Football

The problem with sports is when your team doesn’t win.

I watched the entire Bills game this afternoon and I was surprisingly entertained, but the game was exciting in the worst possible way. The Bills were ahead until the last nanosecond when the Broncos sent a field goal team out to win the game with the clock running out. It was really not very much fun if you were rooting for the Bills. Not only did the Bills lose at home, but some poor dude broke his ankle, and some other poor dude got hauled away in an ambulance.

Conclusion: Football is sad.

Hee. I’m just kidding. Football is okay, but honestly, I don’t think I need the aggravation of the Bills. It wasn’t the disappointment that I minded, it was the deeply felt bitterness. Is it possible to be a Bills fan without that horrible strangled feeling in your throat? I’m at a vulnerable stage in my Buffalo sports fandom. I’m still an innocent. I might not be ready for this.

4 Responses to “Football”


  1. 1 Meg September 9, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    I don’t know, Katebits. I moved to Buffalo just in time for the last of the superbowl losses and since then they’ve mostly ranged from mediocre to bad, with endless and thoroughly obnoxious quarterback controversies. I find it easier to just be amused by them.

    Although I would like Losman to do well (it doesn’t sound like today was a good start) since he seems like a genuinely good guy who cares about the city.

  2. 2 KevinP September 9, 2007 at 10:09 pm

    Run away. Fast.

    I’ve been watching this team since I was a pup, and today’s loss didn’t even phase me.

    Because only the Bills can lose that way. At least three times a year.

    Multiply that out over 30 years of aware fandom, and that’s a boatload of losses.

  3. 3 Gambler September 10, 2007 at 1:25 am

    You know, every once in awhile I think I might be able to get into football, and then I think about watching a Bills game and I want to gauge my eyes out. Because they lose. Like this. Often. So since I don’t even really like the game, I think I’m better off staying away. (That being said, if the Bills ever started actually doing something or going anywhere, I would so jump on that bandwagon.)

    On a sidenote, I was SO excited when I saw people watching football today. Hockey’s coming!

  4. 4 ccomfort September 10, 2007 at 9:37 am

    “You know, every once in awhile I think I might be able to get into football, and then I think about watching a Bills game and I want to gauge my eyes out. Because they lose. Like this. Often.” quoting Gambler

    Nuff said.
    I didn’t even bother watching.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


