It’s Ted Black Appreciation Day!

Regular attenders of Sabres home games know that the water that comes out of the bathroom sinks at HSBC Arena is not merely cold. That water is otherworldly. No water has ever been as cold as HSBC water. Ever. (Not here on earth, at least).

I’ve bitched about this issue once, or two million, times on this blog. I even put it in the Sabres Suggestion Box.

Please watch this super cute video made by Jessica Pegula. If you don’t want to watch the whole thing, just skip to the 2:28 mark.

YES.  YOU HEARD THAT CORRECTLY.

That was Ted Black, President of the Buffalo Sabres, acknowledging the cold water situation.

!

And while he didn’t say this directly, I’m pretty sure I detected an undercurrent of, “Your hands will never be cold again, Katebits” in the twinkle of his eye.  (Incidentally, I’m not the woman who approached Ted Black about the bathroom water at the game on Sunday.  I absolutely would have whined to him about my cold hands had I seen him there, but I didn’t.  If you’re the woman who bravely alerted Mr. Ted Black to this important issue, you should call me because obviously we’re potential BFFs/soulmates.)

I’ve written a lot in the last few weeks about how different everything feels as a Sabres fan since Pegula took over.  Really, it’s almost like rooting for a different team.  Never in a million years, not in our wildest dreams, could we have predicted that the new Sabres ownership would be so responsive, so enthusiastic, and so INSANELY CHARMING IN EVERY WAY.  I mean, really.  It’s pretty much ridiculous how well they’ve been doing.  They’re, like, comically good at this.

Terry Pegula is the billionaire who writes the checks, but Ted Black is the man who is actually reading the suggestions that we leave in the suggestion box.

I never had the simmering anger towards Larry Quinn that so many of you had, but even I have to admit, the difference between Larry Quinn and Ted Black is stark. (I suspect that Larry Quinn would personally glue my hands onto a glacier before he’d read my suggestions.)

So, let’s review the evidence:

1. Reads and responds to our suggestions
2. Has basically said ALL the right things WHILE using a tone of voice that makes us believe him
3. Seems waaaaay nicer than Larry Quinn.
4. Cares about our cold hands

There is only one logical conclusion to make: Ted Black is a dreamboat.

HERO.

It’s Ted Black Appreciation Day!  *throws confetti*

I’m not exactly sure how warm water in the women’s restrooms will lead directly to a Stanley Cup, but I have complete faith that it will.  WE’RE ON OUR WAY, PEOPLE.

Thank you, Ted Black!

14 Responses to “It’s Ted Black Appreciation Day!”


  1. 1 Sam March 17, 2011 at 11:35 pm

    great post, Kate! I hope he gets on the cold water issue- because it’s a SERIOUS problem and clearly it’s not just us that feel it. :)

    What really got me was his suggestion to have “slug discount day”- I am ALL about that! I have a slug jersey because I really wanted a Sabres jersey and didn’t want to wait however many years it would take for them to change back. I couldn’t get a throwback one because I would feel lame since I wasn’t in Buffalo in the day.. so I caved.

    And I’d buy a new one but I don’t have money for that sort of thing. So help a sista out, Mr. Black! Huzzah!

  2. 2 NoththeOriginalSam March 17, 2011 at 11:37 pm

    The above comment should be edited to reflect that I am not the original Sam. It used to be saved in my computer that way, but somehow it just got back to “Sam”. Sorry, Original Sam. Not trying to steal your name.

  3. 3 RR61 March 18, 2011 at 7:41 am

    Sabres fans are used to investing so much time, money, and emotion in to this team and getting little consideration in return. Just a small effort would have been appreciated, but it is AWESOME that Mr. Black and Mr. Pegula are willing to go the extra mile to create a first class organization for the team AND the fans. This is like a dream come true for us.

  4. 4 Kate-O March 18, 2011 at 8:11 am

    The correlation between warm hands and a Stanley Cup is easy to extrapolate, in my opinion. Warm hands means fans do not have to tuck their hands in their pockets/jackets, etc. or rub them together to warm up, thereby freeing said hands up to clap loudly and better high five, leading to better cheering from formerly frozen handed fans, and better cheering will help the team to play better, leading to more wins, and eventually a Stanely Cup. So, in fact, warm hands = a Stanley Cup. Mr. Ted Black is a genius.

  5. 5 Kate-O March 18, 2011 at 8:12 am

    Oops- that, obviously, should say Stanley Cup. I haven’t had enough coffee yet this morning and am unable to proofread, apparently.

  6. 6 boonies March 18, 2011 at 10:10 am

    Katebits…it IS too good to be true!!
    That book Ted Black and Terry Pegula left in the lobby…”To Serve Man”…its a cookbook!!
    Run for your lives!!!
    They’re Kanamits!!!

  7. 7 Mark B March 18, 2011 at 10:59 am

    I made the comment to Heather the other day that Ted Black is pretty much the anti-Larry Quinn. It’s like Pegula created him from scratch and mixed together all the ultimate Team President cool dude attributes. It must some kind of magic! I think Terry attended Hogwarts.

  8. 8 Kris March 18, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    Kate…the little bird on his shoulder made me blow coffee from my nose! I’ll have you know, I gave up FACEBOOK for Lent. However, I have stumbled across your awesome blog-o-sphere and I’ve replaced my facebook time with the Wilfull Caboose. If you ever put down your viola for a living, you would do VERY well as a columnist (if you aren’t one already).

    Love you!!

  9. 9 elise March 18, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    Ted Black!! Ted Black!! Ted Black!! Warm Hands for Everyone!!!

  10. 10 karen March 20, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    Mr. Ted Black’s attention to the cold water issue is commendable and I’m glad that he’ll address that…but I’m here to heartily agree with Sam (see first comment) – Mr. Ted Black had me at “burn all the slugs”! Well, ok, so maybe he didn’t say EXACTLY that, but I’m certain that’s exactly what he meant. I heart Mr. Ted Black (and warm hands) (but especially no slugs).

  11. 11 Sarah (RobRayIsBadAss) March 24, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    I think we should bombard Ted Black’s office with hundreds of Thank You cards one of these days from all the fans. The simple fact that he actually READS all of our suggestions warrants a Ted Black Appreciation Day.


  1. 1 Buffalo Sabres Playoff Talk, and a Dirty, Dirty Confession | buffalo74 Trackback on March 18, 2011 at 1:15 pm
  2. 2 The Pegula Birthday Flash Mob: It’s About the Little Things. Or Little Ones. | buffalo74 Trackback on March 29, 2011 at 4:33 pm
  3. 3 Take Heart Sabres Fans: “Hockey Heaven” is Thriving Trackback on December 22, 2011 at 6:41 am

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

