Percents

I’m across the country in Oregon, staying in a house full of people who couldn’t care less about hockey. I’m far away from Center Ice, and I have only the internet to keep me up to date with the games. One would think that this physical separation from the Sabres would’ve created some emotional safety from tonight’s debacle, but no. No. I felt that kick in the groin from 2,500 miles away.

This one really hurt.

******

When I lived in Philadelphia, I used to go to NYC periodically and work for a friend of mine who was the personal assistant to a fairly well known author. I would show up, and for a couple hundred bucks, I would run a bunch of errands around town. One time, we were up against a deadline, and we were insanely busy, but because we were stupid 22-year-olds, we stayed out all night partying the night before the hardest day of work. Crazily tired and hungover, we had to spend a long day running all over Manhattan. Throughout the day, we checked in with each other by reporting on our “percents”.

“How are you feeling?”
“Oh, dude. I’m falling apart here. I’m at 11 percent.”

Then, we would grab some coffee, or eat some food, and sit down until our percents had returned to manageable levels.

“Okay, I think I’m feeling better. I’m at 65 percent.”
“That triple shot of espresso just shot me back up to 73 percent! Let’s get moving!”

Then we’d go charging back into the world, until the caffeine wore off and our percents again dropped to perilous lows. It went around and around like this all day, our percents rising and falling, until we were finally able to crawl home, with our gas tanks sputtering to empty as we crossed the threshold into her apartment.

******

After the game today, I felt so weary and bummed. I realized (with a small amount of merciful amusement), that currently I’m floundering around at about 23 percent. I need to find the hockey equivalent of a triple espresso shot, because this losing streak is wreaking havoc on my stamina and we still have such a long way to go. At this point, I just desperately need a nap.

It’s time for a win.

17 Responses to “Percents”


  1. 1 Dave January 13, 2008 at 8:42 am

    I’m I serious Sens fan who got linked to your site through a long chain of blogs. I don’t care about the Sabres…. at all….. really. In fact, I’d love to see Chris Drury score a penalty shot goal in the final week of the season that eliminates the Sabres from playoff contention. Sorry, it’s just how I feel…. but I’m off topic. My point was meant to be that TWC cracks me up on a daily basis. I hope you don’t quit when the losing streak hits double digits. :-)

  2. 2 blitzen January 13, 2008 at 9:54 am

    ouch! Dave? Fellow Sens fan here. That really wasn’t very nice. 2 minutes for unsportsmanlike conduct.

  3. 3 Katebits January 13, 2008 at 11:50 am

    Hi, Dave. Um….thanks? :P Thanks for reading, I guess. :P
    By the way, I think that might have been ten last night. Right, Sabres fans? Dave wants double digits, did we make it?

    Heh, blitzen. Thanks for sticking up!

  4. 4 KatheelovesDrew January 13, 2008 at 11:59 am

    At the end of the 1st, I was at about 80% but after all was said and done, I was back to 10%. I feel like the boys do about their game: PFFFFFFT!!!

    The Senators have fans? Wow. j/k

  5. 5 Courtney S.F. January 13, 2008 at 11:59 am

    May I suggest a trip to one of Portland’s many fine LYS? BTW, I’m forced to get my Kitty fix here because Oh For Fun seems to have been abandoned. The thing of it is, I’ve found that I rather enjoy TWC even though I care not one bit about hockey. Hmm…

  6. 6 Katebits January 13, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    Hi, Keeortnyah! I’m so glad you can find some OhForFunnyness here at TWC. (I’ve already hit the LYS. I’m knitting a bee-YOU-tiful scarf.)

    KLD, I went through the same thing with my percents last night. The hard, hard crash down from the suddenly elevated percents made the whole experience so much more exhausting.

  7. 7 Heather B. January 13, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    Kate, I really thought you were going to tell us what percent you think the boys are playing at after long nights at local bars. Maybe next time?

    But yeah, I felt this game. Ouch.

  8. 8 Mags January 13, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    I am jealous of you hitting the LYS.

    Sorry about the game. I really thought you guys were going to win it.

  9. 9 jill January 13, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    I grew up a Sabres fan and then went to college and spread my wings in Pittsburgh, so I have a special place in my heart for the Pens. If you want percentages I am 75% Pens fan these days.

    The media in Buffalo sucks. The players aren’t playing as a team anymore.

    but the fans are amazing.

  10. 10 Amanda January 13, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    I feel everyone’s pain, even though I didn’t see much of the game last night. I kinda feel like I did, though, since it’s been about the same for the past 9 games (I think it’s a 9-game winless streak right now, but I’m not sure sure. I try not to keep depressing stats around).

    I think the Sens fan just has lingering insecurity about his team’s ability to finish. He should. I wouldn’t worry about him… *grin*

  11. 11 Schnookie January 13, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!! Go Devils! WOOOOOOOOOOOO!!! Best game EVAH!!!!! WOOOOOO!!!!!

    What? Too soon?

    (@@@@@@@@@@@@) (I couldn’t resist.)

  12. 12 Becky January 13, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    InDaBuff has “Number Nine, Number Nine, Number Nine” as his Sabres headline, so I think that’s 9 straight.

    http://indabuff.com/?p=1373

    By the way, that a reference to Revolution #9 by the Beatles…never mind, you’re all probably too young to have any recall on the song :)

  13. 13 Katebits January 13, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    What? Too soon?

    Nine in a row, Schnookie. Too soon!

  14. 14 Dave January 13, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    It was just a compliment… I get more entertainment reading your Sabres blog than any of the Sens sites, and I’d take Buffalo over the Leafs any day.
    If double-digit losing streaks are getting you down, at least you may take some pleasure that Heatley is out for six weeks!

  15. 15 Shari January 13, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    Call me nuts but it’s that damn stadium. It’s cursed to all Buffalo players. And Becky, sad to say, I’m old enough. I remember that annoying song. And Dave, I’d like to see Chris Drury take a penalty shot. Right to the groin.

  16. 16 Katebits January 13, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    If double-digit losing streaks are getting you down, at least you may take some pleasure that Heatley is out for six weeks!

    Weeeell, I didn’t want to be the one to bring it up…….Heh. Seriously though, thanks for your nice compliment, Dave!


  1. 1 The Willful Caboose Trackback on January 12, 2009 at 2:27 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


