4 Things

1. I am officially sick of my Twitter sabbatical.  It’s been interesting, it’s been good for me, but at this point I’m only staying off of Twitter because I said I would.  I needed a break from Twitter so I could recalibrate my “negativity sensors”.  Before this break, I was allowing too much crankiness to effect me.  I’d read ten tweets about the Sabres, and nine of them might’ve been totally positive, but I’d dwell on the tenth, crankiest tweet.  In this respect, the Twitter sabbatical has been a success.  I actually really do think that I’ll be more capable of ignoring the dumb shit now.  So, the sabbatical has been overall good.

HOWEVER, Twitter is legitimately useful and fun, for a variety of reasons, and I miss it.  There was a tiny part of me that thought maybe after a few days without Twitter I’d suddenly think, “Oooh, the world is sweeter, and more jolly Twitter-free!”  This has not been the case.  I’m looking forward to resuming my tweety ways on Saturday.

2. I will say this about living a more solitary Sabres existence: when you tell yourself ahead of time that you’re not going to get all grim about a potential loss, it actually totally works.   I thought the Sabres played well last night, all things considered.  I’m chalking that game up to, “You can’t win ‘em all.”

3. I do have one serious complaint about the game.  A SERIOUS COMPLAINT.

If there were any justice in this world, Marc Poophead Fleury would have paid dearly for his obnoxious and stupid attempt to score on our empty net.  That puck absolutely should’ve ended up in the back of his net, and the Sabres absolutely should’ve capitalized on that momentum to then score AGAIN, and the entirety of the hockey world should ABSOLUTELY  be laughing and pointing today at Fleury today.  WE SHOULD ALL BE WATCHING THAT BLUNDER ON AN ENDLESS YOUTUBE LOOP, JUST LAUGHING AND LAUGHING.  But noooooooo, the Sabres (sans Olden Niedenheimer) were incapable of scoring yesterday.

I feel cheated and betrayed that such a gross display of showboating was not INSTANTLY and SEVERELY punished by the Hockey Gods.  Stupid stinky Sabres.

4. From the “I Live Like a 14-Year-Old Boy” Files:  I just ate lunch across from this mess which has been on my dining room table for over 36 hours now.

Two nights ago I decided to re-pot some plants, so I got out the dirt and went to work.  Ordinarily, this is something I would clean up right away (seeing as though it’s an actual pile of dirt on my main dining surface) but for some reason I failed to do so in this circumstance.  Now the dirt has become a point of amusement to me, and I find myself wondering how long I can stand to live with a pile of dirt on my table.  It’s almost a personal challenge at this point.

I’d like to say that my failure to clean this up has something to do with my desire for Spring and how the dirt (and my little dirt-scoop) make me feel like spring is right around the corner, but honestly, I think this would be a lie.  The dirt is there because two nights ago I was lazy.  The dirt is staying there because not only am I lazy, but against all reason, I’m somehow CHARMED by my own laziness.

Actually, now that I’ve written about this I am no longer amused by this dirt. I disgust myself.  As soon as I get done typing this sentence I’m going to clean it up.

UPDATE: Everyone calm down.  The dirt has been cleaned, and the floor has been swept.

Crisis averted. I am NOT a 14-year-old boy.

5 Responses to “4 Things”


  1. 1 Caroline March 10, 2011 at 1:19 am

    Actually, now that I’ve written about this I am no longer amused by this dirt. I disgust myself.

    Hahahaha this made me laugh out loud.

  2. 2 Ed March 10, 2011 at 1:37 am

    This may amuse you – some time ago I was trying to get back to your blog here, not having bookmarked it, so I quickly typed the name into Google, brutally misspelling it. Now, weeks later, my Google search bar’s autofill helpfully suggests the same search, which does in fact bring me to the correct site: willfil cabooser.

    Also, based on what you seem to think 14-year-old boys do, you’ve never actually been one. They don’t pot plants, generally (well, some of them do, I guess). If you really, truly lived like a 14-year-old boy, there’s basically one thing you’d be doing all day, and I can’t tell you what it is on account of I don’t know what kind of parental rating you like to maintain here.

    But it rhymes with “Fast Her Gate.”

  3. 3 Brendan March 10, 2011 at 10:04 am

    Great post Kate. I think that the hockey gods are clearly still giving the Pens some lee-way after taking Crosby away from them as I had the exact same thought after the Fleury play.

    I think that win was easier to handle due to it being almost expected. Short 4 important players, long road trip, good team that we struggle against, games in hand while still in playoff position. Easy one to write off. Certainly couldn’t fault the effort.

    Come back to twitter soon, your snark is missed.

  4. 4 Dave March 10, 2011 at 10:42 am

    I think the Pegula-effect has carried over to TWC. You’ve been putting up some pretty hilarious stuff lately, Katebits. Congrats!

  5. 5 Katebits March 10, 2011 at 11:09 am

    Thanks, guys!

    Ed, my head is spinning with all of the potential jokes here. “Potting plants” as a euphemism for Fast Her Gating just seems too easy. Not to mention the implications of the resultant dirt pile…

    Brendan, YOU’RE RIGHT. The Gods are going easy on the Pens because of Sid’s concussion. I should put this out of my mind.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

