Off Like a Band-Aid

Is there any way that Soupy can become a Ranger in time for the game on Wednesday? Let’s just get this over with.

10 Responses to “Off Like a Band-Aid”


  1. 1 Dan January 15, 2008 at 2:18 am

    As I’ve said before, I’m so sorry you weren’t a fan of the Sabres back in the good ole days. This is out of bounds. What is Tommy G. trying to prove!! If it is that he is the cheapest owner, mission accomplished. WTF??? McKee, Grier, Drury, Briere, Campbell…….whats next?? I don’t even know what to say. Go Red Wings??? Thats all I know what to say

  2. 2 Pookie January 15, 2008 at 9:18 am

    If it would help, I’d donate all my Soupy Bucks to the cause, Katebits!

  3. 3 Meg January 15, 2008 at 9:57 am

    Dan, the Sabres bungled the Drury negotiation, but they made it clear that they were willing to pay the money. Grier they offered more money than he got from San Jose and he chose to go there anyway. Campbell? I don’t think he’s worth the kind of money he’s likely to get and reportedly asking for, and I’m relieved that we don’t have the sort of GM who would give him that contract, particularly when it would handcuff them in future negotiations.

    The fact that they judge his value to be lower than what his market value is doesn’t make them cheap although they have certainly made mistakes with their low offers to players like Briere and McKee. Nevertheless, I don’t see the benefit in looking at all these negotiations in the same light when that’s not true.

    And yes, Kate, I agree–at this point I’m ready for them to move on and get it over with. I don’t think it’ll happen until right around the trade deadline, but I’m anxious to see what happens.

  4. 4 Sara January 15, 2008 at 10:46 am

    I really don’t want him to leave, but I agree, I’d rather just get it over with and know whether or not I need to resign my Campbell shirt to the dustbin.

  5. 5 Anne January 15, 2008 at 11:14 am

    It’s tough for me to watch the post-lockout team players go. They were such a part of rebuilding hockey, especially in Buffalo. However, its a business, its their own lives, and if they choose to leave a city and move to another, its most likely not to flip the bird to the fans, its what’s best for them and their career, and how can we really fault someone for that? Granted, a trade is not his decision, but I’m speaking if he were to sign in the off-season with another team ala Grier or Drury.

  6. 6 ToonTom January 15, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    What scares me isn’t so much letting a player go but more the fact they don’t replace anyone. Regier has preferred to rely on up-and-comers from half an AHL team. As a result we have the second youngest team in the league and they play like it.

    I give him credit for bringing in Pratt on the d; that’s helped a bit but with both Briere and Drury gone as well as Zubrus, he did nothing to replace those guys. We needed a couple older forwards who can settle the squad down and lead in the dressing room. Nine losses in a row should make management realize something’s missing, I don’t care how close we came in many of those. They were still losses.

    Time to act – replace the players or, Mr. G, replace the admin. Sabres fans have poured their hearts and wallets out the last two years. How much more of this cheap, nickel-diming can we be expected to take before we leave forever?

  7. 7 Blitzen January 15, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    It was reported on TSN today that Brian has called off negotiations. Said that the team has other things to concentrate on besides his contract. Lots of chat up here in Ottawa about whether he will be traded rather than lose out entirely in the event that they cannot come to an agreement before the UFA deadline.

  8. 8 KatheelovesDrew January 15, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    See ya, Soupy!

  9. 9 Dan January 15, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    Meg –

    Your points are totally correct. I shouldn’t have lumped them all into one point. I’m just pissed off.

    I guess in the end, whether Mr. G is cheap, or they screwed up in the timing of negotiations with some of these guys, the end result is good players are leaving this team. It sends a great message to players on other teams that are free agents too. In the end, mgmt. is responsible for most of this and their actions should be accountable.

    I just don’t like what I see happening.

  10. 10 Matt January 16, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    You say they never replaced anybody, but I return fire with: At the time that these guys walked away, who would you have replaced them with? Who was available at that time that could play remotely the same calibre of hockey? By the time it was all over, anybody reasonable was long gone and we were stuck. I appreciate that Tom and Darcy didn’t panic and spend megabucks on somebody that wasn’t worth it.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


