Ahhhhhh.

I couldn’t have asked for a game more suited to my needs than the one the Sabres thoughtfully provided last night.

Please remember that I am a relatively inexperienced sports viewer. I’m still finding my bearings here. The football ball game on Monday left me feeling very demoralized and extremely wary. My entire tenure as a Sabres fan has been marked by anxiety and stress. First the playoffs and the shrieks of, “It doesn’t even look like they are TRYING!”, from the fans. Then the weeks of hand wringing over the big question, “Are they going to sign the captains?!”. Then the absolute, city-wide meltdown, “OH MY GOD THE CAPTAINS ARE GONE! WE’RE ALL GOING TO DIE! OH, THE HUMANITY!” Then the endless speculation, both happy and insane about what would happen this season. Then, after months of anticipation, two losses to open the season, the first of which was pretty ugly.

Which brings us to last night.

As I settled in to watch the Sabres last night, I did so with a promise to myself that I would not allow the game to ruin an otherwise peaceful mood. I’m pretty sure I could have made good on that promise, but thanks to the plucky Sabres, I didn’t have to.

The Sabres looked great! In a 6-0 win, it’s kind of hard to tell how much of the outcome is a result of the Sabres rocking, and how much is the Thrasher sucking, but still- 6-0! The thing that I truly loved about watching the game was that although my heart was often thumping with joy, at no point did I feel even a stirring of anxiety. The game was like a salve for my wary heart. Watching that game felt like eating Shepherd’s Pie on a cold winter night in front of a fireplace. That game was comforting.

Suddenly, my anxious tunnel-vision has widened, and I can see the long 82-game season stretched out before us, and the thought of the unknown is finally fun.

12 Responses to “Ahhhhhh.”


  1. 1 Glenn October 12, 2007 at 9:27 am

    Our boys are back….
    Let us all bask in the collective glory…

  2. 2 Schnookie October 12, 2007 at 10:12 am

    Watching that game felt like a eating Shepard’s Pie on a cold winter night in front of a fireplace.

    Awww… That’s the perfect description for a game like that! I love first-half-of-the-season hockey!

  3. 3 Pookie October 12, 2007 at 12:23 pm

    Staffy thought last night’s game was like stomping shepard’s pie on a cold winter night.

  4. 4 Heather B. October 12, 2007 at 12:26 pm

    Tim’s strap looks better in that picture. I think he reads my blog too. (But seriously, how amazing is he? I’m so glad you’re back, Timmy!)

    The Thrashers definitely stink, but 6-0 is still 6-0. We didn’t give them any mistakes to capitalize on which is a nice change from last weekend’s games. I figure it has to be a confidence booster no matter who you’re playing.

  5. 5 markberm October 12, 2007 at 1:38 pm

    What a game!

    Nothing like the euphoric feeling of a blowout win as you walk back to your car in downtown Buffalo.

    It’s the closest thing I’ve experienced to peace on earth!

  6. 6 margee October 12, 2007 at 5:39 pm

    This is why he’s my Sabres husband! Behold Timmy Connolly!!!

  7. 7 Katebits October 12, 2007 at 8:50 pm

    Holy mackerel! Hi, Margee!

  8. 8 Heather B. October 12, 2007 at 9:32 pm

    Kate, pictures of Timmy are like a siren call to Margee. She can sense them anywhere on the internet. Trust me on this.

  9. 9 Margee October 12, 2007 at 10:28 pm

    Truth. My Timmy sensor is a finely honed instrument.

  10. 10 will October 13, 2007 at 12:39 am

    did you SEE all of the helmet nuzzling after the final buzzer!? i’m guessing you’re going to get a lot of that after every win…which should be often.

    heaven.

  11. 11 Katebits October 13, 2007 at 10:11 am

    Oh will, you better believe the helmet nuzzling was well noted!


  1. 1 Now All We Need Is A Flock « IPB Eats Trackback on October 30, 2007 at 9:00 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


