On The Road With TWC

I realized this morning, that lately, TWC has been a hockey blog about…..hockey blogging. *shudder* After I got done throwing up with disgust, I decided to recommit myself to my original mission- discussing the finer points of Sabres hockey:

Look! Goose is, like, super smart!

Less smart.

Truthfully, I’m feeling a little removed from the Sabres right now. Because of my work schedule, I wasn’t able to watch any of the games last week. I watched all the DVRed wins, but let’s face it, it’s hard to pay full attention to a game in which you already know the outcome. To make matters worse in this regard (better in other regards), tomorrow I’m traveling home for Christmas, where I will be totally separated from Center Ice and the Sabres for ten full days. I have no idea how this will effect my blogging, and I’m concerned that the Sabres themselves will forget about me when I’m gone. Don’t forget me, boys, okay?

The good news is that I’m going to a Wild/Wings game with Sammy McSammerson on the 22nd. Hooray! I promise to do my best to uphold the reputation of Sabres fans while at the game. :D

23 Responses to “On The Road With TWC”


  1. 1 Matt December 18, 2007 at 2:55 pm

    It’s ok, Katebits! You’re not the only one that’s traveling…

    I’m driving *towards* Buffalo on Christmas Eve, and staying in WNY for 9 days. I have no idea what I’ll do without Center Ice, cause I’ve gotten really used to watching 2-3 games every day. I think I even have to leave my laptop in NJ which is going to be horrible because it means no TWC!

    I’m hoping that time with the family (ok, maybe just the ones with season tickets) will soothe my aching and hockey-starved heart.

  2. 2 Sara December 18, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    I’m going to be stuck in West Virginia with my only link to hockey a friend who is going to text message me the scores. This is truly sad.

    Also, Soupy kind of looks like Carrot Top in that picture. Or a demeted clown. I could go either way.

    This is my first post to your blog, though I am an avid reader. You are the awesome.

  3. 3 Matt December 18, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    That reminds me!

    Anybody out there in the TWC Army that is going to be out of town, away from Center Ice or just out of reach of the game, let me know. I’ll be more than happy to email/text everybody scores and updates.

  4. 4 Katebits December 18, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    Hi Sara! Now that you mention it, I think Soupy might actually be the love child of Carrot Top and a demented clown. Thanks for chiming in! They don’t have the internet in W. Virgina?! :P

    Matt, I cannot imagine a situation which justifies leaving your laptop at home. That’s CRAZY, but at least you’ll be in Sabreland. Maybe I should give you the keys to TWC and let you take care of things around here while I’m gone…..

  5. 5 Heather B. December 18, 2007 at 3:24 pm

    Kate, I hear Minny babies are particularly good with relish. Enjoy!

  6. 6 LizzieB December 18, 2007 at 3:29 pm

    Speaking of Matt’s real life older sister, you should definitely not give him the keys to TWC. You’ll come back to an empty petty cash drawer, beer bottles everywhere and a completely ruined carpet.

    I have the same glasses as Goose. Just saying. Is that weird? I bet he gets way more chicks when he wears them. I know I get way more guys when I do.

  7. 7 LizzieB December 18, 2007 at 3:30 pm

    Speaking *as* his real life sister.

  8. 8 Katebits December 18, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    I bet he gets way more chicks when he wears them. I know I get way more guys when I do.

    It’s actually a little scary to consider what “way more chicks” might mean to a guy like Goose. Those glasses are extremely powerful. If what you say is true about their power working for woman too, I might have to get myself a pair.

  9. 9 Matt December 18, 2007 at 4:17 pm

    Hey, that’s not entirely true! I was about to decline the keys of my own volition. Besides, I wouldn’t have left empties everywhere. I’m very mindful of that sort of thing. The ruined carpet on the other hand…

    **sheepish grin**

  10. 10 LizzieB December 18, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    I refuse to believe that Paul is cutting a wide swath through the local corps of puck bunnies. Just look at the innocent face. Besides, his dad says the only girl kissing him is the dog.
    http://www.portlandtribune.net/sports/story.php?story_id=2205

  11. 11 Sam December 18, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    Okay, first of all, what in the name of Antti Laaksonen is going on around here? I spend five days without internet while I’m moving across town and trying to convince Comcast that my new house exists and needs cable, and when I get back, everything’s gone apeshit and Kate’s feuding with the owner of the Caps and his obsequious blogger minions! The hell?

    #2) Kate, you will not be without Center Ice in Minny so long as you’re within driving distance of my house. I’m perfectly willing to watch Sabres games. Y’all have good announcers.

    c) Does anyone out there in Caboose-land need, like, 2,000 square feet of free furniture in excellent condition? Because, see, my mom… I mean, my mom’s stuff… the moving va… oh, hell. It would take too long to explain. I have literal tons of furniture, and I may have to kill someone as a result. Anyone wishing to claim a bookshelf, futon, couch or armoire will also be awarded a mug of hot cocoa and the chance to watch NHL Network for an hour or two.

  12. 12 Katebits December 18, 2007 at 5:15 pm

    Sam, I figured you were in the middle of your move because of your silence during OnFrozenBlog Smackdown ’07, which comprised entirely of us pitching a fit, and them pretending to ignore us….and then the head honcho, Ted Leonsis, unexpectedly entered the fray. It was a hoot.

    I TOTALLY FORGOT ABOUT YOUR CENTER ICE! Whoooo-OOOOOOOooooOOOooOOOOO!

    Besides, his dad says the only girl kissing him is the dog.

    LizzeB, are you suggesting that Goose and Pommerdoodle are dating?

  13. 13 Sam December 18, 2007 at 5:33 pm

    Oh, almost forgot:

    4) Goose + glasses = smokin’ hot nerd love

    (P.S. Kate’s mom has already phoned to claim some furniture. The power of the Caboose is clearly nothing to be trifled with.)

  14. 14 Matt December 18, 2007 at 5:47 pm

    Gah! This talk of being without Center Ice has brought down the wrath of Cablevision! I just got home to find a weird wire dangling from my house. Sure enough, my TV and internet access is out. I don’t know what Im going to fill the resultant void in my being with tonight. Maybe some cheesecake…

    (Also, for anybody that noticed, I’m stealing the neighbor’s wireless.)

  15. 15 Meg December 18, 2007 at 6:53 pm

    4) Goose + glasses = smokin’ hot nerd love

    This is an undeniable fact.

    (Also, for anybody that noticed, I’m stealing the neighbor’s wireless.)

    I am always filled with transgressive glee when I do this. I think that probably says something a little bit sad about me.

  16. 16 Amy December 18, 2007 at 6:57 pm

    LizzeB, are you suggesting that Goose and Pommerdoodle are dating?

    That’s the kind of investigative journalism I come here for!

    Have a fun time in Minnesota!

  17. 17 Sara December 19, 2007 at 10:39 am

    They don’t have the internet in W. Virgina?! :P

    Well they do, I’ll just be expected to do family-type things instead of listening to WGR online and cursing.

    If Goose and Pommerdoodle got married, do you think they would register at PetSmart?

  18. 18 Matt December 19, 2007 at 10:44 am

    If Goose and Pommerdoodle got married, do you think they would register at PetSmart?

    Either there or Tractor Supply Co.

  19. 19 Patty (in Dallas) December 20, 2007 at 11:47 am

    The good news is that I’m going to a Wild/Wings game with Sammy McSammerson on the 22nd. Hooray!

    How exciting! If there’s anything you and the Wild can do to beat the Wings even a little bit, I’d really appreciate it.

  20. 20 danielleia December 20, 2007 at 10:31 pm

    What is your favorite thing to do besides playing hockey?

    “Is reading boring? I don’t do too much. I read, I go home, I sleep. I go out for nice dinners I guess.” -Brian Campbell (Sabres.com)

  21. 21 Sam December 20, 2007 at 10:40 pm

    If there’s anything you and the Wild can do to beat the Wings even a little bit, I’d really appreciate it.

    Don’t hold your breath. Minnesota’s got a serious freak-out problem against Detroit. The Wings know exactly where to find the weak link in the trap, and the Wild never have any answer for their offense. Still, after tonight’s 5-goal explosion by Gabby, maybe it’ll at least be interesting…

  22. 22 Katebits December 20, 2007 at 10:50 pm

    “Is reading boring? I don’t do too much. I read, I go home, I sleep. I go out for nice dinners I guess.” -Brian Campbell (Sabres.com)

    Oh, come on! Soupy can’t read. :D

    For some reason I like to pick on Soupy, danielleia. I just can’t help myself.

  23. 23 danielleia December 21, 2007 at 3:04 pm

    No, no… I like to pick on him too. My friend loves him and I get a kick out of his sweat commercials. I must laugh EVERY TIME. I just can’t help it. Watch his eyes, they drift!!! When I read that quote, all I could do was think of that picture of him you have posted… “less smart.” haha


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


