Hiatus

Many years ago, my then-boyfriend and I were stressing out about one thing or another. I have absolutely no recollection of what the original stress was, but I do remember how we resolved the stress. We were having a conversation that sounded something like this:

Me: What’s going to HAPPEN?
Him: I don’t know! This could happen, or that could happen, or maybe something that we haven’t even thought of could happen.
Me: I CAN’T STAND NOT KNOWING. I’m SO FREAKED.
Him: Me too! WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN?
Me: There is NO WAY TO tell. This SUCKS.
Him: This is the WORST. SERIOUSLY. WHAT DO YOU THINK IS GOING TO HAPPEN?!
(pause)
Kate: Well… something is going to happen.
Him: That’s true… something is definitely going to happen.

For some reason, this made us laugh, and “Something is going to happen,” became a bit of a mantra. To this day when I’m feeling stressed out about The Big Not Knowing, I tell myself, “Well, something is going to happen,” and I usually feel better.

_________

That’s pretty much how I feel about the Sabres right now. Something is going to happen. I don’t know what that something is, and lately, in stark contrast to the last five years of my fandom, I don’t see the point in analyzing the situation. In regards to the playoffs, something will happen. When it happens, I’ll either rejoice or put on my best there’s-always-next-year face. Until then, I’m watching these games and thinking, “Huh. Look at them go. Good for you, Sabres.” That’s about the size of it. I don’t feel excessively angry or exhilarated. I feel happy when they win, and disappointed when they lose, and then after the game I go play outside in the beautiful weather.

This state of inner-Sabres-calm is actually quite pleasant, but it doesn’t make for very good blogging. With this in mind, I’m going to close up shop for a little while here. I gave some serious consideration to shutting down the blog permanently this week, but, I’m not ready. This blog, and sharing my Sabres experience with all of you, has meant a tremendous amount to me over the last few years. From the very bottom of my heart, thank you for reading this blog, thank you for your hilarious and supportive comments, and thank you for being a Sabres fan.

I didn’t like the idea of just leaving the blog to languish, and I didn’t like the idea of quitting entirely, so I’ve decided to take a blog break. (And just to clarify the rules of a blog break in order to avoid any Ross-from-Friends “WE WERE ON A BREAK!” fiascoes, you are allowed to read other blogs while we’re on this break. In fact, I encourage it. Go crazy. Leave no blog-wild-oat unsewn. Go to town on those other blogs.) When the day comes that I’m bursting at the seams to write about the Sabres again, I’ll be back.

Until that day comes, do me a favor, and read this post. That post (about “No Goal”) really showcases the gleeful stupidity that The Willful Caboose stood for during it’s heyday.

Let’s go Buff-a-lo!

17 Responses to “Hiatus”


  1. 1 hgalindo March 23, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    But… but…
    *sigh*
    Okay. I understand. Just don’t ever leave Twitter or I WILL cry.

  2. 2 Katebits March 23, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    Oh, don’t you worry, hgalindo. I could not leave twitter if I tried (and I have tried). :)

  3. 3 Dave Davis March 23, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    Enjoy the games, Katebits, and hopefully we’ll hear from you again soon.

  4. 4 Dave March 24, 2012 at 10:51 pm

    I’m sad to read this post….. I’ve really enjoyed your blog for the past few years. Thanks for the laughs!

  5. 5 MacChang March 25, 2012 at 10:39 pm

    Hello Katebits,
    Creepo introduction incoming, as I’m just some chick reading your blog and not at all interjecting with wise/witty/emotionally profound commentary like some of your blog-mates, but, erm, thought I should tell you
    a) not just Sabres fans read your blog
    b) not just Sabres fans LOVE LOVE LOVE your blog and in some sympathetic/resonating little way, have started to feel maybe just a leeeeeeeeeeetle bit more than we’re supposed to for those bastards in navy blue who are currently chasing the Ottawa Surly Roman Guys for 8th possibly 7th.

    I first became aware of the existence of the Buffalo Sabres in 2006 (I was new to Sensfandom too. But I knew they’d been super good last year. And that there were /expectations/ on them. And also that my grade 9 English teacher, who was the one other guy who cared about hockey in my SCHOOL, was a Sabres fan. GROSS.) Heart-breaking, really, how we lost in 5 games to your boys (all of them were REALLY REALLY CLOSE! Each one it was like “Well they’ve all been so tight, next one is going to be just enough to tip us over”… NOPE. “Well they’ve all been so tight, and now we’re up against a wall… surely now they’ll bust through that Godzillaman Ryan Whateverhisnameis”. NOPE!)

    Well, seeds for a lifelong hatred, right there. But I have you to thank (stumbled across you trying to rip off a picture of viola, as it happens) for my rehabilitation.

    I DO laugh every time I see how happy Jason Pominville is every time he scores a goal. Or how Drew Stafford scowls as though he can only focus on ONE THING AT A TIME when he has the puck on his stick. (That being said I totally didn’t get the Paul Gaustad love, he just never struck me as that kind of a hero- for all that us Ottawans love us our Chris Neil.)

    I really do hope you guys smite those confuzzled Washington Capitals (and then survive the Penguins in round one! Holy frig, that sounds like the most terrifying prospect in hockey right about now.) If you could do it while somehow leaving Sens-Bruins intact, that would be fantastic as well?

    I also hope you get a chance to come back to this blog at some point. Because one way or another, we’ll miss your wit, your warmth, and your plain old joie de vivre.

    CHEERS

    MacChang.

  6. 6 Katebits March 26, 2012 at 7:46 am

    Thanks guys (especially you, MacChang!), I think I’ll be back sooner rather than later. Publicly freeing myself from the burden of posting has produced an unexpected desire to post! Heh. Plus, if the Sabres are going to be sassy this spring it’ll be hard to keep my trap shut.

  7. 7 Dave March 26, 2012 at 9:21 am

    MacChang, I like your post, I’m also a Sens fan who stumbled across TWC as a result of the 2007 series and a new-found interest in the Sabres. The Sens-Sabres rivalry was awesome back then. It’s been a pretty substantial downward spiral since then for both clubs, but I’m happy see they’re both on the mend and in the hunt for the playoffs. I’m really hoping the Sabres make it. Anyway, I agree wholeheartedly that’s it’s not just Sabres fans who get a kick out of Kate’s musings. One more thing, the Sens better not eff this up in the last 6 games of the season. That would be too cruel.
    Here’s to the Sabres beating out Washington and getting sassy in April!
    BTW, Kate, I’m sure you know that Royzee is from Ottawa…. I’ve met him a few times through a mutual friend during the off-season. I guess you have too by now.. but in any case, your evaluations of him are spot-on ;-)

  8. 8 MacChang March 27, 2012 at 11:08 pm

    Everything proceeds according to plan!

    And Drew Stafford celebrates by trying to eat his teammates. =D

  9. 9 Mike in Idaho March 28, 2012 at 11:17 am

    Katebits don’t go! I first heard of your blog through the New York Times thing you were on and enjoy your writing style and started checking out fun places like IPB after hearing about them here. You were my hockey blog gateway drug.
    And maybe you haven’t noticed, but the Sabres’ play lately is obviously designed to recapture your blogging interest and make you happy to post about their greatness. The Sabres were hurt by your angry posts earlier this season and all resolved around the locker room fireplace (holding hands in a circle of course) to do better. Yes it’s all about you!

  10. 10 Patty March 28, 2012 at 3:42 pm

    Sad there was not a post with a picture of Pommers goal celebration following last nights super awesome win! Miss your witty takes on the Sabres already….

  11. 11 walter sobchak April 2, 2012 at 10:20 pm

    Guys, I’m a big Devils fan. I’m pulling for you hard. If you can get in I know the Sabres have a shot at beating the Rangers. The Caps are a disgrace and don’t deserve to make it. If there are hockey Gods they will make things right and the Sabres will get in.

    Pulling for the Sabres hard.

    Go Sabres Go

  12. 12 mikespub April 6, 2012 at 10:36 am

    Hope fate tempts you sooner than later

  13. 13 Dave in DC (formerly Dave in Rocha) April 19, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    Ok, obviously this comment is coming nearly a month after the post. Whatever. I got reeeealllly behind on my Google Reader. This is why I don’t get twitter. Who has the time to be engaged in realtime conversations all the time?

    Anyway, NOOOOOOOOO! First Kevin and Bfloblog, then Tedd and FTLT, then Heather and Top Shelf, now you?! WTF?!!? I know Derek Roy is annoying, but does EVERYONE in Buffalo have to stop talking about the Sabres entirely because of him? We have shiny new toys to discuss! Foligno! Hodgson! Others! All I know is you better be over this “hiatus” before training camp. We need your gritty, hard-hitting analysis of player photos to see what we’re in store for.

    BTW, I think you’ve referenced your flavour-of-the-week music obsessions before. Well, when I read the first paragraph about how “something will happen”, I thought of this song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kleJuNsdpZ0

    It’s good, you should check it out and make Ballboy your new favourite band.

  14. 14 Shawn May 13, 2012 at 3:35 pm

    Just came across your blog and I understand. I’m going to follow you on twitter and wait for your return. I’ve enjoyed reading some of your previous posts. In Pegula we Trust!

  15. 15 kozyshank December 26, 2012 at 6:18 pm

    Pulse Check…

  16. 16 Stephen January 23, 2013 at 4:43 pm

    Come back Kate! My brother and I (Sens fans) would send each other particularly hilarious things you wrote.

  17. 17 Julie May September 19, 2013 at 4:51 pm

    Add my blog to the list please… https://www.facebook.com/SabresChic on FB Here is my blog. Peace out… http://thesabreschic.tumblr.com/


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

