3 Early Christmas Presents

1. While I was toiling away, bringing tidings of comfort and joy with the gift of holiday music, the Sabres went and won. Wh0ooo-ooo! At one point, before the season started, I was greatly disturbed anticipating all of the hockey I would miss because of my job. One of the great surprises of the winter has been the discovery that, in fact, I don’t mind not being able to watch every single game. I enjoy the camaraderie of watching little bits of the game with my coworkers in the break room, and I love it when my schedule spares me the unhappiness of watching a loss unfold. I believe this win make three in a row for the Sabres. That’s right, Bee-otches! We’re streaking, baby!

2. When I got home from work last night, there were, like, a kazillion comments to wade through. As anyone who writes a blog knows, comments are the delicious reward. When I wrote that post yesterday, I did so with no small amount of nervousness. On Frozen Blog is the Bigtime as far as hockey blogs go, and I was kind of scared to tangle with them. Well, they really didn’t engage; but so many intelligent, thoughtful, and hilarious people did! The statue of limitations on being pissy about something I read online will always expire the minute I find myself rewarded with such awesome conversation. This is what I love about the interwebs. There is never a situation so irritating that it can’t be remedied with the joy of having readers and friends who are funnier, kinder, better spoken, and all around awesome.

OFB, good luck with the Caps. Have fun at your movie. I’m so incredibly over you now. You can rest easy knowing that my reign of terror has officially ended. (Just kidding. My reign of terror is relentless, Bee-otches! [Just kidding again. I’m as docile as a kitten. A really mean kitten.])

3. Thanks to snow, my concert got canceled today! Hoooooooray! Now, I get to loll around in my pajamas all day and watch the Bills. I hear the Browns are just a bunch of bee-otches. Bo Bills!

28 Responses to “3 Early Christmas Presents”


  1. 1 Heather B. December 16, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    I’m devastated that the BPO doesn’t play come rain, snow, sleet, or shine! Honestly, what kind of dedication is this?

  2. 2 Schnookie December 16, 2007 at 12:53 pm

    Those are three wonderful presents, indeed!

    As anyone who writes a blog knows, comments are the delicious reward.

    Correction: comments are the crack. One minute you think it’s a delicious reward, the next minute you’re turning tricks on street corners to get more.

  3. 3 Meg December 16, 2007 at 1:09 pm

    I’m devastated that the BPO doesn’t play come rain, snow, sleet, or shine! Honestly, what kind of dedication is this?

    Seriously . . . what a bunch of lazy bums. ;)

  4. 4 Matt December 16, 2007 at 1:12 pm

    **steps out of the shadows of the alley**

    Hey, Baby. I gots what you need, yo. My comments be the straight-to-your-head insane shit. It may not be the insightful stuff you want, but it’ll get you hiiiiiiiiigh as a mo-fo kite.

    So how much you want?

    **shifty glances**

    You ain’t a cop now, are ya?

  5. 5 CapsChick December 16, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    :^:::::::::::::: Your reign of terror…dork. ;)

    I have to clarify one thing and then I promise I’ll stop bugging you. About this. I’ll stop bugging you about this. Last night I mentioned haphazardly that hardly any of the OFBers were not even natives – that is actually not correct. Sorry, kids, no Caps bloggers from Salinas (or Salinsas, Pookie’s made-up fantasy city).

    Enjoy your day of lounging around watching football in your pjs! I would totally do the same except…well, I don’t particularly like football, for one thing, but also I fully expect the Deadskins to lose to the Giants. Woo. DC sports are so fun.

    Thanks again for letting me invade and talk about things that you didn’t refer to in the slightest in your post! Feel free to do the same anytime in the Cheap Seats, my dear :)

  6. 6 Schnookie December 16, 2007 at 1:28 pm

    Matt, I’m speechless. I’ve been sitting here trying to think of some hilariously funny way to respond to you, and I think I just have to admit when I’ve been bested. Too good, sir. Bravo. :D

  7. 7 Katebits December 16, 2007 at 1:35 pm

    Matt, I totally want what you are selling. How much?

    CC, too late! I’ve already written my manifesto about how much OFB sucks based on your insider information. I’ve listed you on the cover page as my primary source of information. Fortunately, TWC doesn’t really care too much about the accuracy of our reporting, but I’m not sure how this will effect your sterling reputation. :P Hee.

  8. 8 Katebits December 16, 2007 at 1:36 pm

    Heather and Meg, I’m actually a little surprised they canceled the concert today. We’ve totally played in worse! I think it’s because fo the football game.

  9. 9 Meg December 16, 2007 at 1:45 pm

    Heh, if my company closes for weather one of these days (that would probably require more snow than NYC usually gets) I would be so ecstatic I wouldn’t even thing to question it.

  10. 10 Heather B. December 16, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    I’m resigned to the fact that it’s going to snow allll day and stop just in time for the roads to be cleaned up for school in the morning. We hardly ever get snowed out and it’s not fair!

  11. 11 Pookie December 16, 2007 at 2:18 pm

    Matt, like Schnookie I have no response other than, “Well played, sir, well played.”

    Katebits, I am so jealous! There were rumors that there was some giant snowstorm that would close the library, saving me from serving my 4.5 hours of forced overtime, but instead all we got was stupid old rain. I hate NJ! I’m gonna leave! But I’m still going to support the Devils… is that allowed?

  12. 12 Katebits December 16, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    I hate NJ! I’m gonna leave! But I’m still going to support the Devils… is that allowed?

    No, Pookie, I’m sorry, once you leave New Jersey, you are obligated to be a fan of “America’s Hockey Team: The Washington Capitals”. That’s their big plan to boost interest in the team. Once you leave your home town, you can’t root for anyone but them. It’s the law.

  13. 13 Matt December 16, 2007 at 2:44 pm

    Once you leave your home town, you can’t root for anyone but them. It’s the law.

    Does that include road trips, away games, and vacations? If so that might explain why every time I stopped for coffee and gas on the way to the Hall of Fame, the natives were giving me dirty looks. Either that, or they were offended by the Sabres Mogilny jersey…

  14. 14 Schnookie December 16, 2007 at 2:48 pm

    “America’s Hockey Team: The Washington Capitals”

    Hold on — when did that happen? Crap. I don’t think I can be a hockey fan anymore. :P

    Does that include road trips, away games, and vacations?

    Hmm… That’s a really interesting technicality. Dammit! I hate that the laws of hockey fandom and blogging are so complicated! I mean, so much of this stuff just isn’t immediately obvious; I’m beginning to think Stephen A. Smith had a point that fans really don’t know what they’re talking about.

  15. 15 Matt December 16, 2007 at 2:55 pm

    Whoa now! Hang on one second!

    You can believe whatever you like, but I just want to make sure that you’re fully aware of the situation.

    You do know that the 11th commandment is “Thou Shalt Not Admit Stephen A. Smith Is Right About Anything”, right?

  16. 16 Schnookie December 16, 2007 at 3:10 pm

    You do know that the 11th commandment is “Thou Shalt Not Admit Stephen A. Smith Is Right About Anything”, right?

    Ack! God! See? I did it again! I’m totally tripping over every law, commandment, legislation and writ about blogging and fandom. I am just so unqualified for this. (And to think — all I was trying to do was turn tricks on street corners for comments. There’s a moral here, kids: prostitution is the path to ruin.)

  17. 17 Matt December 16, 2007 at 3:17 pm

    Pimpin’ ain’t easy.

  18. 18 Schnookie December 16, 2007 at 3:24 pm

    Pimpin’ ain’t easy.

    Dude, neither is being a crack whore! Frankly, I’m exhausted.

  19. 19 MikeP December 16, 2007 at 3:24 pm

    Matt, Torontonians just couldn’t believe that there *are* any Sabres fans. Plus, most of them don’t remember any farther back than three games ago – it’s a defense mechanism against sucking since the 70s – so they likely don’t even know who Mogilny is. (My boss is a Leafs fan, incidentally, and he’d probably agree…)

    Pookie, we’ll take you up here, it’s totally ok to root for any team you like just as long as it’s Canadian.

  20. 20 Pookie December 16, 2007 at 3:38 pm

    Pookie, we’ll take you up here, it’s totally ok to root for any team you like just as long as it’s Canadian.

    OK, I’ll root for the New Jersey Devils of Canada!

  21. 21 Schnookie December 16, 2007 at 3:39 pm

    Pookie, we’ll take you up here, it’s totally ok to root for any team you like just as long as it’s Canadian.

    I dunno, MikeP — that’s an awfully steep price to pay for the occasional snow day. :P

  22. 22 MikeP December 16, 2007 at 4:00 pm

    Pookie, well, the team colours are pretty close to our flag’s colours (minus the black), so that might actually work!

    Schnookie, no snow day for me, I don’t think – looks like the worst of it is past now, lots of time for Mr. Plow to do his thing. Too bad my landlord doesn’t believe in plowing the driveway and I drive an Echo… I don’t work weekends, thankfully, I need my slack and idle time.

  23. 23 Pookie December 16, 2007 at 4:07 pm

    That name again? It’s Mr. Plow!

    (Thanks, Mike P, for mentioning Mr. Plow. I’m having a terrible day at work, but now I’m remembering Linda Rondstadt singing with Barney and it’s brought a smile to my face!)

  24. 24 Schnookie December 16, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    Too bad my landlord doesn’t believe in plowing the driveway and I drive an Echo…

    Ooof! That sounds awful! (I drive an early-model Prius, and it needs every single snowflake cleared from its path. You’ve just given me reason to be happy that we got nothing but rain today — I get to sleep in tomorrow instead of shoveling the driveway before work! :P)

  25. 25 Katebits December 16, 2007 at 5:13 pm

    I bought a Honda Civic a few years ago, and I’ve always regretted a little bit that I didn’t buy a Prius. But my Civic is like a little MIRACLE in the snow. I’ve never gotten stuck in it.

  26. 26 Schnookie December 16, 2007 at 5:23 pm

    I think the newer model Prii are a bit better in the snow than my “classic” model. But it’s a lot less of a concern for me than it would be for you!

  27. 27 elise December 16, 2007 at 10:11 pm

    Patriots! Snow! Civics! Oh my…

  28. 28 MikeP December 19, 2007 at 8:25 am

    Pookie, you’re welcome!

    Hey, it could be worse, my last car was an 86 Mustang. I’m pretty sure I got stuck in that more than I do in my Echo, and the Ford had winter tires.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


