Introduction to the Viola

28 Responses to “Introduction to the Viola”


  1. 1 Shari January 20, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    Now you must teach your little grasshoppers how to play, oh holy cranky one.

  2. 2 Gambler January 20, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    Katebits, I know this blog isn’t about hockey anymore, but I’m finding this vocabulary to be incredibly useful in a hockey setting. As in, “Man, what a bunch of F-holes those Sabres are being right now.” Or, “Mmmmm. Paul Gaustad is such a tail piece!” Or, “Soupy’s an ass.”

    Please, keep it up!

  3. 3 Heather B. January 20, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    Heh. F-Holes!

    There are only 4 strings? Man, how hard can this viola thing be? There are FIVE buttons on my Guitar Hero guitar.

  4. 4 Amy January 20, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    I like the new header.

    Gambler, we could also add “I’d like to wring Vanek’s neck right now” to the list.

  5. 5 CapsChick January 20, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Yay, viola love!! I haven’t touched mine in a year or two but I keep meaning to come over here and say YAY VIOLA LOVE!

    If we ever meet we can do the secret handshake and discuss life in the alto clef ;)

  6. 6 jill January 20, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    we should jam sometime. cellos and violas!

    ps, ever hear of rasputina? you might like them.

  7. 7 Matt January 20, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    ps, ever hear of rasputina?

    Yeah for freaky-scary chicks with strings!! WOOO!!

    If we ever meet we can do the secret handshake and discuss life in the alto clef ;)

    On behalf of the bass clef, I’d just like to say Pbbbbbbbt!!
    Low brass, represent!!

  8. 8 CapsChick January 20, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    On behalf of the bass clef, I’d just like to say Pbbbbbbbt!!

    *sigh* Matt, must we forever be on opposite sides? ;)

  9. 9 Matt January 20, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    *sigh* Matt, must we forever be on opposite sides? ;)

    I think that depends on your position on flutes… =)

  10. 10 CapsChick January 20, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    I’m a little scared because my brain just totally went to a very bad American Pie moment and…yeah. Ignore me.

    In my mind flutes are like the band version of violins, to which I say PBBBBBBBBBBBBBBTH.

  11. 11 Matt January 20, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    Wow, that was not where I was going with that, but ok….

    At least we agree on flutes. And what about Breakfast at Tiffany’s? I think I remember the film and as I recall, I think we both kind of liked it…

  12. 12 Matt January 20, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    Oh, and Great Big Sea. That’s something else we can totally agree on. Friends for life?

  13. 13 CapsChick January 20, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    Wow, that was not where I was going with that, but ok….
    Believe me, I didn’t think you were and I apologize :P My mind is scaring me a little today and I just kicked this blog rating up to an R because of it. (And not a very intelligent R rating at that!)

    But you say we’ve got nothing in common…hmm.

    Great Big Sea. Fantastic, amazing, awesome.

    You know, Matt, I think this could be the beginning of a beautiful friendship – and hey, if we can overlook the fact that we hate each other’s teams, world peace can’t be far behind!

  14. 14 Matt January 20, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    No common ground to start from? We’re falling apart…

    if we can overlook the fact that we hate each other’s teams, world peace can’t be far behind!

    Oh, I don’t hate the Caps… Just Ovie. As long as he stays out of politics, I think we’re good!

  15. 15 CapsChick January 20, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    As long as he stays out of politics, I think we’re good!

    Ovie is probably one of the few people in DC smart enough to stay out of politics.

    And, um, yes – I…don’t hate the Sabres either. (It’s so frustrating having a perpetually crappy team, no one hates them!)

  16. 16 Matt January 20, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    It’s so frustrating having a perpetually crappy team, no one hates them!

    Is that a shot at the Caps, the Sabres, or both? I just can’t tell. I can’t bring myself to hate the Caps, because they bring my favorite target to town… Johnson is a lot of fun to boo.

  17. 17 CapsChick January 20, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    It’s kind of a shot at both, Matt – I’m not a big fan of the Sabres sadly but I find that, like my hatred for the Pens, it’s not usually reciprocal. Not that my team doesn’t have the potential to be hated…it’s just hard to hate a team you always beat.

    Aw, you boo Johnny too? Poor guy. Is it because he broke his stick over the crossbar after giving up 6 in one period last year? That’s a patented Olie move, he’s been taught well :P

  18. 18 Matt January 20, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    Aw, you boo Johnny too? Poor guy.

    Well, on one hand I boo him because he’s just not very good. Every time he’s in Buffalo it seems that he gets destroyed. On the other hand, I like when he’s in net because he gets me cheap sneakers (discounts at Dick’s when the Sabres score 3 or more goals…)

  19. 19 CapsChick January 20, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    Poor, poor Johnny. He’s not THAT bad (and I say that as a partially biased Caps fan, I know it). But frankly the team tends to…what’s the word? Suck. That’s it. They suck in front of him, or did earlier in the season. Regardless, you have to admit he’s entertaining – you never know what the hell he’s going to do!

    You get presents for 3 or more goals??? No fair. We always have to hit the 6 goal mark to get anything – it was pizza when I was a kid, now it’s a pound of buffalo wings at Austin Grill.

  20. 20 kr2128 January 20, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    You can’t give up faith in the Sabres Katebits, you can’t! Look how sad it makes Pomerdoodle —–> http://i240.photobucket.com/albums/ff200/kyle_s_45/Pominville.jpg First, his fellow French Canadian (and very plesant in nature) linemate Danny Briere left him, and now you’re a cranky violist? I don’t think his little heart and puffy hair can take it!
    Do you want more material? Here’s an easy one, Andrew Peters Odd Jobs (ha ha ha, Peters is useless, see!) —–> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H0MwyQXI9k0
    I know what will tug at the heart strings, how about a helmet nuzzle with Toni Tony Tone! —–> http://i177.photobucket.com/albums/w240/NHL_Mitchell/MillerandLydmanoftheBuffaloSabresto.jpg
    Anything? Did it work? Will you come back and shell out some more tough love and make fun of our boys? In the words of a very wise George Michael, you gotta have faith!

  21. 21 Matt January 20, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    Regardless, you have to admit he’s entertaining – you never know what the hell he’s going to do!

    VERY TRUE!! You can never tell if he’s going to try a diving poke check on a 2-on-1 or if he’ll just stick out his tongue as the shot goes wide. Contrary to how it must seem, I don’t judge him on his record… it’s not all his fault.

  22. 22 CrotchetyOriginalSam January 20, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    Ummmm. I’m confused. First a viola with an ass popped up on the front page, and now I seem to have stumbled into a Matt/CapsChick Match.com chat session.

    Do I have the wrong URL?

    Is Kate there?

    Is there a Kate?

    … p… pommerdoodling?

    (so cold. so very cold.)

  23. 23 Katebits January 20, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    Why you gotta kill the vibe, Samantha? :P

    CC, I shoulda known you’re a violist!

    Matt, are you a trombone player? Figures.

    kr2128, I LOVE that nuzzle with Toni Tone Tony! Love it!

    I am happy to report that a day away from hockey has done wonders to restore my faith. I’m not fully recommitted, but I’m ready to let them back into the house at least.

  24. 24 CrotchetyOriginalSam January 20, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    Hey, it’s been below zero since Friday over here, and I live in a drafty 120-year-old house! I’m all about killing vibes right now if it’ll distract me from the fact that I can’t feel my feet…

  25. 25 Matt January 21, 2008 at 1:28 am

    Matt, are you a trombone player? Figures.

    It all makes so much more sense now, doesn’t it? Yup, you got me!

  26. 26 Amy January 21, 2008 at 8:21 am

    I’m not fully recommitted, but I’m ready to let them back into the house at least.

    Phew! Pommerdoodle and Goose were putting up quite the racket after being shoved out into the cold. I could hear the whimpering and angry honking in my neighborhood. I could only imagine how your neighbors must’ve felt.

  27. 27 Sara January 21, 2008 at 10:09 am

    Do you get viola hickey’s? I remember this phenomenon from when I played the violin.

    And I still can’t read the alto clef without stopping and counting. I fail.

  28. 28 jonhoepfinger January 21, 2008 at 10:47 am

    I think grumpy violist would be funnier, then with Kate with a grumpy face next to it.

    But afternoon hockey thats good right?


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


