10/30/11

The Concert Gods spared my from having to watch the game last night (Thank you, Concert Gods), so I didn’t see the wreckage of the Sabres’ third period with my own two eyes. BUT, let me assure you Sabres fans, your despair came through loud and clear on Twitter.

Is the despair justified? Are we all just being gigantic spazzes? Should we just chill? Sometimes when I miss a game I find myself a little confused. What’s the right way to feel about the Sabres? Like every cerebral sports fan, in times like these, I turn to statbits to clarify the situation. Emotions are messy, but numbers? Numbers don’t lie.

Let’s crunch the numbers and find out how we should feel about the Sabres right now.

According to my calculations:

3 iffy late-game penalties +¬† bad defense + STFU, Nathan Gerbe + Bills in Toronto + bad goaltending + Ryan Miller haters gloating on twitter + Wait… they didn’t even get a point? + mental fragility + The damn Leafs are still winning + SERIOUSLY¬†EFF YOU, MARCO STURM = crankiness all around.

There you have it, Sabres fans. Last night was a bad scene. I think everyone in town should just allow themselves to wallow for a day. Let’s all eat some mini-candy bars, and pray for a Bills win.

We’ll reconvene back here tomorrow to reassess the situation.

8 Responses to “10/30/11”


  1. 1 SueInVA October 30, 2011 at 11:13 am

    Thanks, Katebits. You always do a good job of talking us off the ledge. I wasn’t there myself. It’s October, people! Last year taught me to be patient!! Long season, blah, blah, blah! :D

  2. 2 TheTickSP October 30, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    You totally left out Tim Connolly scoring in your equation, but otherwise, spot on.

  3. 3 patty October 30, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    As dismal as it was, it’s worth you watching Vanek’s goal. I am glad that I was there to see that, if nothing else. But where is the rest of the offense?

  4. 4 trevor October 31, 2011 at 7:46 am

    All I’m gonna say is Enroth better get the start next game. If he doesn’t we’ll know Lindy’s already into the politics.

    Whenever Enroth starts I feel like we’re going to win – probably because we usually do – and this game is about getting Ws. Right now he’s the one going well.

    I just think it’s funny when Bucky’s already spazzing out on Buffalo fans for suggesting we might – hockey gods forbid! – have a goaltending ‘controversy’ on our hands.

    No, Bucky, we don’t care how we get wins as long as we do.

  5. 5 ToonTom October 31, 2011 at 10:20 am

    Get Gragnani Gone. Way too many mistakes. We need Weber. Put him in for a game. See of that makes a difference.

  6. 6 Matt October 31, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    Please, please PLEASE give Gragnani the boot! I could understand making bad passes, but not be able to accept good passes?! 3 minutes into the game I already wanted to throw water bottles at him.

  7. 7 trevor November 1, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    I agree.. it’s ridiculous that Weber hasn’t stepped in for someone yet.

  8. 8 Katebits November 7, 2011 at 6:42 pm

    Trevor! I’m not sure if you’ll read this, but I just made some AWESOME chili with your chili powder. Good job with that stuff. Dang.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

