9 Things

1. I’m back (from camp), and I’m better than ever.

2. The end of Apple Hill usually coincides with start of the NHL free agency, which tends to contribute to my post-camp malaise. Leaving summer camp is sad, and watching other teams improve while the Sabres trot out Darcy for his bi-annual announcement about “building through the draft” doesn’t help matters at all. BUT THIS YEAR IS DIFFERENT! This year we have Richie Rich in our corner, and damn it, Terry Pegula gets his man. I honestly don’t have any idea what to expect, but I doubt I’ll be bored and/or horrified on July 1st this year.

3. On the other hand…. I know we’re all flush with excitement over the prospect of signing everyone and their mother on Friday, and lord knows it’s a good feeling, but I feel a responsibility to remind people that the free agent pool sucks donkey butt this year. It’s frustrating, but it’s true. (Yesterday I made a joke on Twitter wishing for the 2007 free agent pool instead of the 2011 free agent pool, and not only did no one laugh, but one person told me it was the most depressing tweet she’d ever read. Too soon?)

Brad Richards is going to command STUPID money, not because he’s worth stupid money but because he’s the best available option if you want to spend stupid money (which we kinda do).

So, the situation is a little confusing. Part of me wants the Sabres to just go nuts and get the best available guy, and another part of me is all, “Hold up. That’s the dumbest idea in the world.” Settling for the best available guy is how people (and teams) wind up in horrible, loveless marriages. We shouldn’t get married just for the sake of getting married. Is Brad Richards really the guy for us?  I dunno.

4. I appears that Steve Montador will be hitting the open market on Friday and this makes me feel hurt, angry, and confused.

5. Hey, thanks for waiving your no-trade clause, Robyn Regehr! We hope you like it here. We’ll do our best not to be too annoying (no promises there). Call me if you or any of your children need viola lessons.

6. The Flyers are fucking crazy. As in, C-R-A-Z-Y.

7.  The Honey Badger, aka Tenacious G, aka Lil’ Gerbs, aka Nathan Gerbe signed a very cap friendly, 3-year deal $4.3 million deal today. Honey Badger, call me if you ever need viola lessons.

8. The Sabres bought the Amerks and had a big happy press conference about it today.  Terry Pegula and Ted Black continue be all sassy and loveable and seemingly perfect in every way. We learned the following things:

  • Amerks season tickets are going to cost, like, 12 cents, so everyone should run out and purchase them as fast as you can.
  • We will now be referring to the Amerks as “The University of Hockey,” which is straight-up adorkable. I would like to offer my services teaching viola lessons as an elective credit to the future Sabres. I assume that the U of H understands the value of viola playing to young hockey players.
  • When (when, not if) the Sabres win the Cup, Rochester gets a parade too. Or… our parade might go all the way to Rochester. Something like that. The details of the parade will be worked out later, and this is already skating a waaaaaay too close to “planning the parade” for my tastes, so, moving on…

9. Every year at Apple Hill there is a hotly contested ping-pong tournament, the winner of which is awarded the “Apple Hill Cup”. I can’t believe I’ve never blogged about this before, because look at the Cup. We write the names of the winners on it and everything.

It's basically exactly the same as the Stanley Cup except it hasn't been befouled by the Bruins.

 

8 Responses to “9 Things”


  1. 1 Jim Barg June 29, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    Went downtown to catch the end of the presser today, and quite a few Amerks fans online were annoyed by the ‘suburb of Hockey Heaven’ comment Darcy (or was it Terry?) made.

    Then again, a lot of Amerks fans still haven’t adjusted to the fact that winning is secondary to developing players compared to the 80s and 90s, when the Amerks were Calkder Cup contenders every year.

  2. 2 Kate-O June 29, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    The fact that Rochester will get a parade, too, is the best news from the conference. (My office is conveniently located in the Downtown Rochester Area and I’ll surely be able to get an awesome viewing spot for any parade.) Also, the stupid cheap season tickets are pretty awesome.

  3. 3 Jim Barg June 29, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    Oh, I would absolutely go to both parades. I missed out on the Amerks’ parade in 1996 because I had to take a HS final… no, I’m not bitter.

    Unfortunately, I’m unemployed at the moment, so the stupid cheap seasons are going to be unbought. My friends are jumping at this, though.

  4. 4 Meg June 29, 2011 at 7:15 pm

    I think that Brad Richards is the guy for us if he wants to go to Buffalo (as in I think he would improve the team significantly) but at a certain price point he stops being the guy for us and becomes whatever the male equivalent of a trophy wife is.

  5. 5 dani June 29, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    I kinda want viola lessons now. And I clicked on the employment link at the Blue Cross Arena website and it was all, “error on page.” HA! I found this to be hilarious. “Brb partying. We don’t work anymore.”

  6. 6 Jay Hyzy June 30, 2011 at 7:58 am

    Two questions –
    1) Did YOU win the aforementioned cup?
    2) Not to sound dumb, but is a viola player called? is it violist?

    No need for two parades, just have one going all the way from Buffalo to Rochester

    Going to miss Monty, I wish him well.

    Great post

  7. 7 trevor June 30, 2011 at 11:32 am

    The price point for a guy who puts up on average 22 goals a year and double the assists is 6M max. Richards was well overpaid in D and I’m sure someone will be dumb enough to give him 8 or more. I just hope it’s not us. (After all, Bucky thinks it’s the best idea ever. Case closed.)

    So I’m with Kate – and not ‘cuz we’re, like, going out and shit – this team has done too many of the right things so far to just settle for him. Start with Leino and work from there.

  8. 8 elise July 3, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    BEFOULED!!!!!!!!!!!!!????????????? How cute is Marchand?


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

