Come Back

The panel that I participated in this evening took place in The Buffalo News auditorium, which is essentially across the street from HSBC arena. I swear, as I walked back to my car at about 9:00 I could feel the heaviness of the mood in the arena from outside. I wasn’t at all surprised to hear the dull edge to RJ’s voice when I turned on the radio. When he announced the score at 2-1, my heart sunk, not just on the game, but on the season, and on the team, and on the whole stupid ritual of being a fan.

As I meandered home, they went down another goal, and I think that was the worst that I have felt all season.

I really want to like this team, and these players. I know there are a million reasons to bitch about any sports team, but I would just prefer to enjoy them. If it’s possible to enjoy the ebb and flow of this erratic season, then that is what I want to do. I suspect that after I have a few years of fandom under my belt, I might be more likely to think, “Meh. These guys just suck,” but for right now, my natural inclination is to cheer blindly. As far as fans go, I think I’m pretty easy to please, but tonight, despite my best intentions, I was totally disheartened.

In the time it took to drive home, the Sabres came back. They came all the way back!

And so did I.

Let’s Go Buff-a-lo!

16 Responses to “Come Back”


  1. 1 Schnookie February 20, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    Katebits, this is a WONDERFUL post!

  2. 2 S.A.M. February 20, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    awww your post made me sad.

    but something about this game tonight felt right. When they were down 3-1 I just had this feeling that they were going to comeback and OOOH was it great!

    :) I officially don’t hate Vanek anymore.

  3. 3 S.A.M. February 20, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    what I meant was it made me sad till the end! yay blind optimism.

    and hockey is good in Buffalo again. For now.

  4. 4 Destiny February 21, 2008 at 1:36 am

    I thought I saw Paul Gaustad at Wegman’s and I was just about to HONK when I realized it wasn’t him. *pout*

  5. 5 CrotchetyOriginalSam February 21, 2008 at 1:49 am

    I suspect that after I have a few years of fandom under my belt, I might be more likely to think, “Meh. These guys just suck,”

    You would think so, but I’m willing to submit that this won’t be the case. The real benefit of extended hockey fandom is extensive hockey knowledge (which you’ve acquired FAR faster than I did, I must say,) and a few years from now, I suspect you’ll find yourself a lot more adept at taking the long view, and not being bothered nearly as much by individual losses.

    Oh, and have I mentioned? Thomas Vanek is my fantasy hero. And so is Crunch. Only two guys keeping me in first place this week…

  6. 6 Becky February 21, 2008 at 5:27 am

    My son was sulking around the living room, irritating me as he kept switching back and forth to Terminator 3 to relieve his game stress.

    “Turn the game back on NOW”

    Next thing I know he’s hopping around yelling “Wooo!! We SCORED!!!”

    That was the tying goal. The station stayed on the game after that.

    Great game, especially for Vanek.

    I’m glad that he finally doesn’t care what anyone thinks. He plays much better that way.

  7. 7 Lisa February 21, 2008 at 7:25 am

    I gotta say this post is why hockey fans are so wonderful to know. Sure there are some who bail on their team when they are down, but more often than not, like you, they have such faith in their clubs.

    Thank you for that! :)

  8. 8 Matt February 21, 2008 at 8:03 am

    In the time it took to drive home, the Sabres came back. They came all the way back!

    And so did I.

    I really, really enjoy this phrase Kate. I’m going to steal it.

    As for long-term fandom, I sort of agree with Sam. It’s not that you you ever end up resigning yourself to “They just suck”. You just get to the point where individual losses can be ridden out and forgotten. It’s the bad seasons (luckily you haven’t seen one of those yet) that get you down…

  9. 9 Jaime February 21, 2008 at 9:31 am

    I have to say that I wasn’t in a hockey mood last night. So once we were down 2-1 I was much happier laying on the couch and reading. I was going to tell you that losses still hit me hard after many yeras of loyal fandom, but now I’m just so psyched that we won!!

  10. 10 Jaime February 21, 2008 at 9:31 am

    Oops meant years. Stupid typos!

  11. 11 Heather B. February 21, 2008 at 9:40 am

    Kate, seriously, this is why I love Buffalo blogs. There were a lot of negatives about last night’s game but in the end, WE WON and Thomas Vanek was a beast. That’s enough to make me happy and I’m glad to know there are others like me out there in the world :D

  12. 12 Pookie February 21, 2008 at 10:28 am

    *clapclapclapclapclapclapclap*

    What a fantastic post!

    The thing about getting to the point where you say “aw, they just suck” is that that means you’re not willing to suffer the low lows. If you don’t suffer the low lows, the high highs (like, oh say, Vanek getting a natural hat trick to spark a come from behind win!) don’t mean as much.

  13. 13 DS February 21, 2008 at 10:45 am

    “So this is what it feels like when all those teams come back from 2 goals down on us!”

    Yay Buffalo! Please knock Philly out of the playoffs.

    Love, Pittsburgh

    P.S. That third hat trick doesn’t come as quick as the first two!

  14. 14 S.A.M. February 21, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    by the way, how did your blogging seminar panel thingamajig go?

  15. 15 Anne February 21, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    It’s so amazing how much better a win can make you feel and how much better a really important one makes you feel.

    We all know that even if we “gave up” on the Sabres last night, if anyone had tried to suggest even for a second that we weren’t completely dedicated Sabres’ fans, we would’ve punched them in the face. That’s the great thing about loving a sports team, they may lose games and they may make you mad but you’d rather be with the team, hating them sometimes, than not have them at all.


  1. 1 Welcome Home, Me! WOOO! « The Willful Caboose Trackback on January 16, 2009 at 12:35 am

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


