The Jaws Of Victory

I used to have a cat named Trixie. Trixie wasn’t the brightest. Once I watched her bat around an ant for a good ten minutes. (Now that I’ve written that last sentence, I’m wondering if maybe this story says more about me than it says about Trixie.) Anyway, eventually Trixie ate the ant and I was all, “Good work, Trix. You got him.”

But then, Trixie looked over at me all wide-eyed, and she stuck out her tongue, and the ant fell out of her mouth and onto the ground.  I kid you not, THE ANT STOOD UP, BRUSHED HIMSELF OFF, AND SAUNTERED AWAY. I think I heard him whistling a little “don’t mind me,” song as he nonchalantly slipped out of Trixie’s reach.

The Sabres reminded me of that ant tonight. I do not know how they walked away from that game victorious, but they did.

(Actually, I do know how they did it: MILL-ERRRRRRRR!)

4 Responses to “The Jaws Of Victory”


  1. 1 Matt Meddaugh October 18, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    Are they THAT good? Or THAT lucky? Don’t forget, they won that first game overseas 4-1 with zero shots on goal in the 3rd period. They still need to clean alot of defensive zone stuff up, but I believe this team will be incredibly good.

  2. 2 cdr October 18, 2011 at 11:00 pm

    So I’m confused. Is Trixie Carey Price?

  3. 3 Kitten October 19, 2011 at 10:07 am

    It will be interesting to see if Miller regains his Vezina form this season. He’s just doing what he always did (saving the team’s bacon. Bad, naughty Tyler Myers) but he will do it this year without being exhausted because for once he has competent back up. Going into the playoffs with a fresh goalie could make a world of difference.

    Besides the “just married” glow is adorable.

  4. 4 ToonTom October 19, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    Looked like everyone on the team except RyMi has the flu or had forgotten to set their alarm clocks and were still sleeping at the hotel.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

