Stay Strong

The last few days have been difficult to endure as a Sabres fan. First the Sabres were complete a-holes, and then the entire hockey media had a two-day THE-SABRES-SUCK-A-THON. It’s been gross and demoralizing.

The game last night didn’t go exactly how fans would’ve drawn it up (I guess we wanted the Sabres to rip the heads off of various Bruins Habs? Or something?) but it was still a fun one. I know some Sabres fans will disagree with this, but the Sabres played with guts last night. Personally, I’ll take “come from behind and beat the Habs in their own building,” over, “try to fight everyone on the Canadiens because of something that happened in a game against the Bruins,” almost any day of the week.

Like any fan, I loved that game because the Sabres came from behind to win. (Oh and BTW, I went all “Hockey Prophet” for a few minutes on twitter during the game.) The mischievous part of me really loved that game. Those of us who have been not-so-secretly rolling our eyes at the league-wide fury over the Sabres lack of response to Lucic, get to be all, “WOOOOOOOOOOO! The Sabres are 5-1 in their last six games! ‘THE CODE’ CAN SUUUUUUUUUUUUCK IT!” It might not be the most mature (or intellectually sound) reaction in the world, but after the non-stop pounding of the franchise we’ve endured for the last few days, it is a fairly satisfying response. The win provided some respite from the crankiness.

“Respite from the crankiness,” is good, because I’m simply not in the mood to flip out over the Sabres right now… probably because it’s mid-November. Last night at the beginning of the game I was feeling VERY out of sorts about hockey, and listening to the Versus crew go on and ON about the multitude of ways in which the Sabres suck sort of tipped me over the edge. It’s not that I even disagreed with them, I just didn’t want to hear it. I muted the television, and watched the game with some mellow music playing. I cannot recommend this practice highly enough. My frustration just drained out of my body, and it felt like I reclaimed hockey. It was just me and the game.

The Sabres are currently better than last season, and I expect them to be better next year than they are right now. If the entire team as it’s currently constructed is mentally and physically soft, that will take a while to change. If it’s Lindy’s fault they’re soft, he’ll have to be fired eventually (probably at some stage where they’re NOT 11-6 and 1 point out of 1st in the East). But for right now, in the grand scheme of things, I believe the Sabres are making progress.

The Sabres sure aren’t perfect, but they’re what we’ve got.

That isn’t to say I didn’t fire everyone during the first two periods of game last night. I did fire everyone. The Sabres looked like complete poo in the first two periods and that was disappointing to say the least. But, in the end everything worked out just fine.

“In the end everything will be just fine,” is sort of my new Sabres motto. It’s mid-November. If last season taught me anything it’s that things around here CAN change. In the mean time, I highly recommend simply muting the television/radio/internet. Take what you enjoy from the games and let Mike Milbury’s stupid jaw flap impotently on mute.

Stay strong, Sabres fans!

7 Responses to “Stay Strong”


  1. 1 Mike W November 15, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    Since the game wasn’t on Versus I only saw the Lucic hit on youtube, and I was outraged. At the refs, now at the league, at the players, but more specifically Tyler Myers. The FIRST guy to Lucic didn’t put him THROUGH the glass? Without having access to Buffalo media, I found it…let’s call it interesting that Myers was a healthy scratch last night after the non-reaction to Lucic. I think in a way this may have been Lindy’s way of toughening up the troops. I look forward to tomorrow night’s game on Versus merely to see if the fire that I’m seeing through period 1 of last night’s game is still here. And for those wondering, I had to DVR the game cause I live in Wisconsin, and well the Rapture takes a backseat to Packer football here.

  2. 2 mikespub November 15, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    I concur, it was fun watching the part that I saw and my biggest complaint was what tools the announcers on Versus were, made me wish to be able to locate all the old school Hockey Night In Canada guys to do the game.

  3. 3 James Weise (@JimBobv2) November 15, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    It’s mid-November and they are 1 point out of first place in the East and 3 pts behind Chicago for the best record in the league (with a game in hand over the Hawks).

    The Sabres are far from perfect.

    But, they are pretty good right now. Especially for a team where the #1 goalie is an injured mess, the big FA forward signing has already changed positions and isn’t that productive offensively, and the future stud #1 dman was just a healthy scratch.

    Thank goodness for Enroth, Pominville, and Vanek….

  4. 4 trevor November 15, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    Kate, as my 2011-2012 Sabres girlfriend (watch it, Ehrhoff), I wanted you to be the first know my Sabres blog is finally up!! (very very very rough so far)

    http://bothwell.typepad.com/sabresblog/

    Will you add me to your blogroll, pretty pretty please?

  5. 5 ToonTom November 15, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    I watched last night, not to see the Sabres fight and beat up the Habs, but to see how they would bounce back as a team. Coming from behind to win in a shootout on the road says a lot about them. Some of my pride was restored.

    They also didn’t play that poopy. They had the shot advantage after two and were only down because of two bad plays.

    This was my fault. I realized before the third period started that I was wearing an old goathead tee-shirt. Everytime I wore it on a game day last year, they lost so I quickly flung it off. When I went back to the game, Pommers had just scored.

    So, fellow Sabres fan, you’re welcome.

  6. 6 Mike November 15, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    I think the media response has been mixed. I don’t think everyone has been universally condemning the Sabres. I feel like local media has tended to do that more than certain aspects of the national media. Of course Versus has been critical, but look at who they hire. I think the Bruins have received coverage equally if not more critical


  1. 1 HNIC – Leafs vs Habs – Opening Montage – Oct 22nd 2011 (HD) Trackback on November 23, 2011 at 8:46 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

