In Which My Inescapable Need to Over-Analyze My “Relationship” With the Buffalo Sabres Finally Comes In Handy: A True Story of Optimistic Mental Contortions, by Katebits.

EDIT: I wrote this post before the Rangers game which ended just moments ago. The Sabres lost the game in the shootout but they won in our hearts (IT WAS A TIE).

Maybe the Sabres aren’t bad? Maybe they’re… awesome? I have no idea, but I will say this: I’m not sad about that “loss” at all. Maybe my cheerfulness in the face of the shootout loss proves that the conclusion I reach at the end of this post is true. I dunno. It’s all very confusing and fun.

_______________

The Sabres are bad. Possibly extremely bad. They might not be as bad as they seem (like it or not, injuries ARE kind of a reasonable excuse), but they’re still waaaaay worse than we ever thought they could possibly be.

I’ve spent the last few days wringing my hands worrying about whether I’m reacting to the Sabres in the “right” way. (I know. I’m the most annoying person in the world.) I like to think of myself as a cheery fan, so it worries me when I veer into genuinely gloomy Sabres territory. The big question is: Should I (CAN I?!) actually root against the Sabres?

(Now look. I know that technically the Sabres still have a mathematical chance at making the playoffs, but I’m not a, “I still believe!!!!” kind of fan. If you are that type of fan, all the power to ya. Me? I’m more of a “Accept it at face value and then make the best of it,” kind of girl. Right now the face value of the Buffalo Sabres looks to be about $1.50.)

The facts say that the Sabres have much better odds of snagging a lottery draft pick than they have of making the playoffs. History says that it’s going to take failure on an undeniable level for there to be a management/coaching change. Flaming out in spectacular fashion really might be the Sabres’ best available option. At the very least, a real flame out is decisive. A season-long flame out says in a loud, clear, impossible-to-ignore voice, “Stop dicking around, Sabres management. Changes MUST be made.”

The trouble is, watching the Sabres flame out is not very fun. Or…is it?

The Habs game last night was fascinating to me. I really enjoyed that game, and yet, at the very end, if the Habs had tied it up, I think I would’ve been fine with it. (It’s hard to say for sure how one might feel in the face of hypothetical suckiness.) I was definitely rooting for the Sabres. I was genuinely happy when the Sabres scored, and I laughed with glee watching the Habs skate around like a bunch of clowns in reaction to the Sabres inexplicable dominance. (Seriously, Habs. You guys made the Sabres look like geniuses last night and that is, well, frankly hilarious.) BUT, the voice in the back of my head saying, “It wouldn’t be so bad if the Habs won this game…” That voice never really went away.

It occurred to me last night after the game that this might actually be a win-win situation for the optimistic fan. If the Sabres win, yay! The Sabres won. Rejoice! If the Sabres lose… yay! (YEAH, I SAID IT!) The Sabres are still on their way to a tasty draft pick, and maybe some of these crummy players and/or crummy GMs and coaches might finally get booted out of here.

Conclusion: WE LITERALLY CAN’T LOSE, YOU GUYS. IT’S ALL GOOD!

Ta-da! Cheerfulness wins again!

(Please now picture me in the triumphant pose of a gymnast who has just stuck the landing in an Olympic competition. Thank you.)

11 Responses to “In Which My Inescapable Need to Over-Analyze My “Relationship” With the Buffalo Sabres Finally Comes In Handy: A True Story of Optimistic Mental Contortions, by Katebits.”


  1. 1 mikespub February 1, 2012 at 3:24 pm

    I’m picturing it…..hee

  2. 2 Mike in Idaho February 1, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    I go through this with my football team a lot. Trust me Sabres fans, finishing barely out of the playoffs is a lot worse than finishing last place overall.

  3. 3 Patty February 1, 2012 at 3:52 pm

    Last night when Leino scored Mike commented how he likes Leino and wants him to to do well. I replied that this is a great time for him to start playing well, and then immediately looked at him and said “….or is it?” Confusing time to be a fan of this team.

  4. 4 Tom Sciarrino February 1, 2012 at 4:59 pm

    You about summed up exactly how I feel about our team this year. Great job

  5. 5 Mikey B February 2, 2012 at 8:23 am

    I figure it’s definitely a great time for Leino to start playing well. Either he helps the Sabres get to the playoffs in unlikely fashion, or he increases his value making other teams more likely to want to trade for him. Win/win?

    Also that Rangers game last night was awesome, I thought the Sabres outplayed the Rangers for most of the game, especially the third period, and I’m certain that Lunqvist cheated somehow. Only possible explanation. But hey, our boys in blue and gold have 5 points out of their last 6! (I *am* one of those “I still believe!!” fans. ;) )

  6. 6 Kathee February 2, 2012 at 11:27 am

    Right now the face value of the Buffalo Sabres looks to be about $1.50

    THIS is why I keep coming back to you, Kate. Even when we want to punch the Sabres in the face, burn the arena, and demand Lindy’s head on a stick, you manage to make me laugh and realize my life WILL go on even when they suck. Thank you for making my day today!

  7. 7 sallypants February 3, 2012 at 10:41 am

    Fail for Nail!!!

    Also, I thought the Sabres (incl. Miller) looked pretty super against the Rangers. I never knew games could be that boring and stressful at the same time.

  8. 8 Becky February 3, 2012 at 10:13 pm

    This household is also conflicted: hoping the Sabres lose out, but being happy that Miller is back playing well (and that it hasn’t all gone for nothing). Didn’t Miller get dinged in the head during practice right before he started his amazing comeback? Maybe it knocked some brain parts back into place!

  9. 9 Trevor February 4, 2012 at 6:21 pm

    KB – I love tha you’re not reading hockey blogs, yet you MUST be sneaking some peeks over at swordplay. I honestly thought we were the only ones hoping for a top draft pick.

    Alas, this will probably all backfire now that I’m legitimately hoping they lose.

  10. 10 Trevor February 4, 2012 at 6:22 pm

    MikeyB – I want Leino to stay. He is good. He literally has nothing but shit centers to play with.

  11. 11 Trevor February 4, 2012 at 6:23 pm

    Plus, we all know Ted black reads the caboose. I commented that we should pick up Leino. Three days later we did. I need to save face.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

