What Now?

Hm.

I have to admit, I pretty much think the Sabres are cooked. I held out hope for a win against the Rangers, and when it didn’t come I threw my temper tantrum, went through the beginning stages of my mourning period, and I turned a corner. My entire goal for this evening is to accept the outcome of this game like a grown-up, win or lose. Over the last few days I have gotten comfortable with my new position of “all hope is lost”.

But.

Then the Flyers blew their lead against the Leafs last night, and I discovered a tiny spark of hope, deep within. I have zero faith that the Sabres can pull it off. No. Certainly not. They suck, and they are way too injured to put up much of a fight. No, it’s the Flyers that inspire hope in me. They suck too! Seriously. They kind of remind me of the Sabres. Win six, lose ten, win four, lose three. Everybody is hurt. I’m telling you, the Flyers are just as pathetic as us. I have faith in their ability to blow it, I really do. Plus, the Flyers are playing the Leafs again tonight and I think that bodes well for a Flyers loss. The Leafs are still a few wins away from driving their fans fully insane by missing the playoffs by one point. Isn’t barely missing the playoffs kind of the Leafs’ “thing”? Well, they still need a few wins in order to achieve optimal frustration levels. There are two points up for grabs tonight, Maple Leafs! Go get ’em!

Which brings us to the Sabres and the Penguins. Spacek and Kalinin are out, but Hank is back. Peters is suspended (yay)! Sid, Hossa, and Talbot are all out. Sadly, it looks like Pommers will not get to play D, because Paetshshcaetshch is healthy enough to limp through the game, but I think Lindy injected the right attitude of “Aw, fuck it. Let’s just see what happens,” by even suggesting Pommers on the blueline.

I feel a little bit of, this-plan-is-so-crazy-that-it-just-might-work in the air. I think Lindy is at his wits end, and I LIKE IT. For one full day I enjoyed mental visions of Pommers skating backwards, the only man between Sidney Crosby and Ryan Miller, and I rather enjoyed the sight. My appetite for goofiness has been whet, and my hopes for hilarity are sky high. Yeah, we’ll probably get stomped, but maybe the whole situation will be preposterous enough that the Hockey Gods will be amused and they will pave the way for some unexpected hockey joyfulness in Buffalo tonight. Maybe. Probably not. But it’s within the realm of possibility. That’s all I’m saying.

I’m playing a concert tonight so you kids are on your own.

Go Sabres!

14 Responses to “What Now?”


  1. 1 Sam March 12, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    Wait. What? The Flyers blew their lead against the Leafs… what?! WHAT????!

    I’m totally serious, too. I stopped watching after the second period, because I knew that no matter how stupid this season has been, they aren’t going to blow a 3-goal lead to the LEAFS, for God’s sake. And now you tell me that they did?

    Crash Davis said it best: fuck this fucking game. Somebody wake me up when the Wild are back in first. So, 2011, I guess.

  2. 2 DS March 12, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    This is the anniversary game of the game that made me love hockey.

    So I guess…we’ll see?

  3. 3 danielleia March 12, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    What game is that, DS?

    The Pens are all up in arms about how their players are all sick… heh. We’ll see who the sick ones really are tonight. Probably us.

  4. 4 Anne March 12, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    Sam, I know! I checked the standings this morning, just because I’m a glutton for punishment and wanted to see us 5 points out, and what? We’re only 4 out? I never thought I’d say this…but, GO LEAFS GO!

    Except when we play them then BOO LEAFS BOO!

    All this injury tomfoolery has totally put me in my zen hockey place, which is a place I enjoy, I entered it when I got my Sabres insider text that told me that our entire defense corps had all suddenly developed the physical constitution of Tim Connolly and would never play again. I really hope that Lindy throws Pommer out there for a shift or two.

    I just turned on MSG for the 7:30 game and there is currently a TV show of people yelling and fighting in other sports, um, where’s my Sabres game?

  5. 5 Lauren March 12, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    Okay, I know this post wasn’t about the game – but as I’m watching Paetsch just got knocked out, and did you all see how fast Miller was over there at his side – how sweet was that!?

  6. 6 mcguffers March 12, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Okay, I need a break from this game, so onto something completely off topic. My cousin is a hardly a hockey fan, but she’ll watch every so often with me. Well, she seems to be a Goose fan now, so she googled him and went to the section that says images. This is what I hear from the other room: “Why is there a picture of some chick passed out with a wine bottle, and another one with a cupcake and a alarm clock? No, calculator maybe? Is that a pedometer? What the hell?” Apparently she found some pictures from your blog about the Geeses’ walkathon. So next time you’re checking to see how people find your blog with weird search results, keep in mind that you’ve done it to yourself :)

  7. 7 Katebits March 12, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    Hmm. This game seems to be the opposite of hilarious.

    Okay, I just did a google image search of “Paul Gaustad” and I am so so proud of the results. Heh.

  8. 8 DS March 12, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    Last March 13th the Sabres were playing in Pittsburgh (thank you, NHL scheduling people?).

    I was there. It was the first game to which I actually paid attention and it just happened to be the first game after the eons-awaited new arena agreement. So the noise was AWESOME. It went back and forth and to a shootout and Sid scored and Fleury stopped Vanek and they won 5-4.

    And that was the game that made me love hockey. And…I find that I still do!

  9. 9 Katebits March 12, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    Greeeat DS. Glad to hear it.

  10. 10 DS March 12, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    Gee, Katebits, I think I can hear your sarcasm from across the lake.

    I didn’t say anything about the game tonight, did I? I don’t think there’s anything I can say. But I really hope Paetsch is going to be okay.

    Don’t worry, I’m sure the Devils will keep winning and you can all watch me be miserable!

  11. 11 danielleia March 12, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    My bad, Katebits! I had to ask what game it was… ha.

    DS, I think we have found a new team to hate. I never thought it would come down to the Pens. It’s not even their fault. The Sabres didn’t step it up. At least Sid wasn’t there. I would have to remove him from my list of players to watch. How can you deny both towns have the best crowds?

  12. 12 DS March 12, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    Ah, dani, sorry, I…actually am a Pens fan. (Would be why I’m trying not to get killed by Kate here. I guess if I’d left in the part about chanting “Go Home, Buffalo!” in response to LGB last year(=I DIDN”T KNOW YOU GUYS THEN!=) it would have been more obvious.)

    But it’s the combination of that game and the large contingent of Sabres fans I discovered on the internet that’ll always give Buffalo a special significance to me. And I’m really sorry for the way the season’s unraveled and the mental and spiritual anguish that it’s causing people.

    But, uh, Mike Weber was +2 tonight! Pittsburgh doesn’t completely suck! (We’ll trade you Ryan Whitney for him!)

  13. 13 mcguffers March 12, 2008 at 11:54 pm

    Pittsburgh discovered the art putting coleslaw and french fries RIGHT IN the sandwich and unified all it’s sports teams under the same colors. No no DS, Pittsburgh can never completely suck. I can’t even hate you tonight. The Penguins didn’t tell Roy, Vanek, and Stafford to take the night off. Although that cheap shot to Patches gets you guys a stern pouty face from me.

    Kate, it is my dream to someday have my picture come up in a google search for Paul Gaustad. You have replaced Britney Spears in my list of role models.

  14. 14 Heather B. March 13, 2008 at 12:10 am

    I love that all of Pittsburgh’s teams wear the same colors. That’s my favorite random sports fact actually. Andy Van Slyke forever! Go Sabres!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


