One Day At A Time

In an ongoing effort to regain control of my Sabres fandom and to eliminate my negative reaction to other people’s reactions, I’ve decided to take a short sabbatical from Twitter.  I don’t know how long it will actually last, but my goal is a week.  And as pathetic as this sounds, I think the chances of me making it a week without Twitter are slim.

My name is Katebits, and I’m addicted to Twitter.  Like, actually addicted.  (I may or may not be twitching every time I write the word, “Twitter”.)

Before we go any further, let me just say something right now- I can just HEAR all the anti-Twitter people, licking their chops, ready to dive into the comments of this post to tell me that, even though they’ve never used it, “TWITTER IS STOOPID!  I DON’T CARE WHAT YOU ATE FOR LUNCH!”  Now look, as much as I value your opinions, I’m respectfully asking you guys to just save it for the, “I Hate Twitter” message boards, or where ever it is that you hang out online.  (Seriously though… where do you go?  And can I come?  It’s going to be boring without Twitter.)

Twitter is NOT stupid.  Twitter is amazing, and I love it.  This experiment isn’t an indictment of Twitter, it’s just me saying, “SHUT THE EFF UP ABOUT WHAT YOU ATE FOR LUNCH, YOU IDIOTS!”

Heh.  Juuuust kidding.

I truly mean it when I say that I love Twitter. And you know what? For some reason I do care what you ate for lunch.

I’m just following a hunch.  I suspect there might be some value in turning down the volume on the Sabres chatter.  I’m all about maximizing my Sabres experience, you see.

Basically, this is an experiment to find out if I enjoy the Sabres a little bit more without the instant barrage of reaction that Twitter provides.  Lately I’ve been feeling overwhelmed by the sheer volume of the Sabres chatter, and even more troubling, I’ve been surprised by how difficult it is for me to turn away.  It’s one thing to think, “You know, maybe I could do without the constant criticism of Ryan Miller on Twitter,” and it’s quite another to realize that for some reason I apparently can’t do without it.  I think I read about 45,00,00000,000,00,0 tweets a day about the Sabres.

My hope is that without Twitter I’ll be able to take the energy I’ve been spending on being irked by other people’s opinions, and devote it entirely to being comically irked about the Sabres.  I’m also hoping that not using Twitter will improve my blogging.  One thing that is absolutely undeniable about Twitter is that it’s changed the way I blog.  I frequently just blurt things out on twitter that, with a little more effort, could be fleshed out into a decent post. 

Here is an example of stuff I reflexively tried to tweet in the time it took me to write this blog post:

Katebits: How is it possible that BOTH the Canes and the NYR are playing again tonight?  Aren’t we going to have, like, eleventy billion games in hand on them?

Katebits: The creepiest thing about boxed wine is how, in order to get the last glass out, you have to take the plastic sack out of the box and squeeze it like an udder.

Katebits: I ate three pieces of string cheese and a pickle for lunch today.

Obviously, all of these things could have made FINE blog posts.  ….*shifty eyes*

Anyway, my point is this: I’m quitting Twitter for a week, but I hope we can still be friends.  Please don’t forget about me while I’m gone.  And PLEASE, if you happen to notice that President Obama (he follows me for some reason) has sent me a tweet asking for my help with a viola/hockey-blogging espionage mission, PLEASE email me to tell me to check my @replies.

(Final Confession: I’m tempted to allow myself to log into Twitter once a day in order to link to my new blog posts, but I suspect that that’s a slippery slope.  It’s difficult to imagine actually just leaving one link on Twitter and then getting out of there. What do you guys think?  Is that cheating?  Maybe it would help if you guys promise to visit my blog even without a link on Twitter.  OH GOD, I’M NEVER GOING TO MAKE IT!)

10 Responses to “One Day At A Time”


  1. 1 donald March 4, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    i see you posting your tweets on FB cheater

  2. 3 Heather B. March 4, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    Ha! I was going to say, I think I read that thing about the boxed wine…

    Have fun on your Twitter sabbatical. I also love Twitter, but I can definitely understand the value in toning down the Sabres chatter for a while.

  3. 4 CrotchetyOriginalSam March 4, 2011 at 11:54 pm

    I wasn’t going to mention the Facebook thing, but… yeah, you’re busted.

  4. 5 Katebits March 4, 2011 at 11:59 pm

    Look you-people-who-all-know-me-in-real-life, I need SOMEPLACE for my pithy observations!

  5. 6 Patty March 5, 2011 at 7:43 am

    You could read a book about the Sabres. I got “Then Perrault Said to Rico” for Christmas, and it is a great read. You can get some history AND learn about the French Connection!
    I’ve never been on Twitter, and I barely even bother with Facebook, so it’s funny to me to think you could be addicted to it. Get out, get some sunshine, go for a walk, talk to friends in person. You’ll be fine and the week will be over before you know it.

  6. 7 allthingsjennifer March 5, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    You can do anything you put your mind to. :)

  7. 8 Ryan March 6, 2011 at 4:04 am

    I support your decision to stay off of Twitter. However, YOU’LL BE BACK.

    Oh, I am curious to see if this changes your post output. I often find myself wanting to say things on Twitter but eventually they become blog posts because I can’t fit anything. I think we have contrasting problems.

  8. 9 rich March 6, 2011 at 7:27 am

    You know I completely killed (actually deleted) my account for about six months and then came back. After being “back” for a month, I took the twitter app off my phone. I just can’t moderate the “checking” of my stream well enough. And some days twitter is amazing. Other days it’s terrible. Good luck on your sabbatical :)


  1. 1 I’m in a good mood. « Penalty Killing Trackback on March 7, 2011 at 9:12 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

