The Sabres Blogroll Project

Since there isn’t much of interest going on in Sabreland right now, my thoughts have turned to more bloggy matters. Specifically, my blogroll.

Once upon a time, I took tender loving care of my Sabres blogroll. I tended it, and weeded it, and whispered sweet nothings into its ear so that it knew it was loved, but somewhere along the way, I drifted away from my blogroll. Earlier today I started tinkering with my Sabres blogroll and I discovered that was a big fat mess. Not only were there dead blogs, but there are important omissions.

In looking over my blogroll, I’ve realized that I no longer have what I’d consider a full grasp of the Sabres blogosphere. I don’t think I even know what’s out there these days. Back when I started Sabres blogging about four years ago, I honestly think I read every post that appeared on every Sabres blog, everyday. Since then the blogosphere has absolutely exploded. There are, like, a bazillion Sabres blogs now, and I don’t think anyone could possibly read them all. The blogosphere is absolutely churning out content at this point.

This is a potentially exciting time for the Sabres blogosphere. The Blogger Summit showed us that the Sabres organization is paying attention to us, and that they are willing to instigate conversations with the blogosphere. I’m not sure the Sabres (or any sports franchise) really know how to deal with bloggers yet, and I think in this uncertainty is a fair amount of opportunity. Right now the Sabres seem like an organization that is invigorated, curious, and creative. A luck would have it, we’ve got an army of invigorated, curious, and creative people writing about the Sabres as a hobby. I don’t have any idea what the future could bring in terms of the blogosphere’s relationship with the team, but I do know there is power in numbers.

It seems to me that the more people we having blogging, the higher the odds the Sabres will continue to want to interact with the blogosphere… which is where the blogroll comes in.

I’d like to assemble a list of every single Sabres blog out there. I want to know who is writing. Specifically, I want to know how many people are writing. I want a number.

In the past I’ve invited the blogosphere to be on my blogroll, but this is a little different. This time I am asking for your help compiling a list, as a favor to me. In the end, I want to have a definitive list that says, “This is who we are. This is the Sabres blogosphere.” I’m planning to dedicate a page of this blog to the blogroll, and I promise (cross my heart) to keep it updated.

Here’s the criteria for being on the blogroll:

1. The blogs have to primarily about the Sabres and/or Buffalo sports. I used to have a handful of general Buffalo-centric blogs in the blogroll, but I took those out. Obviously, it’s cool to write about other stuff (hell, half of this blog is about other stuff), but the Sabres should be the main thing.

2. The blog must be active. When I went through my existing blogroll I took out all the blogs that hadn’t been updated at all in the 2011 calendar year. So, the definition of “active” is pretty loose. If you’ve written in the last six months, you’re in.

That’s it.

I’ve moved the current Sabres blogroll up in the sidebar. Take a look at the list, and let me know who I’m missing. Please do not be shy. Leave links in the comment section, email me at willfulcaboose@gmail.com, or contact me on twitter.

Thank you for your help! Happy blogging!

8 Responses to “The Sabres Blogroll Project”


  1. 1 Scott Michalak July 13, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    Fun idea. I would like to see new blogs that I haven’t found yet.

    I can be found over at BuffaloSabresNation.com.

    Good luck – I hope this doesn’t turn into more work than you anticipated. :)

  2. 2 Katebits July 14, 2011 at 6:46 am

    Thanks Scott! If this ventures into being a “more work than I expected” I’ll be pretty impressed. It doesn’t take much work to add links to a list!

  3. 3 Mike July 14, 2011 at 8:24 am

    Great idea. I think you’ve got the vast majority of them already – every single one I’ve got in Google Reader that has posted at least once this year is already in your blogroll. So, mission partially accomplished, I guess.

    This reminds me that I ought to update my own blogroll. I’m so lazy about that.

  4. 4 Boogie July 14, 2011 at 8:48 am

    It’s not a Sabres blog, but I notice that you don’t have Wyshynski in your general hockey blogroll. It’s obviously up to you, but I usually really enjoy Puck Daddy (that idiot Ryan Lambert notwithstanding).

  5. 5 Buffalo Sports Man July 14, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    My Buffalo sports blog, though just starting out, is starting up at http://bflosportsman.blogspot.com

  6. 6 keith July 14, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    I cover the Rochester Americans, which is now Sabres related over at http://letsgoamerks.com

    I need to work on my own blogroll for that site.

  7. 7 Katebits July 14, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    Alright, Buffalo Sports Man and Keith, you’re both on the list! Thanks for piping up!

    Boonies, you’re right, Puck Daddy is an omission. I think the whole non-Sabres blogroll is a total disaster. Baby steps!


  1. 1 The Offseason: Ain’t it Funny how the Night Moves Trackback on July 13, 2011 at 11:00 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

