Keep the Faith

Okay, everyone take a deep breath and let’s try to assess this situation. Things have been bad in Sabreville (REAL BAD), but we’re safe right now (the Sabres aren’t playing at the moment, THANK GOD), so let’s try to calm down and tend to our psychological injuries.

If 0 is "We're headed to the playoff with ease, and depending on who Darcy gets at the trade deadline, I have high hopes for the postseason," and 5 is "a playoff series-deciding OT goal against", I'd say I'm at about a 3.2 on this scale of pain. I've got a definite frown in my heart, but unfortunately, I know (from experience) that it CAN get a lot worse.

I’ve spent the last few minutes trying to come up with a way to analyze this team, but despite my best efforts, all I can come up with is “shit show.” There is no area in which the Sabres don’t suck (except for the Vanek/Pominville area, I suppose). Sure, they’ve suffered a lot of injuries, but there’s still an air of nose-crinkling stinkiness that constantly wafts around this team. I’ve been TRYING to pretend like I don’t smell it, but I do smell it, Sabres. I DO.

And that, is the sum total of my Sabres analysis: They stink.

Trade everyone and fire the rest. I don’t care.

The good news is that I think we can allow ourselves to sink into comfortable resignation now.  Ted Black calls it “patience,” but I call it “emotional self defense.” We shall build a wall around our Sabres-hearts, and then these yahoos cannot reach us. I think if we carefully manage our big beer consumption, make sure to watch the games with good company, and keep our expectations very, very low, we can TOTALLY outsmart these Sabres and survive this season with our sanity (more or less) intact. We’ll just take it one game at a time.

Sooner or later (I predict this summer), Terry Pegula is going to get sick of this bullhonky, and heads will roll. We can tough it out that long. In that, I still have faith.

9 Responses to “Keep the Faith”


  1. 1 sallypants January 8, 2012 at 1:39 pm

    “We shall build a wall around our Sabres-hearts, and then these yahoos cannot reach us.” I love this.

    I was thinking along the same lines last night as I watched the game at DBGB’s. The woman next to me was excessively screaming in disappointment at *everything*. I thought she was gonna cry when the Sabres goal was waved off. Kept thinking to myself that you can’t stay that invested in the team right now. Gotta keep a healthy distance, enjoy the tiny, happy moments (yay Myers!), and have a little faith in Pegula…

    Emotional self-care is important, Sabres fans!

  2. 3 Katebits January 9, 2012 at 7:10 pm

    Sally, I completely agree. The only reasonable response to this team is to keep a healthy distance. I mean, if following a sports team means that I’m supposed to be walking around enraged/disappointed all day… ew. No deal.

    Erik, if you’re referring to the Sabres, I’d say I agree. If you’re referring to this post, well, I’d probably go with something less polite. :P

  3. 4 Erik January 9, 2012 at 9:52 pm

    Haha…after I posted that comment I had the slight feeling that you may think I was talking crap on your writing. I thought to myself, “She’ll know I meant the Sabres.” Ooops, sorry. As always, I like the post. As of recently, I still hate this team at the moment. Besides, I’m in no place to criticize someone (especially yours) else’s writing.

  4. 5 Katebits January 10, 2012 at 8:36 am

    Hee! I was pretty sure you were talking about the Sabres, Erik! But I couldn’t resist.

  5. 6 Mikey B January 11, 2012 at 1:33 am

    I’d say on average I’m at about a 2.3 or 2.5 on this scale. Tonight I was a 3.5. I work a really weird rotating schedule for my job, and tonight was the start of my 3rd shift week. The worst day in my five week rotation is without a doubt the first night of 3rd shift week. I got to start that day with no mid-day nap cuz I couldn’t sleep and with watching the Sabres get shut out by the scum sucking Leafs. I was a sad panda. (Also it’s 1:20am right now and I’m not off until 7:15 and I have an hour drive home. I need a new job.)

    I’ve said before that I think the reason we’re all so disappointed is because the Sabres started the season so well and with Pegula coming to town, the bar was set MAD high.

    Unfortunately, Mr. Pegula couldn’t wave his magic wand and keep all our Sabres from getting injuries all over the place. I know the “man we have a ton of injuries!” excuse is getting old, but sadly it’s still relevant. Vanek missed 2 periods tonight because of a stomach bug or food poisoning, for example. What kinda crap luck is that? On the other hand, I was THRILLED to find out that it was a stomach bug/food poisoning and not a concussion or something. Hmm, that came out wrong. I’m not happy you have a stomach bug, Thomas, and I hope you feel better soon. I bet someone in Toronto poisoned his poutine. Jerks.

    I’d say I agree with you overall, Katebits. The Sabres stink like poopy right now and I can’t pretend they don’t. I still have faith they’ll make the playoffs this year, cuz well…I want them to and I don’t need any other reason than that. Heart-first fandom can be fun. Just not when they lose the the filthy Leafs at the beginning of 3rd shift.

    P.S.

    Ms. Bits, I know you have Ted Black on speed dial, so next time you guys are on the phone talking about boys and pizzicato, can you ask him why the heck MSG seems to be the only jerks that DON’T show games in HD over the NHL Center Ice package? I can’t remember if I asked you this before or I just THOUGHT to ask you this before, (rotating schedule makes me forgetty), but it’d be super cool if you could abuse…I mean use…your connections so I can watch the Sabres lose in high definition. Also you’re the prettiest viola player I know, did I mention that? And you look like you’ve been working out! Sabretooth is your workout buddy, isn’t he? Healthy really does change everything! And that shirt looks awesome on you! [/end shameless buttering up]

    P.P.S

    Please don’t go that long without posting anymore. You’re my favorite source of Sabres bloggery and we all need you to be around more. Seriously it hurts when you don’t call. We were all worried sick. We thought you were dead in a ditch.

  6. 7 Mark E. January 13, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    After 40 years of being a Sabres fan I’ve finally decided to leave this team behind. I’ve been watching them closely this year. I was at the Islanders game recently. I saw a Sabres team that played completely without passion. No desire to backcheck, or finish their checks. Defencemen who shy asway from bodychecking. Forwards who don’t care at all about winning. Every player on the team says the right things (“We hate losing” etc) but there is simply no passion on the ice. Even in net the same attitude prevails. I was at the Philly game when Miller got pulled. Look at his reaction to the fans who booed his awful performance. His “whatever” reaction was a big “screw you” to the fans. Maybe he should simply have said “Hey, I was awful tonite and I apologize to the fans”. These players get paid the same even if they underperform. But, maybe they need to think about the guy who saves up for months to buy tickets for him and his kid to go to a game once or twice a year and then has to watch this crap on the ice. No one expects the team not to have a bad game once in awhile. But, this team is consistently bad. Little effort and no passion. You can all talk about how good this team is on paper but that is even more reason to be discouraged. The core players on this team do not have the grit and desire to take their game to another level- the level required to be champs. I’m done with them. 40 years of heartbreak is enough. It’s just a different coat of paint on the same old house. I’ve got a few more games left from the seasons tickets I share. I’m going to give those away to friends and next year I’m not renewing.

  7. 8 Mike in Idaho January 17, 2012 at 1:24 pm

    Hey Mikey B the Sabres are in HD on NHL Center Ice on DirecTV. Although if they play like last night, you’re better off not watching them at all.

  8. 9 Mikey B January 18, 2012 at 5:30 pm

    Sounds like I should make a call to my cable provider.

    Maybe that call should be to cancel Center Ice. Stupid 5-0 losses…


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

