Loss of Perspective

While it’s true that you can’t win ’em all, it’s also true that you never need to look quite that bad while losing. That was unnecessary, boys.

The highlight of the game was afterwards, when, in a misguided effort to commend the Sabres for owning up to the fact that they totally sucked today, Rob and Robi wound up calling out Roger Clemens and OJ Simpson(!) for being liars. Way to keep things in perspective, guys.

Crunchy had a bad day. Personally, I think he was trying to make Soupy look bad. In any case, he was very upset, so after he got pulled from the game I gave him some tea and Valentine’s red hots. He mostly just scowled for the remainder of the game, but he did eat a few red hots. That’s how upset he was.

IMG_4612

The game drove Crunchy to binge on red hots. He must have had five or six.

In other news, I got the world’s largest playoff tracker in the mail today. It was a gift from Versus for putting their All-Star Game ad banner on TWC. I’m not sure why, but I thought the tracker would be more demure. I should have known that “demure” is not Versus’s style. I took a picture to show you how ginormous my playoff tracker is, and I put a red hot in the picture for perspective.

Red Hot Tracker

As you can see, the playoff tracker is quite large.

After the game, in a fit of frustration, I dropped the New York Rangers playoff tracker magnet into my tea. It was both cathartic and kind of gross.

NYR tea

Ew.

7 Responses to “Loss of Perspective”


  1. 1 elise February 16, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    My, that is quite a large playoff tracker. I want one. The red hot as a comparison was a nice touch. Poor Rangers playoff tracker magnet…

  2. 2 Jen February 16, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    I am jealous of your tracker board lol

  3. 3 Patty (in Dallas) February 16, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    Wow. That’s a big honkin’ board. Sheesh. I’m glad I didn’t get one. Hmph.

    Poor Crunchy. He’s gonna pay for those red hots tomorrow.

  4. 4 Patty (in Dallas) February 16, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    And in the battle of NHL Playoffs VS. Versus, I am rooting for NHL Playoffs. :P

  5. 5 DS February 16, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    VS=cheap. They couldn’t even be bothered to update the logos to this season for their ginormous board?
    On the plus side, it looks like it might be a good backup doorguard for those rare nights Crunchy needs off?

    …Speaking of which, who do you suppose gets the start tomorrow?

  6. 6 mcguffers February 16, 2008 at 11:20 pm

    As I promised, I have been recording all the games and watching them later, so as not to jinx the Sabres. I did walk into a bar that was playing the Bruins game with seven minutes left in the third period, and though I tried to avoid looking at the tv, they lost in a shoot out. Apparently I underestimated my bad luck.

    So, while it sucks that they lost tonight, I have to say if they had won every game for the rest of the season because I wasn’t watching them, I seriously would have considered donating all of my Sabres possessions. Seriously.

    And the picture of the gargantuan play off board with the red hot as a size reference made me spit out my water. In a good way.

  7. 7 Anne February 17, 2008 at 12:54 am

    That playoff tracker is like 10x larger than I anticipated it would be. Excellent.

    I was not mentally prepared for today’s afternoon game and apparently neither were the Sabres. I will be far more focused tomorrow as I will be at the game. The last game I attended was the Panthers game last Sunday. Here’s hoping for all players to leave the arena tomorrow under their own power and not en route to receiving medical care.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


