We See That Which We Want To See

I’ve seen the Sabres lose in alllll sorts of ways, but I’m not sure I’ve ever seen them lose quite like that.

It happened so fast, and so inexplicably.  Usually during a meltdown at SOME point I start to have that feeling of dread, but I’m telling you, I DID NOT SEE THAT COMING.  There was NO sense of impending doom.

Here’s my recap: I watched 57 good minutes solid hockey, but then I must have blacked out for about 3 minutes and ten seconds, because suddenly I was standing in my living room with my hands on my head, grasping fistfuls of my own hair, in the international pose of, “WTF JUST HAPPENED?!”  And I was watching Crunchy skate off the ice so fast it was like his little hockey pants were on fire, and my twitter feed was full of people having conniption fits, and I might have been bleeding out of my eyes a little bit.  I dunno.  It was a bad scene.

Even though I watched every minute of that game, I still don’t really understand what happened. (And please, do NOT take that as an invitation to tell me what happened in the comment thread. Ignorance is bliss. I’ll go ahead and assume that some combination of Sabres completely sucked ass for a few very unfortunate minutes.)

So, after the game I was all distraught, befuddled, and sad.  But suddenly, in my darkest hockey-hour, I had a REALLY good idea: I’m NOT going to be distraught and befuddled and sad.  I’m just going to go on living my life in a normal, orderly fashion.

I know!  I’m like Buddha-on-the-mountaintop over here!

That loss was stupid, it made no logical sense, and I do not accept it as part of my reality.  The End.

5 Responses to “We See That Which We Want To See”


  1. 1 lifeinspoons March 20, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    I like your attitude there. I think I will do the same.

  2. 2 Kris March 21, 2011 at 7:30 am

    Crunchy storming off in a little hissy fit was actually quite entertaining. In the end, out of four available points this weekend, we got three and three out of four ain’t bad, I suppose. I’m certainly not gonna let it ruin my Monday.

    (cute little hockey pants on fire – snigger!)

  3. 3 kitten March 21, 2011 at 10:57 am

    Obviously someone did something to anger the hockey gods. I suggest you can remedy this situation by making sure all the knife blades in your kitchen drawers face away from Toronto which as we all know, is where they live. ;-)

    P.S. It also pleases them if ice cube trays are stacked parallel to the freezer door instead of perpendicular.

    Thank you for your cooperation in this matter.

    Sincerely,

    Gord. Assistant to the Hockey Gods

  4. 5 Katie April 6, 2011 at 8:53 am

    I’m three weeks behind on my blog-reading, but I’d just like to say that I’ve now added “That loss was stupid, it made no logical sense, and I do not accept it as part of my reality” as my mantra out here in the minor leagues.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

