I Love Hockey Blogs

I went out to dinner and a movie tonight (Juno is pretty darn good, FYI), and when I got home I immediately sat down and checked the hockey score. Bummer. Another shootout loss.
As I was sitting there, trying to calculate the streak number (8? 9? It makes me dizzy to think about), I decided to check in on the reaction from the Sabres blogosphere. I am extremely happy to report that not everyone is so depressed about tonight’s game. In fact, in the IPB comment threads, people seemed down right proud of the Sabres tonight. Interesting! And wonderful!
I got to thinking about how much it must have sucked to be a displaced Sabre’s fan before the age of the interwebs and hockey blogs. I love that I have immediate access to fan generated game reactions. I’m so grateful that right after I saw the final score, I got to read some positive posts about the game. Our team may be floundering, but at least we’re not alone. I think that without the hockey blogosphere, a stretch like this might veer into “genuinely depressing” territory, but blogs have really gone a long way to boost my spirits and bolster the entertainment value of an underwhelming team.
Thanks for keeping me in the loop, guys! Because I was unable to watch the game, I’m going to take your lead, and not be too down about this one. They’re gonna win again someday. *fingers crossed*
A special thanks to HeatherB for emailing me this hilarious photo:
Goose, you’re supposed to peck his eyes out.
6 Responses to “I Love Hockey Blogs”


  1. 1 Heather B. January 11, 2008 at 5:35 am

    I got to thinking about how much it must have sucked to be a displaced Sabre’s fan before the age of the interwebs and hockey blogs.

    It’s only now that I really appreciate the two and a half years or so that Mark lived in Birmingham with absolutely no regular contact with the Sabres – no dish, no Center Ice, no Internet/radio broadcasts, limited online newspapers, and no blogs. If that’s not love, I don’t know what is.

    And Sherry pointed out the picture to us at IPB so I’ll pass some of the thanks along to her!

  2. 2 Matt January 11, 2008 at 9:33 am

    I got to thinking about how much it must have sucked to be a displaced Sabre’s fan before the age of the interwebs and hockey blogs.

    That’s actually the reason I’m a Devils fan too. When I went away to college, I lost any ability to follow the Sabres. The call of the sport is strong though and I picked up the Devils to kind of fill the void. It’s not the same, but it helps sooth my “tortured soul”.

  3. 3 ToonTom January 11, 2008 at 11:31 am

    36 years now I’ve been a Sabresholic so I’ve seen my share of ups and downs. I’m depressed when you compare this season to the glory of the last two but if you were to take it by itself, it’s not too bad as rebuilding efforts go. We’re still in the hunt for a playoff spot and with a healthy roster and a veteran leader added at trade deadline, we could go a round or two in the playoffs much the same we can go on a six-game winning streak.

    The only thing I’m upset about is how much Regier has been willing to stand pat with the roster when they’re in such desperate need of grit and experience. He brought in Pratt who filled the hole (at least experience wise) made by Teppo’s absence. Why can’t he do the same for the forward lines beginning with trading Peters, who brings nothing to the team!

    Besides it can’t be all that bad. The year we finished last, it led us to Sneaky Pete, who was a fine regular season player for us. That in turn got us La-la-la-fontaine (we’re not worthy!). There’s always a silver lining.

  4. 4 Katebits January 11, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    Hey, thanks for the comment ToonTom. It’s nice to put things in a longer perspective.

  5. 5 Amy January 11, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    That picture might be my favorite thing to have come out of last night’s game.

  6. 6 Destiny January 12, 2008 at 1:56 am

    I love that photo of Goose, that’s why he’s the man! *honks*


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


