5 Things

1. The other day we were watching the Bills game down in the BPO breakroom (ouch, Bills), and at some point there was a flag down on the field. During the time before the explanation of the penalty, my friend Brett and I had this conversation:

Kate: What’s the flag for?
Brett: I dunno. Maybe it’s a pity flag. The refs just feel bad for the Bill. They tossed them a bone.
Kate: Wouln’t it be funny if the refs had an actual bone they could throw in situations like this? Like, once per game, if they felt the situation was really getting out of hand, they could toss the losing team a bone.
Brett: Yeah, the bone could be good for a one-time 5th down or something.
Kate: We’re… geniuses.

How funny would it be if a referee ACTUALLY TOSSED A LITTLE BONE onto the field? I think it would be REALLY funny. And, the bone would make games like Sunday’s more interesting, because we could sit there and be all, “Come ON, refs! Throw us a bone.”

2. I have instituted a zero tolerance policy for media/blogs/twitter until after Thanksgiving (at least).

A long time ago, during a conversation with a friend about various boys who had wronged us in various ways, one of us said something along the lines of, “I feel like I’ve lost my marbles,” and then the other person said, “You didn’t lose your marbles, you gave your marbles to [boy X]. You need to take your marbles back.” This idea sounds very silly, but it completely electrified us at the time. (It’s worth stating that we were probably drinking when we came up with the marble concept. But trust me, it’s sound.)

Over the years, marbles have became a measuring stick for emotional health. If things are going well, you know where your marbles are, because you’ve only given them to worthy people and situations, and your marbles are all safe and sound. If things are going poorly, that’s because you’ve been irresponsible with your marbles. You’ve been careless about who has them, or you’ve given them to undeserving people. Among my group of close friends, “I’ve lost my marbles” has come to mean, “I’ve surrendered too much of myself to this person/situation,” and, “I’m taking back my marbles,” means, “I am no longer going to give this person/situation the power to make me feel like this.”

I’m taking back my hockey-marbles, internet.

3. Please consider buying some raffle tickets for the Catwalk for Charity raffle! Right now, a $20 donation would give you a 1 in 5 chance of winning a prize worth OVER $100. (I think those odds are right, but I ain’t so good with the maths. What I’m SURE of is that considering the prizes, this contest will have spectacular odds.) AND, don’t forget, the person who wins the first prize gets to choose between the Catwalk tickets, and the Sabres tickets.

Let me remind you why you want to go to the Catwalk for Charity:

  • It’s a great cause.
  • Ladies: the Sabres are literally just wandering around waiting for you to talk to them. It’s fun to talk to Sabres in real life.
  • Gentlemen who are single: the Catwalk for Charity is FULL of young women, dressed to the nines, who will NOT be snaring a Sabre. Just think about that for a second.
  • Gentlemen who have a girlfriend or wife: I ASSURE you, you will win many points if you bring your lady to the Catwalk for Charity and then encourage them to get their picture taken with various Sabres.

Let me remind you why you want to go to a Sabres game in the 8th row on the shoot twice side:

  • Because it’s effing awesome.

4. Please welcome Trevor (frequent commenter, and maker of delicious chili mix)’s new blog swordplay to the Sabres blogroll. Check it out. It’s terrific so far. Trevor is an old school throwback to the days of Bfloblog, so you can rest assured that he’s worth a look.

Please also welcome The Puck Stops Here written by twitter friendie,  Caitlin. I don’t know too much about this blog, but it seems to be mostly about the Sabres, and she’s handed out some interesting quarter-season grades, so, it’s going on the blogroll! Check it out, yo.

5. I know you’ve all been concerned, and I don’t want you to lose anymore sleep over this issue, so I want you to know: Today I bought a gravy boat at Target for $7. I will NOT be serving Thanksgiving gravy out of a Koolaid pitcher. I know! I’m so grown up. It turns out I was wrong, and you CAN purchase your own gravy boat. Buying one at Target seemed a lot easier than finding someone to marry before Thursday and putting a gravy boat on the bridal registry, so that’s what I did.

Your basic gravy boat: It'll get the job done.

4 Responses to “5 Things”


  1. 1 trevor November 23, 2011 at 8:30 am

    OMG, it would be so awesome if I could bring my wife and girlfriend to the catwalk for charity and find a young woman who will not be snaring a sabre!

    KB, thanks for the money plug and the addition to the blogroll! I will be returning many links to this blog in kind.

  2. 2 Kitten November 23, 2011 at 9:43 am

    Doesn’t having stuff like a gravy boat make you feel like a grownup? It says “dinner at my house is not coming from LaNova” ;-)

  3. 3 Jaime November 23, 2011 at 9:44 am

    I seriuously love you r marbles analogy. I think I will borrow the idea from you. It makes perfect sense to me and I have not been drinking yet:)

  4. 4 facefirstintotheboardsSam November 23, 2011 at 10:10 am

    Congrats on your first gravy boat! ;)

    I may have to enter the raffle… though I can’t make it to the Catwalk (I’m in a play that day! BOOO) It’s a great cause though, and I can surely use some Sabres tickets. :)


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

