The Sabres Summit: An Exercise in Blinding Frustration and Blog-Altering Enthusiasm

As many of you have probably heard, the Sabres are up to some feisty new tricks. The Sabres have invited bloggers (filthy, unruly, living-in-mom’s-basement, BLOGGERS) to HSBC arena tomorrow evening to the, “first ever Blogger Summit.” I KNOW. They’ve invited bloggers INTO THE BELLY OF THE BEAST. Back when Golisano owned the team I think it would’ve been 100% reasonable to assume that the Sabres organization didn’t even use computers (typewriters and carrier pigeons work JUST FINE, thank you very much), and now, mere months later, they’re all, “Hey bloggers! We should be friends! Do you want to come over for dinner and hang out with our highest ranking (and most intriguing) employee?”

For those of us who have been toiling away, blogging for years, this event is a big, fat, hairy deal.

Sadly (INCREDIBLY SADLY, AND WITH AN EPIC AMOUNT OF WHINING), I cannot attend the Blogger Summit. You see, I am in New Hampshire, at Apple Hill, a.k.a Bat Shack Camp. Every summer I come to New Hampshire to perform and coach at the Apple Hill Center for Chamber Music. Usually, as far as this blog goes, Apple Hill is veiled in secrecy because I don’t like to announce to the interwebs that I am out of town. But this year I very cleverly got my friend Dinesh and his dog Nigel to housesit. (At some point last year I acquired so many plants that I now require a housesitter in order to feel comfortable leaving for more than a few days. I know. Redonk.) I feel quite sure that my house will remain safe and snug-as-a-bug under their watchful eye.

Don't try to steal my plants, burglers. This guy will tear your throat out.

I make a lot of jokes about the extreme nature-y situation of Apple Hill (I’ll be frank, Apple Hill is one small step away from camping, and camping is one small step away from hell), but this is truly one of my most treasured annual personal and musical experiences. The truth is that I love it here. Without fail, every single year I come away from Apple Hill inspired to be a braver, more emotionally generous person. I genuinely cherish this time.

But.

But….

BUT!

BUT THIS YEAR THE SABRES INVITED ME OVER TO HANG OUT WITH TED BLACK, AND I CANNOT STOP THROWING TANTRUMS AND STOMPING MY FEET ABOUT THE UNFAIRNESS OF IT ALL. WHY ARE ALL THE COOLEST THINGS HAPPENING AT THE SAME TIME? A TYPICAL YEAR IS FULL OF TOTALLY BORING STRETCHES WHERE NOTHING INTERESTING HAPPENS AT ALL. YOU’RE TELLING ME THAT APPLE HILL AND A SABRES SUMMIT HAVE TO OCCUR DURING THE SAME WEEK? SCREW YOU, UNIVERSE! NOTHING THIS HORRIBLE HAS EVER HAPPENED TO ANYONE IN THE HISTORY OF TIME AND SPACE. I AM THE MOST PATHETICALLY UNHAPPY GIRL IN THE WORLD.

:(

Just kidding. (Mostly)

Skipping Apple Hill was out of the question on a personal level (not to mention the contract I signed, making me legally obligated to participate), so, I had to decline the Sabres’ invitation. I know. Sad.

But.

The whole thing really got me thinking. I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about the Blogger Summit, and what I’d ask Ted Black if I could attend. I’ve really thought about this blog, and why I write it, and all the ways it’s enriched my life. And I’m not going to lie, the Summit has renewed my sense of blogging urgency. It turns out that the mere idea of, “Holy crap, the Sabres are paying attention to bloggers now,” is a powerful motivator. Thanks to this summit, I feel a new burst of energy for blogging, and I’m sure every Sabres blogger in town feels the same way. I’m really happy and excited for the future of the Sabres blogosphere.

While I’m so so (SO! SOOOOO SOSOSOSO! ) sorry I can’t be there, I absolutely know the blogosphere will be well represented by some wonderful people. I hope the event is a smashing success and fun for all involved.

[Private to those attending: The first blogger who casually refers to Ryan Miller as "Crunchy" during the summit will receive my eternal respect AND a crisp $100 bill from me as a reward.]

Have fun, Sabres bloggers! (And please, talk me up to Ted if you get the chance.)

1 Response to “The Sabres Summit: An Exercise in Blinding Frustration and Blog-Altering Enthusiasm”


  1. 1 Shawn July 27, 2011 at 12:19 am

    what an awesome chance this would be as a blogger, dont you agree?


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

