7 Things

I had some folks over for lasagna and garlic bread tonight. I watched the first period and then I put the television on mute and for the most part, I concentrated on my friends, but I did keep one little eye on the game.

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

1. Until recently, all goalies just looked like generic blobs in the net to me, but lately, I’ve been noticing the differences in their individual styles. A few days ago I realized that I’m watching goalies very carefully now, and I’ve become somewhat fixated on Miller in the net. I love watching Crunchy spring back to his feet after he gets knocked down. He’s like a frog. A super awesome frog. I’m so happy that Ryan Miller is our goalie.

2. GOOSE! HONK! HONK! HONK! Until tonight, I’d never actually heard RJ’s call “If you’re out and about, give a honk for the Goose!” HONK! HONK! HONK! (Also, nice work Yippee Paille!)

3. Suddenly, I’m in love with Mike Robitaille. He’s so salty and hilariously cranky.

4. I find myself in the mood to hate the Rangers again. My desire to hate the Rangers seems to be in direct proportion to how well the Sabres are playing. When the Sabres are struggling, I don’t have the heart or the will to hate the Rangers, but when the Sabres are ROCKING, hating the Rangers feels so, so good.

5. I learned today on BfloBlog that Briere is a MINUS TWENTY (-20)!

6. I think it’s interesting that during the ten game losing streak Brian Campbell threw a big public snit and called off negotiotions claiming he “didn’t want to cause a distraction for the team”, which of course created a big distraction. Now that things are looking up, he’s running to the press to make sure everyone knows how much he wants to remain a Sabre. Is it possible that it dawned on Soupy that the Sabres might survive without him? Is it possible he realized that if he keeps playing hardball he’s going to find his ass traded? I feel like Soupy might be getting a little worried. Heh. Make him sweat, Darcy.

7. I love hockey.

13 Responses to “7 Things”


  1. 1 Meg February 14, 2008 at 12:33 am

    It’s so convenient that you’re hating the Rangers again just before the Sabres play them. An outlet for all that vitriol!

  2. 2 Heather B. February 14, 2008 at 9:18 am

    I like to think that Soupy suddenly realized he could be playing for the Panthers or the Lightning in a few weeks. That seems like it could be… not that much fun. I’m also enjoying Darcy’s “Well, it would be helpful if a deal was done before the deadline” comments which I’m sure means, “Sign or your ass is gone.”

    I love, love, love “If you’re out and about, give a honk for the Goose.” One of my all-time favorite RJ calls.

    Did you watch the Roby circa 1975 video? If not, you absolutely should. It’s to die for.

    Crunchy has been unreal lately.

  3. 3 Pookie February 14, 2008 at 9:49 am

    If you’re out and about give a croak for the super awesome frog! CROAK!

  4. 4 Anne February 14, 2008 at 9:51 am

    Soupy made some comment about how much of a “hometown discount” he’s willing to take on his contract. Which, to me, means they’re playing hardball, offering him less than he feels he’s owed, but he’s probably gonna take it and wants everyone to think he’s taking it because he loves Buffalo, not because he isn’t worth more.

    Whatever, I just want them to decide about him soon. And sign the RFAs while you’re at it: at least Pie-YAY and Goose should be signed soon. It’ll make us all sleep a little easier at night.

  5. 5 LizzieB February 14, 2008 at 11:13 am

    Kate, welcome the wonderful world of goalie obsession. I’m at the point where I know Whompy’s routine to scrape up the crease. Next time you’re at a game, check it out. My favorite parts are when he does a little salsa back and forth across the crease and when he skates out to the right face off circle, swings his arms and glides back to the crease. He does exactly the same thing every time.

  6. 6 Jaime February 14, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    Speaking of goalie behavior, have you noticed Miller’s little dance he does before getting off the ice? Skates up to bench, waits for everyone else to go in, skate in a little circle then head off. I’ve only noticed it the last 2 games and was wondering if that’s his normal routine.

  7. 7 Meg February 14, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    I’ve only noticed it the last 2 games and was wondering if that’s his normal routine.

    Yup, he does it every time he leaves the ice.

  8. 8 Jon February 14, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    With all due respect, I think your assessment of Soupy is a little off. The guy is going to make 6 million plus per year for several years, I’m not so sure he’s worried about whether or not the team will fall apart without him.

    Also, Darcy’s not in the driver’s seat here, so he really can’t make Brian “sweat.” Soupy will have his pick of the litter come free agency time, so I’m sure that if anyone will be sweating, it will be Darcy.

  9. 9 Shari February 14, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    Did you watch the Roby circa 1975 video? If not, you absolutely should. It’s to die for.>>

    That was hilarious! When I was 18 or 19, I worked at the Lockport Mall Cinema and Roby had an insurance place across the hall, and that was about 1981. We used to have to go borrow ice from him when our machine broke down…..or something, I can’t remember now, I’m old.
    Anyway, he had pictures of the Sabres all over the walls and was always nice to us girls and always saying goodnight on his way out. Did anyone catch Robys scripted little interview with
    Gallisano the other night? Roby looked like he was thinking, “You are soooo full of shit!”

  10. 10 Katebits February 14, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    Jon, I will definitely concede that Darcy is not in a position to make Soupy sweat. I meant that as a joke.

    But, I do think it’s telling that as we get closer to the trade deadline and closer to being a legitimate playoff team, Soupy is suddenly a lot more demonstrative about his affection for the Sabres. Just because signing or not signing is all up to Brian Campbell, that doesn’t necessarily mean he likes his options. Yeah, if he wants to hold out, he’ll definitely be making 6+ next year, but he’ll be doing it on a different team in a different city. Personally, I’m kind of enjoying watching it dawn on him that he likes being a Sabre. That’s all I was really hinting at.

    Shari, it was the old clip that made me realize that I loved Robi in the first place!

  11. 11 danielleia February 14, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    It’s funny you say Ryan looks like a frog because I just told my parents that the other day! I’m like…. goalies=frogs, riiight?!!!!!!!! Weirdly cute frogs.

  12. 12 Schnookie February 14, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Soupy will have his pick of the litter come free agency time

    Like Sheldon Souray did? I don’t think there’s any question that some team will give Soupy what he’s asking for. I think the question, though, is whether the kind of team Soupy wants to play for will.

  13. 13 S.A.M. February 14, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Soupy Schmoopy. Get him gone.

    I love your little list! and mmmm mmm lasagna and garlic bread. Sounds heavenly.

    I loved that clip of Robi, it made me laugh so much. He was just too cool to be real. (and even funnier was Rob Ray back in the studio giggling for 5 minutes after it was over. That was priceless!) But you’re right, he is really cranky. Only last night he was pretty nice about the win. You don’t hear that often. I love the dude but he can be kinda brutal at times. (and usually it’s true, it just hurts to hear it)

    Crunchy is the man. He’s been out of his mind the last few games and it’s really nice to see the team responding to that and playing pretty well in front of him too.

    I always hate the Rangers. They were my oringial hockey team hate (back in 94 when they beat Bure and my Canucks and stole Stanley from me in my first year of watching hockey) and I will always hate them. They are what’s wrong with the NHL. The Rangers are where good players go for their careers to die. It’s very easy to hate the Rangers. Okay I’ll stop now. This is getting alittle out of hand.

    and WOW I didn’t know Briere was a -20?! That is so great, in a really sad way. How are you a -20 when you’ve scored 21 goals? That’s just rough. (10 of them are PPG and you don’t get pluses for those but still..)


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


