Fighting Back

The Sabres are trying to make me crazy, but it’s not going to work. To the Sabres I say, “You can just FORGET IT you little bastards!” I was already crazy to begin with.

Lately I’ve been feeling utterly dead to the Sabres’ woes. I just can’t seem to find the energy to throw myself into full-blown hysteria over every loss anymore. So, I have decided to institute two programming changes here at TWC:

1. I might not write about each specific game. Let’s face it, unless you’re really really really misguided, you don’t come to TWC for Sabres gameday analysis. And anyway, how many different ways can I write the sentence “That game killed a tiny piece of my soul” before you get sick of me?

2. Henceforth, all TWC posts will most likely revolve around this photo:

Ice Cream costume

Crunchy’s ice cream tasting outfit is badass.

Why yes, I did take a picture of my television screen in order to get this photo for my blog. I’m not at all devoted to providing my readers with up-to-the-minute Sabres analysis, but when Crunchy shows up on television sporting a shower cap and goggles, you can count on me to deliver the news that you need.

laughing at Perry's

Analysis: Watching the Sabres play hockey is sad, watching the Sabres in an ice cream factory is funny.

Crunchy Ice Cream
21 Responses to “Fighting Back”


  1. 1 SlugLova March 3, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    I’ve been laughing it up at your blog for months…this however, deserves me to log in and give some KUDOS! Too funny! If Miller didn’t have a GF before, he’s gonna have them lined up now!

  2. 2 Schnookie March 3, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    This is the finest hockey blog post I have ever read. EVER READ. Crunchy in shower cap and goggles is WAAAAAY more significant than Crunchy playing hockey. Seriously. I am so glad that the blogosphere has you on the case, Katebits. Without you, it’s all “hockey this” and “hockey that” and we all lose sight of what’s truly important.

  3. 3 Pookie March 3, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    “That game killed a tiny piece of my soul”

    These pictures restored all the bits of my soul that the Devils have been trying to kill all season. Thanks, Hair Net Crunchy!

  4. 4 Katebits March 3, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Aww, thanks guys! And thanks for chiming in, SlugLova! Crunchy makes it really easy sometimes, doesn’t he? :D

  5. 5 Tricia March 3, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    I don’t know if you’ve gotten this, maybe I’m just behind the times, but thank goodness for 6 more weeks of hockey!

    Three blondes died and found themselves standing before St.Peter. He told them that before they could enter the Kingdom, they had to tell him what Easter represented.

    The first blonde, an American, said ‘Easter is a holiday where they have a big feast and we give thanks and eat turkey.’ St. Peter said, ‘Noooooo,’ and he banished her to Hell.

    The second blonde, a Brit, said ‘Easter is when we celebrate Jesus’ birth and exchange gifts.’ St. Peter said, ‘Noooooo,’ and he banished her to Hell.

    The third blonde, a Canadian, said she knew what Easter was, and St. Peter said,’So, tell me.’
    She said, ‘Easter is a Christian holiday that coincides with the
    Jewish festival of Passover. Jesus was having Passover feast with His
    disciples when He was betrayed by Judas, and the Romans arrested Him.
    The Romans hung Him on the cross and eventually He died. Then they buried Him in a tomb behind a very large boulder … ‘
    St. Peter said, ‘Verrrrrry good.’

    Then the blonde continued, ‘Now, every year the Jews roll away the boulder and Jesus comes out. If he sees his shadow, we have six more weeks of hockey.’

    St. Peter fainted.

  6. 6 Amy March 3, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    This post definitely tops Nolan Pratt and Hannah Montana for today’s Sabres related hilarity.

    Crunchy’s ice cream tasting outfit is badass.

    Its an equal mix of evil scientist plus high school lab geek.

  7. 7 danielleia March 3, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    Loves the hat and goggles.

    Nolan Pratt loves Hannah Montana. hahahahahahahaahahaaaaaa!!!!! He is my favorite right now.

  8. 8 Anne March 3, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    I’ve been searching since that video first aired for it, I feel that the only thing that can soothe my aching soul is watching Millsey in that getup talking about how much he loves chocolate and raspberries.

  9. 9 Shari March 3, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    I still refuse to boo. So, While looking for a book Sunday at Borders,
    I saw Rob Rays book and bought it, cos you know, it’s out of print now. Anyway, it’s not a bad little book so everyone read it and we’ll have an Oprah book club discussion. Now on to more intense reading….”A New Earth”…..Oooooommmmm.
    Roby said the Sabres need to take the bull by the corns. I didn’t know bulls had corns. Gross.

  10. 10 elise March 3, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    kate, this entry is going to make you even more famous than you already are. i applaud the direction you are going in!

    p.s. when are you visiting the Dunk?

  11. 11 danielleia March 3, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    Oh man, sorry. I didn’t see the Goose’s Roost post until after I commented. Bad. B-A-D. I swear I didn’t even see it. I feel shame :( I was confused at how Amy knew what I was thinking before I wrote it. I was like… WHOA! Ha. Blonde.

  12. 12 elise March 3, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    hey, how do i get a fun little picture to magically appear next to my name?

  13. 13 Katebits March 3, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    danielleia, we can never have too much Nolan Pratt/Hannah Montana love here at TWC!

    Elise, you can sign up for a WordPress account and get yourself a cutie avatar!

  14. 14 crunchyhappy March 4, 2008 at 8:15 am

    Oh,GOD have you disrupted my day with this one. If I could do ANYTHING as well as you pick blog topics, I would certainly be rich. Haven’t laughed that hard in awhile- thanks KATEBITS!!!!

  15. 15 SlugLova March 4, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    I strongly urge you to rethink that whole “not blogging about every game” (I may be paraphrasing here) thing that you were talking about. I don’t like that idea one bit. I depend on you for my daily dose of entertainment and without it…I would have to do WORK! That’s just unacceptable Katebits!

  16. 16 jonhoepfinger March 4, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    I understand how you feel Kate. Over at GCFB, we don’t like to talk about the past. Its too real. The future is so bright and so nice to think about. Then of course you see this and things aren’t so good anymore.

  17. 17 danielleia March 4, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Go Sharks?! I love how they are amazed by his spin-o-ramas. GASP! No, they do rock though. They better show Soupy love. Maybe Big Bear can dye his hair and learn to spin. I want ice cream. I like short declarative sentences.

  18. 18 elise March 4, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    thanks, Kate! (as you can see, i haven’t gotten around to it yet…but soon!)

  19. 19 Gabby March 5, 2008 at 11:16 am

    Kate, I check your blog every day because you just get funnier & funnier. Please don’t stop!

  20. 20 Maal March 5, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    oh crunchy. i don’t even know what to say. i will say i had no idea one needed such personal protection whilst in an ice cream factory.

    and while i WILL admit to being a horribly misguided soul, i do enjoy reading your game recaps! i miss them! i check like, every game mostly. OMG WHAT IS KATEBITS SAYING ABOUT THIS GAME?! IS SHE WATCHING? HONK!! HONK HONK HOOOONK!!! oh wait, that’s what goose thinks, my bad.


  1. 1 IPB Goes To The Ice Cream Factory « Interchangeable Parts Trackback on August 10, 2008 at 6:52 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


