The Sadly Hilarious Drift

My affinity for the helmet nuzzle is well documented. A hearty thank you to everyone who has sent me a great nuzzle image. I apologize for hoarding them all for myself and I promise that one of these days, I will organize the helmet nuzzle pictures into some sort of gallery. Keep ’em coming!

Recently, I have been drawn to another kind of photo. One team celebrates, while a lone member of the opposing team drifts by forlornly. Have you ever seen anything so pathetic as sad-sack, Tim Connolly here?

I can’t remember where I first saw this picture. If it was on your blog, I apologize. I am terrible about crediting photos.

I have two requests:

1. Help me name this genre of photo. My first instinct is to call it “The Sad Drift”, but that won’t work in every sitution. What if it’s the Sabres celebrating, while, say, Sean Avery drifts by sadly? Then the picture becomes a “Delightful Drift”.

2 . Send me these photos. This is a classic hockey image, but much like the helmet nuzzle, it’s hard to find when you are actively searching.

24 Responses to “The Sadly Hilarious Drift”


  1. 1 Sam December 20, 2007 at 8:17 pm

    I suggest “The Glide of Shame”…

  2. 3 Schnookie December 20, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    “The Glide of Shame” is very nice, Sam!

    I tried to come up with a name for it, but I’ve realized that my reaction to that kind of picture is always either petulantly throwing something at it or shrieking loudly, “HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!” I just don’t have words for that kind of picture.

  3. 4 Schnookie December 20, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    Pookie! Nicely done! “The Minus Meander” is brilliant!

  4. 5 Matt December 20, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    I thoroughly support The Minus Meander!

  5. 6 Matt December 20, 2007 at 9:29 pm

    Wait a sec…something just occurred to me. You don’t need the puck-phone, but do you at least have the Saber Dance as your ringtone?

  6. 7 Schnookie December 20, 2007 at 9:41 pm

    Matt, I can’t believe you’re trying to convince Katebits that she doesn’t need a puck phone. Do you want her to be laughed out of every fan get-together? It’s like you’re setting her up to fail or something! And to think, you’re a trusted teacher of the finer points of fandom. *Shakes head sadly*

  7. 8 Matt December 20, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    I’m not saying she doesn’t need the puck-phone. What I’m saying is that it doesn’t have to be scary. There are ways to become comfortable with obsession. My pathway to the puck-phone was:

    1) Saber Dance ringtone.
    2) Hurricane 2000 ringtone (the song they use now, the one w/ the strings)
    3) Custom vinyl phone decals, screen backgrounds, and Rick J. ringtones.
    4) Puck-phone.

    I figure if we can get our precious newbie used to the idea of always being ready to hear RJ, we have a better chance at getting her to carry a puck-phone, paint her face, dye her hair… you know, be a fanatics guru!

  8. 9 Matt December 20, 2007 at 9:48 pm

    You don’t need the puck-phone,

    I clearly mis-spoke here. What I meant to say was more like:

    “You don’t need the puck-phone right now,…”

  9. 10 Schnookie December 20, 2007 at 10:31 pm

    I see what you mean. Sorry I didn’t recognize you were deploying the Mr. Miyagi building-block approach to making her a puck-phone master. Nicely done.

  10. 11 Matt December 20, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    **cue 80’s training montage**

    Try to believe
    Though the going gets rough
    That you gotta hang tough to make it

    History repeats itself
    Try and you’ll succeed

    Never doubt that you’re the one
    And you can have your dreams!

    You’re the best!
    Around!
    Nothing’s gonna ever keep you down
    You’re the Best!
    Around!
    Nothing’s gonna ever keep you down
    You’re the Best!
    Around!
    Nothing’s gonna ever keep you dow-ow-ow-ow-own

    **fade to black**

  11. 12 Schnookie December 20, 2007 at 11:04 pm

    That’s our Katebits — showing us the fever, into the fire, taking us higher and higher. She’s a believer. A spirit-igniter. Taking us higher and higher.

  12. 13 Katebits December 20, 2007 at 11:33 pm

    You people are insane. :P

  13. 14 Katebits December 20, 2007 at 11:46 pm

    ….in a good way, of course.

  14. 15 Schnookie December 20, 2007 at 11:52 pm

    You might think we’re insane, but we’re also deadly serious. Now change into your track shorts and Sabres-logoed sweatband — you’ve got a training montage to star in.

  15. 16 kar December 21, 2007 at 12:31 am

    i’ve never commented before but i think your blog is hilarious. i can’t come up with any names but i think “the glide of shame” is really funny. here are a few of the pictures you’re talking about, i hope you like them:

    http://cache.viewimages.com/xc/382821.jpg?v=1&c=ViewImages&k=2&d=17A4AD9FDB9CF193B3EA2C03450C94866152F2FAF5EA5690284831B75F48EF45

  16. 17 jonhoepfinger December 21, 2007 at 11:12 am

    Not only did Washington scored, but Tim Connelly realized at the same time he didn’t turn off the lights on his car.

  17. 18 Katebits December 21, 2007 at 12:10 pm

    Ooooh. Thanks, Kar! I particularly like the first one. I feel it’s important that the drifter is visibly sad. Thanks for reading!

    Jon, doesn’t Timmy look ridiculously bummed?

  18. 19 Patty (in Dallas) December 21, 2007 at 7:13 pm

    Pookie, “Minus Meander” is genius!

    I have seen a ton of these over the years, Katebits. I’ll keep an eye out for you from now on.

  19. 20 Patty (in Dallas) December 21, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    Here’s a quasi-helmet nuzzler that’s kind of funny. Basically off-topic in two different ways. :D

  20. 21 Tessa December 22, 2007 at 10:00 am

    “Minus Meander” is a great name…although I also enjoy “Glide of Shame.” Tough call!

    But whatever you call it, here’s one…

    http://sports.yahoo.com/nhl/photo?slug=df7a5a61470f483885626d89bd3b3a9b.rangers_avalanche_hockey_dxa110&prov=ap

    And a helmet nuzzle, complete with fluorescent yellow mouth guard. (Seriously, can’t Hecht wear a clear one like everybody else? The colored things are freaky when they smile.)

    http://sports.yahoo.com/nhl/photo?slug=59e747ebb7ea48a1a20dc3b602f95bce.flyers_sabres_hockey_nydh108&prov=ap

  21. 22 Katebits December 22, 2007 at 1:27 pm

    That is such a good Minus Meander. A sad Ranger! How delicious.

    Aww, Yo-Yo is so bashful about his nuzzle.

    Thanks for the links, Tessa!

  22. 24 Valerie March 28, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    it’s the second picture


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


