Open Letter to Ted Leonsis

Last night, I discovered that Ted Leonsis, owner of the Washington Capitals, and Chief Fancypants of AOL, linked to The Willful Caboose on his personal blog. After jumping up and down with glee for a few minutes, I composed this letter.

Dear Ted Leonsis,

Thanks for the link! I can’t believe I got a link from the owner of the Capitals! This is pretty cool. If I had known you were going to stop by, I would have tidied up a bit in here. (*hissing* Pommerdoodle, get off the couch *swat*) Sorry about the mess, and the riff-raff in the comment section, the emphasis on humor, and our complete and utter lack of credentials. To be frank, The Willful Caboose is a bit of a ramshackle organization, which is why I’m so surprised to see you here.

Can I get you anything? Water? A beer perhaps? I think I’ve got some juice in the fridge….

I guess you noticed all the hubbub with On Frozen Blog. It was all a little bizarre. Anyway, I’m sorry you had to see that, but I’m glad you enjoyed watching the whole big mess unfold. I still haven’t really heard from them. I know they’ve been pretty busy, what with their movie showing and making eggnog, so I guess we have to give them a little leeway this time. I really appreciate how you took the time to read my post and link to me, though! Seriously, it made my day. I honestly think that the interactive nature of blogging is its single greatest attribute. Linking to one another, commenting, responding to criticism with integrity, the sharing of ideas- this stuff is AWESOME. I totally love the internet.

As a thank you for your esteemed link, I would like to offer you this small token of my appreciation:

It’s not much, I know. I just wanted to make sure that since you have been so generous with the press passes, someone had offered you the chance to enjoy hockey from the stands- as a fan. There’s not a lot of prestige built into being a fan, but boy, it can really be a lot of fun. This pass entitles you to cheer, boo, holler, whoop, cry, swear (within reason…..look out for little kids, Ted), and best of all, get totally unreasonable about your team. It’s great!

One last thing: I thought you might be interested to know that I started a Caps blog! My first post is about how I LOVE Ovie, and why I still boo him every time he has the puck. I probably won’t update The Hapless Capless very often, because truthfully, I don’t really like the Caps that much. (Ted, the Capitals kind of suck at playing hockey. No offense.)

Sincerely,

Katebits

26 Responses to “Open Letter to Ted Leonsis”


  1. 1 M.J. December 17, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    There is so much win in this post, I’m not even sure where to start! (well I started by loling for like 2 straight minutes)

    Your comment = classic.

  2. 2 Heather B. December 17, 2007 at 3:32 pm

    Kate, I’m sure Ted totally wishes he had some funny bloggers in D.C. right now. Ted, please give Darcy a call and tell him he’s got a couple of gold mines in Buffalo, will ya?

  3. 3 CapsChick December 17, 2007 at 3:42 pm

    Okay, that was pretty damn funny.

    (Oh, and Heather…ouch! Thanks a lot, are you saying I’m not funny?? We’re so in a fight.)

  4. 4 Heather B. December 17, 2007 at 3:45 pm

    (Oh, and Heather…ouch! Thanks a lot, are you saying I’m not funny?? We’re so in a fight.)

    Oh, CC, I’m sorry! I’m not really considering you a DC blogger right now. You’re in your own category!

  5. 5 jonhoepfinger December 17, 2007 at 3:46 pm

    Or make snarky comments about Thomas Vanek, both allowed in the 300 level.

  6. 6 Matt December 17, 2007 at 4:00 pm

    Man, if I knew he was going to be stopping by, I would have asked for some tickets…

  7. 7 CapsChick December 17, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    You’re in your own category!

    And that would of course be lovely, hilarious, brilliant blogger who happens to have an affinity for the Caps…right? ;P

    Matt, I think…I think…there are probably tickets available to any game you would like.

  8. 8 Heather B. December 17, 2007 at 4:09 pm

    (Oh, and thanks for the link, Kate. How exciting to be linked under “I totally love the internet!” I think that’s a first for me.)

  9. 9 Matt December 17, 2007 at 4:10 pm

    Yeah, but it would really feel dirty to **shiver** purchase Caps tickets….

  10. 10 CapsChick December 17, 2007 at 4:11 pm

    Ted, the Capitals kind of suck at playing hockey. No offense.

    Okay, somehow I missed that line in my initial readthrough…now WE’RE in a fight, Kate!!

    The Caps aren’t that bad, really! (What’s that saying? No one picks on my little brother but me…yeah, that one.)

  11. 11 Matt December 17, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    The Caps aren’t that bad, really!

    Hate to be the one to point it out, but when they’re behind the Coyotes by 2 points, with 2 more games played, they certainly aren’t any good!

  12. 12 CapsChick December 17, 2007 at 4:17 pm

    Oh, now – they just underachieved for a bit. Or a quarter of a season, whatever. Points schmoints!

  13. 13 Matt December 17, 2007 at 4:50 pm

    CC, congrats on stumping me. I have no witty retort.

    **bows deeply**

  14. 14 Pookie December 17, 2007 at 4:53 pm

    Points schmoints!

    Definitely in a class by yourself, CC! :)

    Katebits, great post! I’m sure Ted will use that Fan Pass for good, not evil!

  15. 15 Katebits December 17, 2007 at 6:31 pm

    Hi guys! I had to go out into the world and do some stuff this afternoon, so I missed the flurry of comments. Thanks for liking the post, guys!

    I’m sure Ted will use that Fan Pass for good, not evil!

    Well, we’ll see. The good thing about the Fan Pass is that you can’t really do too much damage with it. (Unless you’re a Sabres fan in DC. Then the whole damn world could come screeching to a halt if you’re not careful.)

    CapsChick, your defiance in the face of the Capitals’ record is truly admirable!

  16. 16 ted leonsis December 17, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    I actually sit in the 400 sections–we dont have a 300 section– those are suites.

    Glad you enjoyed the back and forth — I am happy that you have joined the blogosphere.No snarky comments from me about bloggers or Buffalo. Ever. Go Caps. Ted Leonsis

  17. 17 elise December 17, 2007 at 7:08 pm

    kate, are you, like, famous?

  18. 18 Amy December 17, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    Kate, this is so awesome for you!

    Poor Pommerdoodle, however. Never getting to enjoy a good afternoon nap on the sofa.

  19. 19 Katebits December 17, 2007 at 7:50 pm

    Is that really you, Ted, um, Mr. Leonsis?

    You sit in the 400 level? Come on, really? If I were you, I think I’d build a special 500 level, suspended from the ceiling. :P

    Thanks for your comment and your link!

  20. 20 Matt December 17, 2007 at 7:56 pm

    Hey! Can I have free tickets?

    Doh!

    Missed my chance again =-(

  21. 21 Pensgirl December 17, 2007 at 8:26 pm

    Wow, Kate! Don’t forget us when you’re anointed Queen Of Hockey Blogging! (Seriously, you’re on your way….)

  22. 22 Meg December 17, 2007 at 8:55 pm

    Clearly you need to take on other bloggers more often, Kate. You have a real talent for the Blog Wars!

  23. 23 KevinP December 18, 2007 at 10:46 am

    Kate – Good for you. I think that’s pretty cool.

  24. 24 Crunchylover December 19, 2007 at 2:58 pm

    OH MY GOD THAT WAS HILARIOUS!!!! I am in the middle of work and just busted out laughing. If Ted doesn’t hire you tomorrow as his personal savior I will dip myself in shit and call me a cookie.

    God Bless Katebits.

  25. 25 Katebits December 19, 2007 at 3:40 pm

    HA! Thanks, Crunchylover!


  1. 1 An Open Letter To Consistency As It Exists In the Devils Organization « Interchangeable Parts Trackback on December 19, 2007 at 9:24 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


