Seven in a Row

I am safely sequestered in Portland, Oregon, far away from the trauma of seven straight losses. I’m sorry you had to see that game tonight, people. So sorry. I logged onto the interwebs just as Pommerdoodle tied it up, anxiously refreshed through the overtime, and then bravely braced myself for the inevitable shootout loss. I wonder if the Sabres will ever win again. I’m thinking that, yes, eventually they will win a game again, but yikes, things are grim.

I’d like to make a recommendation if all of this losing is starting to get you down: don’t watch.  I watch every Sabres game that is available to me, but because of my job, and traveling, I miss a lot of games.  Sometimes a little break from the carnage is quite refreshing.  Just saying.

If you absolutely cannot stop yourself from watching hockey, you simply must find a relaxing corresponding activity.  Like knitting a scarf.  Or heavy drinking.  Or killing hobos.

15 Responses to “Seven in a Row”


  1. 1 carisa January 9, 2008 at 8:45 am

    Oh dear lord! Thankfully, I was NOT watching the game last night, but the loss still hurts, Kate. What to do when even not watching gives me a tummyache? ‘(

  2. 2 KatheelovesDrew January 9, 2008 at 9:03 am

    Knitting doesn’t help unless you have the game on mute. Because I dropped so many stitches with the sound on last night, followed by me saying, “Oh crap, not again!”
    I think I should start hitting the bottle before the game starts so that I am fully schnockered by the end of the first period. Then losing (or winning) won’t matter so much.

  3. 3 blitzen January 9, 2008 at 9:46 am

    I think your team will break out of its slump when it hits Ottawa tomorrow night for the following reasons:

    – they played tough last night; it’s not for lack of effort
    – no team with that roster can lose forever
    – the Sens are not doing so well defensively right now (reminds me of two years ago)
    – the Sens are likely overly focused on their game against Detroit on Saturday
    – the Sens never prepare properly for these types of games
    – and the flu bug is going around the locker room.

    Hang in there – your team will get back on track (from a Sens fan).

  4. 4 Pookie January 9, 2008 at 10:30 am

    Killing hobos is totally the way to go. I usually put a sign post up with the universal sign for “Hobo’s Welcome” (I think it’s a banana, unless the packaging on my sandwich at the Pret A Manger in Trafalgar Square was lying to me) at the end of the driveway before big games. Works like a charm.

  5. 5 Schnookie January 9, 2008 at 10:45 am

    Pookie’s right — the universal sign (complete with universally incorrect punctuation, Pookie) is irresistable to hobos. And hobo’s. They flock to IPB Manor, and you don’t even really have to put down your knitting, or your drink, or whatever you’re holding in one hand, to be able to club them with your other hand. It’s a great system, and has helped this Devil’s fan get through all kinds of rough stretches.

  6. 6 alix January 9, 2008 at 10:53 am

    Can’t say that I’ve killed a hobo, but I fully support the heavy drinking. Booze has helped me through many terrible Canucks games. I really hope they win for you soon Katebits! And all Sabres fans.

  7. 7 Katebits January 9, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    carisa, I don’t know what to tell you. I’m in the same boat frankly. This losing is so SAD!

    Kathee, when i am watching a horrible game, the first thing I do when i start to feel like I can’t deal is put it on mute. It totally helps.

    blitzen, I seriously appreciate your consistent support!

    pookie and schnookie, I should have known that you would have a hobo luring system already in place.

    Alix, thanks! Go Canucks!

  8. 8 Matt January 9, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    – they played tough last night; it’s not for lack of effort
    – no team with that roster can lose forever

    Hrm…. Reference material…. NY Rangers 95-present?

  9. 9 Anne January 9, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    The problem I have this that I always convince myself they’re going to win so I want to make sure I watch it. Only when the bloodbath reaches Gettysburg level do I turn off a game mid-way through. Last night’s game was too close to turn off. Although once they hit the shoot-out, we all knew it was all over. Oh Brodeur, you saucy minx.

  10. 10 Schnookie January 9, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Hrm…. Reference material…. NY Rangers 95-present?

    ZING! And, BURN! And, OUCH.

  11. 11 Gambler January 9, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    The Sabres are certainly making this the perfect time to be in Berlin, that’s for sure. Not least because there’s heavy drinking available at any time of the day/night.

    Viele Grüße, TWC!

  12. 12 Katebits January 9, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    Hi Gambler! Have you met Yo-Yo’s family yet?

  13. 13 Heather B. January 9, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    Geez, Kate’s in Portland stalking attempting to the meet the Goose Family, Gambler’s in Germany harassing saying hello to Yo-Yo’s family. I feel left out. I’m booking the next plane to Stockholm!

  14. 14 elise January 9, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    KILLING HOBOS??????!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  15. 15 blitzen January 10, 2008 at 7:36 am

    Matt,

    Hmmm, got me there. I still think the Sabres will pull out of this nose dive. There’s only 6 points separating 6th and 14th place. Let’s see what happens tonight. (And feel sorry for Leafs fans – now that’s brutal).


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


