Belichick

So, I have already confessed that I haven’t followed football in several years. The last game (before Sunday) that I remember paying any real attention to was the 2003 Superbowl. The only reason I paid attention to that game was because I was hanging out with a Patriots fan who was losing his mind with joy. I happily cheered for the Patriots that day because my friend was so endearingly excited. Since then I haven’t given them much thought except for an occasional noting of Tom Brady’s ickiness. (His hotness has been severely dimmed by his proximity to Giselle.) The Patriots have been too successful for too long for me to like them, but I certainly haven’t lost any sleep over their NFL dominance.

When the news of VideoGate began to hit the sports blogging world, I giggled gleefully along with all non-Patriots fans. What is more delicious than suspicion cast over the entirety of a powerhouse franchise? Oh sure, I cheer for the Buffalo Bills, but at least they don’t blatantly cheat. I am now actively hoping that Brady was involved. I do feel a little badly for Patriots fans and the innocent players, but mostly this is just a delightful mess.

As I read about the growing scandal, two themes kept popping up over and over again in blogs:

1. Belichick is an asshole.
2. Belichick is an asshole because he wears a hoodie.

Everyone hates this guy! I had never heard of him before this debacle, so I certainly have nothing to contribute to the conversation, but the general dislike for Belichick seems pretty unanimous outside of New England. I had no trouble accepting that Belichick’s an asshole, as nearly every sports blog that I like is in agreement on this issue, but what I couldn’t understand is why everyone is so up in arms about the damn hoodie. Are hoodies not extremely comfortable? What could be more cozy on the football sideline than a sporty hoodie? How could so many people forsake my beloved hoodie? No, I could not judge a man for wearing a hoodie. Hoodies are wonderful and should be embraced by all.

But then I saw this picture over on SportSquee:

This hoodie has been violated.

Coach Belichick is clearly an asshole. This is an atrocity. Belichick should be banned from football and thrown in jail. Also, I now owe Roger Federer an apology. It turns out, tuxedo shorts are not the douchiest outfit in the world.

9 Responses to “Belichick”


  1. 1 Meg September 13, 2007 at 6:14 pm

    You know, it’s too bad the Dallas Stars already made all those billboards. This strikes me as prime Dallas advertising team material. I mean there’s the cheating angle and the sartorial angle. It’s almost too much.

  2. 2 Heather B. September 13, 2007 at 9:30 pm

    I love a good hoodie – in fact, I was just telling my students this morning that I think it’s about time to bust out my shiny new Sabres hoodie – but what this guy does to those sleeves is just horrendous. What’s that about? Three quarter sleeves? Is this some kind of fashion statement?

    Tom Brady = most overrated good-looking guy in sports. I do not get him at all.

  3. 3 Heather B. September 13, 2007 at 10:33 pm

    Kate, Mark just said that we’re perfect for each other because we’re both goofy. I think that’s compliment! :-)

  4. 4 Schnookie September 14, 2007 at 1:28 am

    I am SO glad to hear that apology to Rog. And as I sit here wearing a hoodie, I have to agree that Belichick’s hoodie is supremely douchey.

    That said, I have no beef with the Patriots, and CERTAINLY no beef with how they’ve won over the years (they are the Devils of football), and I find this whole brouhaha a bit hilarious because it seems to suggest that no one else in football does this, or attempts any other little cheating tricks. Of course, I have no real love for the Pats, either, and even less for Belichick. I hope this humiliation is burning at him. Perhaps as punishment the league can force him to wear a suit and tie.

  5. 5 Becky September 14, 2007 at 5:47 am

    Somehow I find it hard to believe that the supreme ego of Belichick can be humiliated….However, fans all over the country in stadiums where the Patriots will play owe it to themselves to at least try.

  6. 6 Pookie September 14, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    Dear Katebits,

    Thank you very much for your sincere apology. In thanks, I am sending you a tuxedo hoodie (with 3/4 length sleeves) and a cow.

    Enjoy!

    Love,
    Rog

  7. 7 Katebits September 14, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    Ooh, thanks, Rog! Except please keep the tuxedo hoodie for yourself. (I’ll take the cow.)

  8. 8 elise September 15, 2007 at 11:38 am

    kate, belichick was just expressing himself with the hoodie (he’s an artist!) and being smart with the snooping…whatever it takes to WIN!

  9. 9 elise September 15, 2007 at 11:40 am

    although not smart enough to not get caught…everyone has bad days…


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


