5 Things

1. The raffle is coming along, but we’re a looooong way away from hitting my goal in terms of ticket sales. You people need to fork it over for the Steadfast Foundation. FORK IT OVER, I SAY!

FYI, I will NOT relent until every single one of you has bought at least one raffle ticket, so if your plan is to just ignore me until I stop yakking I ASSURE YOU, YOUR PLAN WON’T WORK.

Considering the awesomeness of the prizes (on the table: Two tickets for the Catwalk for Charity, AND two 8th row Sabres tickets), your odds of winning are RIDICULOUSLY high. I’m not exaggerating when I tell you that buying a raffle ticket is the RIGHT MOVE here, not only from the standpoint of ,”it’s the right thing to do,” but also from the standpoint of, “wise financial investment.”

2. I’m going to sweeten the pot by adding one more prize.

I think I’ve mentioned before that this season the BPO is playing an educational concert that opens with “Sabre Dance”. We’ll be playing the concert a few more times before the end of the season, and I would like to offer the following Sabre Dance-related raffle prize:

Prize #3: Right before we begin playing Sabre Dance, I will call you from my phone onstage so that you may listen to it live as heard from the viola section at Kleinhans.

Now, this prize has no monetary value, but it MIGHT get me fired from my job, so there’s that.

3. I had the great pleasure of attending the (poopy) Devils game with the lovely and alluring Heather B on Wednesday. Despite the Sabres’ poopiness, Heather and I had fun, and on the way home we had a really interesting conversation about the current state of Sabres fandom.

I’d just like to state for the record that I love Heather B.

4. Obligatory Sabres analysis: I remain unmoved or concerned about the Sabres current poopiness. My calendar still says “mid-November,” so, whatever.

5. This has nothing to do with anything, but… I’m hosting Thanksgiving this year, which is ridiculous because I’m not a good cook and I’m a TERRIBLE hostess. But the people need turkey, so I’m going to do my best to provide. My guests are all close friends who know me well, so it’s not like my invite list is intimidating, but still.

One thing that hosting Thanksgiving has made me realize is that I own nothing in the way of “company china.” I’m not married, nor have I ever been married, so I don’t even have a dusty gravy boat lying around. (I refuse to believe that there is ANY way to procure a gravy boat other than a bridal registry. No one in the history of time has EVER purchased their own gravy boat.) This morning I sent out an email to my guests in which I threatened to serve gravy out of a plastic juice pitcher, which is an image so funny to me I’m very tempted to actually do it.

8 Responses to “5 Things”


  1. 1 mikespub November 18, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    Gravy from a Kool-Aid pitcher, do it, DO IT!

  2. 2 elise November 18, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    I MUST win this raffle because of Prize # 3!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is amazing. Kate, you are amazing. I miss you and your non-existing dusty gravy boat! (I don’t own one either)…

    Greetings from Jordan!!!

  3. 3 trevor November 18, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    KB – Please STOP imploring people to buy tickets! I want to win, dammit!!

    But regardless, PLEASE call my cell phone before the start of Sabre Dance! That would be almost as cool as hearing that Ruff got fired.

    When I was in 6th grade my music teacher would occasionally play this song on the piano. I remember her surprising us one day after class let out.. we were already in the hallway when we heard the piano. All of us sprinted back to the room to listen to the whole thing.

    I would love to share that with my kids. Even my one year old starts bobbing his head when he hears music, which honestly makes my day. My little headbanger..

  4. 4 jamie November 18, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    you are SO right about a gravy boat! I am married and have been for nearly 10 years – but i didn’t have a bridal shower or any sort of registry and while I host several big dinners or parties every year – i am still gravy boatless. :(

  5. 5 Schnookie November 18, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    I am somewhat ashamed to admit that one of the first things I bought for myself when I got my first house was a gravy boat. My priorities are apparently all out of whack.

  6. 6 SueInVA November 19, 2011 at 8:03 am

    I have a set of china, I think there is a gravy boat in it. I’ve never used it! We use Chinette at my sisters house!!

  7. 7 Mikey B November 19, 2011 at 10:35 am

    I would love to enter the super good odds raffle, however being that I live in Orlando, FL., the fiscal positivity begins to get suspect due to plane tickets and lodging and time off work and such.

    Also I now want to buy a gravy boat so I can serve Kool-Aid out of it.

    Also also, when I hear the term “gravy boat”, I think about being in a small sailboat or rowboat, adrift and lonely on a vast sea of delicious gravy. There are gravy dolphins and gravy sharks. Gravy gravy everywhere, and not a drop to drink!

    Also also also the Devils game wasn’t all bad. When Myers was sitting in the press box as a healthy scratch I think he must have had some sort of size related epiphany, as he seemed to remember during the Devils game that he’s big. Ask Dainus Zubrus! ;)

  8. 8 Jeanne November 22, 2011 at 3:03 pm

    I must confess to having purchased my own, cheap, gravy boat with laddle. So cheap in fact, that the laddle is too big for the boat, and you have to turn the laddle sideways to get it out, which just dumps all the gravy back into the boat. Best gravy boat – 4 cup glass Pyrex liquid measuring cup. So easy to reheat the gravy in the microwave.

    Happy Thanksgiving from Columbus! (Yes, I will be at the game on 11/25 with my 9 year old daughter. Our third annual girls-day-out-movies-dinner-Sabres-vs-Blue Jackets).


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

