time.  Because he’s awesome.  Vanek has good manners, even in the heat of the moment.

(ed. note- At some point in here the score got to be 3-1, Lightning.  I really wasn’t paying super close attention to be honest.)

- The Lightning are an incredibly exciting and awesome team.  They’re just plan better than the Sabres. (ed. note- *cue hilarious foreshadowing music*) The Lightning are a good example of how quickly things can change when the right man takes over a franchise.  Have hope, Sabres fans!  Things can change.  Two years ago the Barry Melrose was coaching the Lightning and Stamkos was a bust, and now look at them!  They rock. (ed. note- They do not rock.)

- You know, even though the Sabres are currently losing 3-1, I still like this game.  Is anyone else just totally calm about the Sabres?  It’s Pegula.  I believe again, because now I’ve got some patience.   (ed. note- I REALLY BELIEVE AGAIN!  THANK YOU HOCKEY GODS!)

-Is there a guy in a Sabres Steve Bernier jersey sitting right behind Brian Engblom?  That is WEIRD.  If you’re the guy who ran out and bought that jersey the day after Bernier’s impressive debut against Nashville two years ago, aren’t you also the guy who has a closet full of jerseys?  And if you own other, non-Bernier jerseys, shouldn’t you be wearing one of those to the game?  Is it possible that this guy only owns one Sabres jersey, and that jersey is a…Bernier? (ed. note- The guy in the Bernier jersey is OBVIOUSLY LUCKY, and if Pegula is smart he’ll pay the Bernier-guy to travel around with the team, and wear his Bernier jersey in the first row behind the benches at every game. MAKE IT HAPPEN, PEGASAURUS!)

(ed. note: NOT weird!  HE’S A LUCKY CHARM AND I LOVE HIM!)

-Jason Pominville needs to score some goals.  Or at least be remotely visible on the ice. (ed. note- This actually still stands.)

- Huh.  The Sabres just tied it!  I did not see that coming.  It’s definitely easier to score when the opposing goalie is flat on his back.  The Sabres should send old Staffy out to trip up the goalie more often.  This game is now hilarious because the home fans are MEGA cranky and booing all over the place.  Can’t say I exactly blame them, although Staffy was just falling.  He didn’t mean nothin’ by it. (ed. note- The crowd should’ve saved their booing and just stood up and gone home.  The ax…it was hovering.  To say the least.  WOO!)

- WHY did Lindy put Niedermayer out on the 3-on-3?  WHAT POSSIBLE JUSTIFICATION COULD THERE POSSIBLY BE FOR NIEDERMAYER ON A 3-ON-3?!  WHY LINDY, WHY? (ed. note- WHY?!)

- Wow!  Tim Connolly just scored.  I repeat.  Tim Connolly just score the go ahead goal. That goal was nice work by Stafford, Ennis and Connolly. 4-3, Sabres.

- I am definitely losing my, “TRADE STAFFY NOW!” resolve.  Now I’m kind of like, “WE’RE WINNING THE CUP, AND STAFFY IS GOING TO BE THE MVP!”

- Okay, the Sabres just scored AGAIN.  This is the best game EVER!  (Except for possibly this game, which was also against the Lightning.) 5-3, Sabres.

- Why haven’t they pulled Roloson? (ed. note- I should be the coach of the Lightning.)

- HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Tampa Bay Lightning, WHY did you leave Vanek all alone right in front of the net?  Are you guys retarded? (ed. note- Yes!  THEY ARE!)  6-3, Sabres.

- Okay, Staffy.  You can stay.  It’s decided.  Tell us how much money you want, and we’ll have Pegula’s lawyers write up the contract.  IT’S A “MOOOORE BRAAAAAAINS” HAT TRICK! 7-3, Sabres.

- Aw, Vinny scored.  I love that guy.  I wish he was a Sabre.  Have I mentioned that recently? 7-4, Sabres.

- Well.  I think I speak for all Sabres fans when I say, “EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!” (ed. note- EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!)

-If you’re not jazzed after that one, we can’t be friends.

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!! WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!  WOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!! THE SABRES ARE NEVER LOSING AGAIN! (ed. note- It’s been far, far too long since I’ve said, “The Sabres are never losing again.”  Welcome back, Sabres.)

7 Responses to “Game Recap (ED. NOTE- THAT GAME WAS AWESOME)”


  1. 1 Kathleen February 9, 2011 at 1:01 am

    This recap is hilarious. Best use of ed. notes ever.

    -Remember that time Lecavalier and Hecht fought?

    Like it was yesterday. Wasn’t that game a bonkers comeback for the Sabres too? I even think it was 7-4. Sabres-BOLTS! games are (almost) always crazyfun.

    I am definitely losing my, “TRADE STAFFY NOW!” resolve. Now I’m kind of like, “WE’RE WINNING THE CUP, AND STAFFY IS GOING TO BE THE MVP!”

    I TOLD YOU SO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This game was awesome. I still feel all giddy and giggly.

    (ed. note- I see the game I was thinking of is the game you statbitted. So it might be the What the Hecht, Vinny?!?? fight, or it might not be. Tampa games are bonkers.)

  2. 2 scottymcss February 9, 2011 at 9:01 am

    Hilarious, smart post.

    On a side note, there’s a small chance the #56 guy is donning a strange slug Ken Priestlay homage jersey.

    A very small chance.

  3. 3 Jonathan February 9, 2011 at 9:04 am

    I too would like Vinny on the team, along with Shane Doan. But neither will never happen. But, Steve Montador was always on my list of wants, so maybe? When they are 40?

  4. 4 Tom February 9, 2011 at 11:21 am

    I asked Lindy (via my TV phone) the same thing about Niedermayer on the 3 on 3. We almost gave up a break away to St. Louis at the end of that shift, and that would have killed a ton of momentum. You could just tell that the game was sitting at a tipping point when it was 3-3, and the first team to grab the energy was going to run with it.
    In general, what is the justification of “Drop and Give Me 20″ using up a spot on the bench when Mancari is tearing up the AHL in Portland? All of this happening during Mancari’s contract year no less – give him a real shot to see if he’s going to be wearing blue and gold next year, already!!!

  5. 5 Alan February 9, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    Great post! I hate having to watch the Sabres on Versus, but I’m so happy they carried this one because I wouldn’t have seen it otherwise, and it was really a fun game.

    Last time I was in Buffalo–January of 2009, sadly–I was able to go to a Sabres game. I went to the store in the HSBC arena, and they had Bernier slug jerseys on sale for less than you could buy a blank jersey. Maybe this guy wanted to support the Sabres without clearing out his bank account.

    I bought the blank jersey instead. I really wanted a Jerry Korab jersey, but it seems I’m about 3 decades too late for that.

  6. 6 Erin February 9, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    Speaking of Bernier jersey’s. I was with my much younger cousin at some Sabres event and we saw a guy in a Bernier jersey and my cousin turned to me and said, “Impulse buy.” Seriously.

  7. 7 boonies February 9, 2011 at 9:29 pm

    This blogger needs his/her meds adjusted And soon.
    Sorry gang but two months of good play at the tail end of a verrry lackluster 5 year career does NOT An extension make.
    Whats more he has missed every third game so far with a series of worrisome injuries. Is he fragile?
    The league won’t tear his door down on July 1, so let’s see what he does thru the end of the year.
    Me, I give him a one year 3 million offer…show me it wasn’t a fluke and you arent breakable And at the All Star break we’ll talk.
    No moreConnollys or Pominvilles!!!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

