Sabres @ Storm Troopers 2/12/08

Pregame:

Mood: Fretful
Favorite Sabre: Toni Lydman
Least Favorite Sabre: Andrew Peters. I’m just not in the mood for his antics. I vote that we enjoy a violence-free game.
My Candy Heart Says:

heart

Prediction: I don’t think things look good for this game. Ottawa is all revved up about their trade, and the Sabres are probably still a little skittish from their brush with the Grim Reaper. I can’t say I’ll blame the Sabres if they come out of the gate a little tentatively.

After the 1st (0-0)

Mood: Pleased
Favorite Sabre: This is weird….Mike Ryan. Is it just me, or is did he take an extra Flintstonesvitamin with his Wheaties today? He seems zippy. I would also like to give a shout-out to the doctors who gave Zednik such good care on Monday night. Not only are they smartiepants healers, but they are hotties as well. Nice work, Dr. Noor and Dr. Bisson.
Least Favorite Sabre: Um, I dunno. I’m trying to lay off of Soupy because I’m scared they are going to sign him this week. I’m sticking with Peters. Is he even playing? What the hell happened to Nathan Paetschteahetchsh?
My Candy Heart Says:

heart1

Prediction: No one is going to suffer a life-threatening, horrifyingly gory injury today. It just feels like a normal hockey game. Phew.

After the 2nd (1-0, Sabres)

Mood: Nervous but pleased. This feels like a waiting-for-the-other-shoe-to-drop situation.
Favorite Sabre: Are you ready for this? Thomas Vanek. That goal went straight to my heart. Nice one, Thomas.
Favorite Sabre Honorable Mention: Mike Robitaille. That old-timey clip they showed at intermission of Robi chilling at home with his foxy wife was pretty spectacular.
Least Favorite Sabre: Still Petey. Poor guy.
My Candy Heart Says:

heart2

Prediction: This game will not end 1-0.

At the End (5-1, Sabres)

Mood: Pommerdoodling! (Also, surprised that Ottawa sucked so hard.)
Favorite Sabre: I am so happy to announce that Thomas Vanek is my Favorite Sabre tonight.
Least Favorite Sabre: I don’t even have it in me to hate Soupy or Petey right now.
My Candy Heart Says:

heart3

Prediction: Plan the parade. Hee.

13 Responses to “Sabres @ Storm Troopers 2/12/08”


  1. 1 Meg February 12, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    No Peters. Clearly they listen to you, Kate. :)

  2. 2 Katebits February 12, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    Hee. Can you imagine Lindy checking in on TWC between periods?

  3. 3 Libby February 12, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    I thought that was a nice piece during the intermission about the docs…way to go Buffalo General!

    Go Sabres!

    Oh P.S. The intervention was brillant!

  4. 4 Anne February 12, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    Hahaha I’m watching Vanek’s interview and he looks like he’s 9 with his haircut. Awww. And speaking of Paetsch, I know! I miss him! I thought he was dressed for Sunday’s game, but it turns out Kaleta was just in a different spot every time I saw him and I thought his jersey said “38” once in a while…I think I need new glasses.

  5. 5 Shari February 12, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    Penalty against Buffalo for making a save….
    Penalty against Brian Campbell for picking his nose…
    Penalty against Vanek for scoring twice…
    I truly hate Ottawa. Oh look, a little makeup call?
    That’ll teach Ottawa for having to many men on the ice.
    Oh yeah!!! Another one!!!

  6. 6 Shari February 12, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    THROWING MY HAT FOR THOMAS!!!
    WOOOOOO HOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

  7. 7 Lisa February 12, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    I think Thomas might have been in the hallway listening to your intervention with Brian Soupy. Perhaps he spread the word that you are done playing nice with them so they had their own little team intervention. Lots of Honking, very little finger pointing, maybe even some “I” statements, some Pommedoodling if we’re lucky.

    All in all, good work!

  8. 8 S.A.M. February 12, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    I’m happy that Vanek is finally getting it together.

    And all the guys are going to the net and THAT will win hockey games!

    I HATE HATE HATE Ottawa and Emery so it was brilliant to see them get owned like that.

    Yay Sabres! They played so well. Hockey is fun when they play well and WIN! Wheeeeee!

  9. 9 Dan February 13, 2008 at 1:18 am

    Come on……have some faith

  10. 10 kathee February 13, 2008 at 7:44 am

    I love hattricks! <3 I agree that Thomas was listening at the door to the “Brian” intervention and decided he did NOT want to have to go through that himself.
    So Kate, who are you going to call out next? We need to keep the good luck rolling!

  11. 11 Anne February 13, 2008 at 9:35 am

    I HATE HATE HATE Ottawa and Emery so it was brilliant to see them get owned like that.

    Totally! I love hearing about all the trouble Emery’s getting in and how even his teammates don’t seem to like him. Rayzor talks about how he was lazy even back when he played for the Senators.

    I love it everytime any Sabre scores on Emery, but especially when its Pommerdoodle. I just replay “Now do you believe?! Now do you believe?! These guys are good, scary good!” in my head every time, no matter how anti-climactic the goal may be. Such as last night’s totally unnecessary but wonderfully lovely 5th goal.

  12. 12 Jaime February 13, 2008 at 9:42 am

    I’m only going to whisper this, Thomas Vanek may be out of his slump!! So happy for the hat trick. Hopefully someone will see him out somewhere today and throw their hat at him, make it official!

    On another note , I just love this game day format. You could also have a song to help us so that we could hum a tune and REALLY get what you are feeling!


  1. 1 We Choo-choo-choose The Devils « Interchangeable Parts Trackback on February 14, 2008 at 9:27 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


