Distractions

Scene: Sabres lockerroom

Brian Campbell: Listen guys, I want you all to know that I’ve decided to break off negotiations with the Sabres until the end of the season. I just felt all of the uncertainty surrounding my contract was a real distraction for the team.

Tim Connolly: Distraction from what? Our nine game losing streak?

BC: Well, yeah. Now that you all know that I’ll be gone one way or another by end of the season, hopefully we can all focus a little bit better. I’m just trying to do what’s right for the team, okay?

Ryan Miller: Our team? The Buffalo Sabres?

BC: Or, you know…..whatever team I end up playing on next year. Listen, this is all a little confusing. I’m just doing what my agent says. I’m confused too. All I know is that I’m dedicated to leading the Sabres to my best year ever.

Derek Roy: Whatever, Soupy.

BC: I totally want to stay a Sabre. I do! I just want what’s fair.

(stony silence)

BC: I’m really looking forward to seeing Dru in a few days, aren’t you guys? (does spinorama out of the lockerroom)

Pommers: *whimper*

Goose: Honk!

Toni Lydman: This shit is getting old.

25 Responses to “Distractions”


  1. 1 Schnookie January 15, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    All I know is that I’m dedicated to leading the Sabres to my best year ever.

    :^:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

    And, BURN!

    And, ZING!

    And, OUCH.

    Oh, and *Clap. Clap. Clap. Clap clap clap clap clap clap clapclapclapclapclapclapclapclapclap* This is BRILLIANT!

  2. 2 Pookie January 15, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    All I know is that I’m dedicated to leading the Sabres to my best year ever.

    DAY-um! This is one of those moments where I really, really, really, really wish every single Sabres fan and every single member of the Sabres organization read TWC.

  3. 3 Sam January 15, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    Wow, Kate! I think this is your first true cold-blooded calling out of a current Sabre, isn’t it? Damn, girl, well done!

    (Pookie: do you mean that every single Sabres fan and every single member of the Sabres organization doesn’t read this blog? What are they doing with their off nights? They live in Buffalo, for crissakes!)

  4. 4 Glenn January 15, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    I can’t even bring myself to eat soup these days…..Oh, the humanity!

  5. 5 Schnookie January 15, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    What are they doing with their off nights? They live in Buffalo, for crissakes!

    Sam said it, not me! (But, uh, :^::::::::::::::::::)

    Glenn, that is such a terrible statement about the pain and suffering Soupy has wrought. He should be ashamed of himself.

  6. 6 Heather B. January 15, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    Kate, I was already laughing out loud at Soupy spinning out of the room, but then throwing in Toni’s, “This shit is getting old…” Well, that killed me.

  7. 7 Amy January 15, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    I’m impressed Soupy did a spinorama out of the room without tripping over something and crashing into the wall.

    Another well-done expose. That hidden camera is paying off, isn’t it?

  8. 8 Shari January 15, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    Yes! the spinorama was perfect! All this contract talk is making me miss my old team again. Just when I was getting over it all!
    I still miss Marty. :(

  9. 9 Pookie January 15, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    (Pookie: do you mean that every single Sabres fan and every single member of the Sabres organization doesn’t read this blog? What are they doing with their off nights? They live in Buffalo, for crissakes!)

    Sam, they’re considering re-signing Brian Campbell. They’re obviously not smart enough to realize what they’re missing.

  10. 10 Katebits January 15, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    Wow, Kate! I think this is your first true cold-blooded calling out of a current Sabre, isn’t it? Damn, girl, well done!

    I’ll cut them. I’ll cut them deep.

    ……but then throwing in Toni’s, “This shit is getting old…” Well, that killed me.

    For those not in the know, Tnoi Lydman was quoted after the last game (their ninth loss in a row), “This shit is getting old”…..which is kind of a hilarious understatement.

    I’m impressed Soupy did a spinorama out of the room without tripping over something and crashing into the wall.

    :^::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

    I so wish I could go back and add that to the scene!

  11. 11 Destiny January 16, 2008 at 12:31 am

    LOL! These little locker room scenes are the greatest. XD

  12. 12 jonhoepfinger January 16, 2008 at 8:28 am

    I marvel at your scene making Kate. Everytime they come out so well. You paint the scene perfectly.

  13. 13 Sherry January 16, 2008 at 10:39 am

    (does spinorama out of the lockerroom)

    oh my goodness, I KNEW Soupy did those things all the time.

  14. 14 Sandi January 16, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Ouch! and Burn!

    I also was actually picturing Brian doing a spinorama out of the room=)

  15. 15 danielleia January 16, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    “This shit is getting old…” I love your blog a ton. I can so see Tony saying that too.

  16. 16 jill January 16, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    kate, I love this blog.

  17. 18 Katebits January 16, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Thanks everyone! I just got home from my trip. How great to have all these awesome comments waiting!

  18. 19 Schnookie January 16, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    Welcome home, Katebits!

  19. 20 LizzieB January 16, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    This shit IS getting old. I’m glad someone has a sense of humor about it. :)

  20. 21 ccomfort January 17, 2008 at 9:05 am

    BC is not stalling negotiations due to distractions, he’s waiting for a better offer from High School Musical on ice! I heard Disney’s been in constant contact with his agent.

  21. 22 danielleia January 17, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    Toni*** Sorry for the spelling error :)

  22. 23 Sam January 17, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    Here we go again.. (beware, now that I have de-lurked, it’ll be hard to stop!) teehee

    After reading all your back entries, (yes, I read them ALL) I think I love your dialogues best.

    but then again the “Soupy benefits from sweat while the innocent victims of WNY suffer” may be my favorite. I cackled gleefully for several minutes when I saw that (and the whole post really) and it still makes me smile.

    you’re brilliant and hilarious and I look foward to more reading.

    Go Sabres! :)

    P.S. It is also extremely cool that you play the viola for a living. I played for one year in elementary school until our school ran out of money and a part of me wishes I had continued but there was not money or musical inclination for private lessons. Alas.

    I saw the BPO back in December, it was quite excellent.

    Done.. for now. And feel free to visit my own humble blog (we call is livejournal)- the link is my “website”.. I’m not as witty as you but I’d love the company! :)

  23. 24 Katebits January 18, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    Awwww, Sam! Thanks for reading everything! Please never lurk again!

  24. 25 Sam January 19, 2008 at 12:24 am

    I will do my best to contribute when I feel the need. ;) thanks for the welcome!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


