Sabres vs. Penguins 2/17/08

Pregame

Mood: Splendid! I’m in a very good mood.
Favorite Sabre: Pommerdoodle. Who’s cuter than Pommers? No one!
Least Favorite Sabres: Soupy and Spacek. -4 is not cute.
Animal representing my hopes for this game:

hobbes
I can’t help it. I’m hopeful today.

Prediction: I have no prediction. Honestly, nothing would surprise me here.
Summary of thoughts: Everything is all bunched up in the standings and it makes me feel all nervie. I don’t like how one groaty loss tossed us right out of the playoffs. On a totally unrelated note, some hilarious person found TWC by googling “Chris and Kate Drury”. Well played, funny googler. Well played.

After 1st (0-0)

Mood: Dazed.
Favorite Sabre: FOR THE LOVE OF LINDY RUFF! Goose is the master of the adorable PSA. First, he taught us that “books are the foundation of reading”, now he’s trying to save the planet by flirting with tin cans and lightbulbs. Was there hockey played after that commercial? Because all I’ve been doing since that PSA aired is sorting my recyclables and honking dreamily. Honk. Honk. honkhonkhonkhonk. Heh. Blue and Gold make green, people. Green is the foundation of the planet. Hooooonk.
Least Favorite Sabre: Whatevs. Did you SEE Goose’s commercial?!
Animal representing my hopes for planet earth: Green Slug

green slug

Prediction: Hopefully we’ll see a whole lot more of Goose trying to save the planet.
Summery of thoughts: Goose. Goose. GooseGooseGoose. HONK! honkhonkhonk. GOoooooooooose! Must recycle. Must recycle. Recycling is the foundtion of enjoying nature for generations to come.

After 2nd (1-2, Penguins)
Mood: I am totally spazzing here. This game is upsetting. Why aren’t they winning?! WHY?!
Favorite Sabre: I’ve been resisting him, but I can’t deny it anymore: The Kaleta! is awesome. I love how he goaded Armstrong into that penalty. Well done, sir.
Least Favorite Sabre: Pollution. And Buffalonians who don’t recycle.
Prediction: I dunno. I really really really really want the Sabres to win. I am WAY too emotionally tweaked out about this game. I need to calm down.
Summary of thoughts: Dear Hockey Gods, I promise to be the best little recycler in the world if the Sabres win this game. I’m already a pretty devoted recycler, but I will never throw another thing away AGAIN! I’ll eat my orange rinds! I’ll build a compost pile in my apartment! I’ll sell my car and ride a recumbant bike to work! I’ll collect my junk mail and use it to build violas for underprivileged children! PLEASE LET THEM WIN. PLEASE! With Respect, Katebits

At the end (1-4, Penguins)

Mood: NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! NONONONONO
NONONONONONONONONONO!! NO! NOOOO! NO! NO!
Summary of thoughts: This one broke my heart. It’s been a long time since I lost all perspective during a game. I wanted them to win SO BADLY. *lays face down on the ground*
Glimmer of hope: If Paul Gaustad would come over to my house, sit on my couch in his brown sweater, hold a tin can up to his face, and lecture me for the remainder of the evening about the simple steps I can take to help the environment, I MIGHT not have to commit hari-kari with my recyclables. *sad honk*

10 Responses to “Sabres vs. Penguins 2/17/08”


  1. 1 Destiny February 17, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    I thought the Goose commercials were the best part of the game.

    HOOOOOONNNK!

  2. 2 Maal February 17, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    Oh Goose. Why must your delivery be so wooden? HOOONK.

    On the plus side, they lost by one less than yesterday? Patrick “Possible Future Husband” Kaleta was also on the plus side. Crunchy needs to stop meditating in the crease and stay with the puck.

  3. 3 kathee February 17, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    I guess missing this one wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. The one time I was glad to have to be at my daughter’s scout meeting.

    On the upside, I had chocolate tonight, and got to watch the Goose commercial WITHOUT any depressing hockey to ruin my chocolate buzz!

  4. 4 DS February 17, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    Uh, Kate, don’t kill me for this, but you know I have brought up that whole “don’t get too high after a win, don’t get too low after a loss” thing even when they weren’t playing the Penguins…

    And it’s ‘hara-kiri’.

    That being said, if the Penguins had lost tonight I’d be feeling pretty much the exact same way you do now, so um, thanks? ‘Cause we really, reeeeally needed the win.

  5. 5 Katebits February 17, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    I used “hari-kari” for comedic purposes. It’s just wrong, nothing worse, right? I don’t want to offend my Samurai readership.

  6. 6 DS February 17, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    Nah, I don’t think the samurai’ll be too offended, since “hara-kiri” literally means “cut the belly” and “hari-kari” means nothing. :P Good to know you’re not planning on hurting yourself!

  7. 7 S.A.M. February 17, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    That game made me sad.

    But yes! THe Goose commercials were awsome. He looks so wholesome and innocent off ice. But when he’s playing he’s always so intense and such. It’s lovely.

    And I was on Grand Island friday and saw one of those stone geese with a Sabres shirt and helmet on. It was A GOOSE GOOSE! I laughed for a long time and then though of you. I wish I could have taken a pic. Maybe I’ll go back and take one sometime.

  8. 8 elise February 18, 2008 at 10:52 am

    HONK!! kate, i’m going to start a publishing house just to make you (even more) famous. the world must know!

  9. 9 Melissa March 13, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    I can’t stop watching the Goose commercials. He’s just so damn adorable.

    ps. Does anyone know how to rip the commercials off Sabres.com? Unfortunately, they’ve not been uploaded to youtube yet either :(


  1. 1 The Offseason is Stressful « The Willful Caboose Trackback on July 26, 2008 at 9:54 am

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


