That Game Never Happened

Sorry I haven’t blogged in the last few days. My SARS got pretty out of control for awhile, but things are looking up. I hauled my sorry butt to the doctor, got myself hooked up with some antibiotics and some pharmaceutical-grade cough syrup, and I’m on the mend. Moral of the story? If you get crazy sick, go the doctor, boys and girls. You won’t be sorry.

I missed the game tonight because I had a concert. Um, darn? That looked hugely unpleasant. BAD Sabres! BAD! Since I was largely shielded from the meltdown, I am going to just pretend it never happened.

Moving on.

Look who came in the mail from Dave and Adam (shop Dave and Adam, people)!

Crunchy!

There are several things I love about this photo. First of all, Crunchy is sprawled out, clearly trying to impress me with his moves. Your moves are duly noted, Crunchy, and I am, in fact, totally impressed.

Second of all, I love how there are other Sabres visible in this picture and that I can pretty much read their minds.

Signed Crunchy

I feel a lot safer now that I have Crunchy in the house. I am so confident in his apartment-tending skillz, that I am no longer going to lock my front door. No, from now on I’m simply going to lean him against the door each night, and sleep soundly in the knowledge that he will make all the saves.

Crunchy Photo in Door

Nothing gets by Crunchy, including rapists and murderers.

21 Responses to “That Game Never Happened”


  1. 1 Courtney S.F. February 9, 2008 at 12:00 am

    Nice boots! I remember when you bought those at Target in Baxter, Minnesohtah. That was fun.

  2. 2 Lisa February 9, 2008 at 12:17 am

    I am totally going to put my Crunchy McFarlane ….doll, no it’s not a doll. It’s a figure, yeah, my Crunchy McFarlane figure (purchased from Dave and Adam’s) at my front door. I bet he’d even keep the chill away as well.

    You are a genius. No really.

  3. 3 Heather B. February 9, 2008 at 12:30 am

    Ryan Miller busts his ass while Soupy stands around in the defensive zone, mouth agape. How fitting!

  4. 4 Tessa February 9, 2008 at 1:36 am

    I love how Campbell is standing there looking confused while Spacek is rushing to cover for whatever Soupy screwed up this time. That pretty much captured the Sabres 2nd defense pairing in one perfect snapshot.

    I really need to work on this bitterness thing when it comes to Campbell…Darcy, help me out and ship him out to LA or something.

  5. 5 Destiny February 9, 2008 at 3:15 am

    The “Hooonk” made me lol. It always does, though. But the “Jaro help Crunchy” made me lol even louder.

    I need to get a Ryan Miller poster and put it on my front door now. =)

    Ok, my roommate’s a Leafs (he’s Canadian, and at least it’s not the Sens) fan so maybe just my bedroom door.

  6. 6 Katebits February 9, 2008 at 8:48 am

    Courtney, That WAS fun! I still love those boots to a strange degree. They are goofy ugly, huge and white, and yet…..I love them.

    Aw, SHUCKS Lisa! Thanks! I think setting your Crunchy figurine (I know it’s not a doll, but wouldn’t a plush Crunchy doll be awesome?) in your doorway is a perfectly legitimate safety measure.

    Heather and Tessa, I hadn’t read much about the game when I published this post. I am SO GLAD I missed it. ARGH!

    Destiny, you live with a Leafs fan?!

  7. 7 kathee February 9, 2008 at 10:21 am

    It really was an ugly game. The only positive was Crunchy’s post game interview where he is obviously ticked and ready to snap someone in half. It was almost kind of sexy.

    Did I say that???? OMG.

  8. 8 Amy February 9, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    And it looks like Crunchy actually took the time to sign his picture so that his signature was actually legible. You can make out 90% of this name. Unlike some a previous Sabre, who’s name rhymes with Bichael Bleca, who’s signature looked like “Mil Pif.”

    The only positive was Crunchy’s post game interview where he is obviously ticked and ready to snap someone in half. It was almost kind of sexy.

    That he was. I hope he didn’t bean one of his teammates with his water bottle toss. Then again, whoever got hit probably deserved it.

  9. 9 Matt February 9, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    Wow! Your shameless promotion for merch has worked out in a super-stellar way for you! That’s so cool!!!

  10. 10 Pookie February 9, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    I hope he didn’t bean one of his teammates with his water bottle toss. Then again, whoever got hit probably deserved it.

    It probably hit Staffy and gave him a concussion.

    a previous Sabre, who’s name rhymes with Bichael Bleca, who’s signature looked like “Mil Pif.”

    Peter Forsberg’s autograph looks like “Babar Feesberg”. We’ve been calling him Babar for years as a result!

    Katebits, that picture is awesome!

  11. 11 Schnookie February 9, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    Katebits, have you considered that posting this picture for the world to see might drive Soupy’s trade value down? Do Dave and Adam have something more heroic-looking of him?

    Zach Parise’s autograph looks like it says “Zed Pie”.

  12. 12 Heather B. February 9, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    Like Amy, I appreciate it when a player’s signature actually looks ike his name. The autograph on the Henrik Tallinder puck Matt was nice enough to give me is pretty good but I often see his stuff signed “Hsquiggly Tsquiggly 10.” Derek’s is equally bad. Come on, guys I know you’re signing a million of these things but let’s try and make them look good.

  13. 13 Gambler February 9, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    My now relegated-to-the-back-of-my-closet-for-all-eternity Briere Bunch hat looks like it was signed by a “David Bwo.” But you want legibilty? Try Adam Mair. Seriously, his signature looks like it was taken right out of a grade school penmanship workbook. It’s pretty cute, actually.

  14. 14 Destiny February 10, 2008 at 12:29 am

    Yeah, but miraculously we get along! There is minimal trash talk, as every time I open my fat mouth to dis the Leafs, the Sabres lose. He’ll watch the Sabres if the Leafs aren’t playing though.

  15. 15 Matt February 10, 2008 at 12:38 am

    I gotta say I was disappointed when I got my Mike Ryan puck. It’s simply MR. No squiggly… nothing.

  16. 16 Pookie February 10, 2008 at 1:25 am

    Apparently Zed Pie is no more — I saw an autographed Parise jersey tonight that clearly read Zarl Pave. And Gionta’s signature suggests that he spends his off-ice time in dance clubs as DJ Guy.

  17. 17 Katebits February 10, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    I gotta say I was disappointed when I got my Mike Ryan puck. It’s simply MR. No squiggly… nothing.

    That’s outrageous! Mike Ryan should NOT be phoning it in with his autograph.

  18. 18 danielleia February 10, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    Speaking of rapists… have you ever heard of the comedian Mike Birbiglia? You should check him out. His one joke is about him moving into his apartment and this lady is helping him unlock the door and he’s carrying in his bed. She started the conversation with “I’m not worried b/c a rapist wouldn’t have a bed like that.” He says, “What I should have said was nothing. But what I did say was, “You’d be surprised.” See ya around the building!

    Ryan can totally help ward them off!

  19. 19 find healthy fresh vending January 5, 2012 at 2:01 am

    :O So mush Info :O THis Is he MOst AMAzing SIte DUDe. youve gotten an ideal blog right here! would you prefer to make some invite posts on my blog? An increase in Agreeable A shapely.

  20. 20 vending business for sale August 21, 2014 at 8:23 pm

    Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme
    of this site. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s
    challenging to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appeal.
    I must say that you’ve done a amazing job with
    this. Additionally, the blog loads very fast for me on Firefox.
    Superb Blog!


  1. 1 Please, Fork it Over! « The Willful Caboose Trackback on January 23, 2009 at 10:45 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


