Sabres Vs Bruins 2/5/08 Super Sick Tuesday

Well, I called in sick because I most definitely have SARS. I’m no doctor, but I do know that: barking cough + overall achy-ness + hot and cold chills + general displeasure = SARS. I’m not sure about the rules regarding blogging while too sick to go to work. It’s probably frowned upon, but the way I see it, I’m going to be sitting on the couch, surrounded by kleenex and hopped up on cough syrup no matter what, so I might as well watch the hockey game.

So, without futher ado, I present to you, whatever this thing is that I’ve been doing lately. Game diary? Live blog? Whatever. Here it is.

Pregame

Mood: Have I mentioned my SARS?
Favorite Sabre: Jochen Hecht. Awesome + kick ass = my boyfriend
Least Favorite Sabre: Tim Connolly. bitch face + constant injury = lame.
Animal representing my current physical condition: Slug

slug

Prediction: Oh, hell. I don’t know.
Summary of thoughts: All cough syrups are not created equal. If it tastes even marginally acceptable, it’s no good. Unless your cough syrup makes you gag, you might as well just skip it all together. Luden’s Wild Cherry “cough drops” are the bomb diggity. Unlike cough syrup, a cough drop should be delicious.

After 1st (1-1)

Mood: Well, this is already less annoying than the other Boston games, so I’m going with: not-annoyed. My mood is “not-annoyed”
Favorite Sabre: Paille. Young Danny Paille is swell.
Least Favorite Sabre: Andrew Peters, worst fighter in the world.
Animal representing my current physical condition: barking dog (Because of the cough, not because I’m a dog. Even with SARS, I’m a babe.)

barking dog

Prediction: This game is going to end 2-1.
Summary of thoughts: …..cough syrup……………..syrup……cough..cough……cough

After the 2nd (2-1, Sabres)

Mood: Cough-y
Favorite Sabre: Staffy. He’s been eating more brains recently. Good work, Staffy.
Least Favorite Sabre: I kind of like them all tonight. Soupy’s haircut has earned him a break from my constant scorn.
Animal representing my current physical condition:

istockphoto_194992_sick_dog

Prediction: I’m going directly to bed after this game.
Summary of thoughts: They are not sucking ass. I’m kind of proud of them lately.

After the game (4-2, Sabres It was actually 4-1 but Crunchy started thinking about what he was going to have for dinner right at the end of the game [Salad, no dressing. Boiled chicken, no sauce]. Whoopies.)

Mood: Pleased
Favorite Sabre: Toni Lydman! He’s a goal scoring MOOOOONSTER!
Summary of thoughts: I think that Sabres must have known that I am down and out, and so they played a good game, just for me. Thanks, guys! Cough.

15 Responses to “Sabres Vs Bruins 2/5/08 Super Sick Tuesday”


  1. 1 Chaz February 5, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    Well Katebits…If it makes you feel better when Rhett Warner and Tomato Soupy were under quarantine b/c of SARs exposure, they went on a DQ run. SO, I think it’s just fine (with work) if you stay home and blog. (Plus is makes the game more enjoyable for the rest of us) Get well!

  2. 2 Heather B. February 5, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    Chaz, it’s so funny you mention that! I was just coming here to tell Kate that Soupy probably gave her SARS! I know he never really had it and that was a million years ago but still!

  3. 3 Katebits February 5, 2008 at 7:58 pm

    I did NOT get my SARS from Soupy. Don’t be gross.

  4. 4 Katebits February 5, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    Oh, and thatnks for the well wishes, Chaz!

  5. 5 Amy February 5, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    Game diary? Live blog? Whatever.

    A diablog?

  6. 6 Katebits February 5, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    Hmm. Game Diablog. It’s got potential.

  7. 7 Pookie February 5, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    Diablog is perfect!

    A barking dog seems better than a slug so I’ll assume you’re feeling better!

  8. 8 S(h)ara February 5, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Whoa whoa whoa. Soupy cut his hair?

    Curses for not having cable! Curses I say!

  9. 9 Shari February 5, 2008 at 10:05 pm

    Wow, my husband and my son have SARS too! Is one of your symptoms snoring all night? Cos that’s really annoying when I have to be up at 5 am.
    Anyway, as I was trimming the hair between my Newfys webbed toes tonight realizing how much I’ve neglected her this winter, I heard a voice come from behind me saying “Don’t neglect your leg problems”.
    I thought, If Soupy leaves, who will keep us informed of such leg ailments? Maybe Max,seeing he’s groin man of the month.
    Hope you feel better soon Kate, sleep it off girl!

  10. 10 Becky February 6, 2008 at 5:55 am

    Try Buckley’s cough syrup. It’ll scare whatever ails ya right out of your system, it tastes that bad. You also have to be pretty desperate too.

  11. 11 Lisa February 6, 2008 at 6:32 am

    Salad, no dressing. Boiled chicken, no sauce

    So THAT’S how he stays so thin…..

    While I don’t condone mixing medications, I say a (or several) good hot toddy/ies will cure what ails you. And if not, you’ll be too drunk to care.

    Feel better!

  12. 12 kathee February 6, 2008 at 9:12 am

    Sorry about the illness! It didn’t affect you “diablog” at all though. Sounds quirky, but someone told me to put Vick’s on my feet for a cough. I went for the chest instead. I hate having anything on my feet, and tingly cold Vicks sounded like torture.

    Get thee to a doctor, ASAP!

  13. 13 Glenn February 6, 2008 at 10:23 am

    Kate,
    Trust me….you’re not missing much at work, hon. Oh, and by the way, Vanek was clearly affected by the little “chat” we had at the Catwalk thingy. He’s so much more confident now!

  14. 14 Jaime February 6, 2008 at 11:24 am

    I am still disgruntled with Goose not getting a letter on his sweater so I’m teaching my 20 month old to HONK angrily now but YAY we won! (Sorry for the crazy run-on sentance) Get better.

  15. 15 Shari February 6, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Catwalk? You went to the Catwalk? Details, pictures people!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


