5 Things

Just a few quick thoughts:

1. HELL YES!  I talk a big talk about being pessimistic, but the truth is, my crankiness is just a defense mechanism.  Underneath my hoodlum exterior, I’m an old softie.  No matter what else I say here, in reality my natural hopefulness is hovering just below the surface.   (That said, the Sabres are probably never going to score again, and I will have to kill myself when Crunchy gets traded to the Leafs next February.)   Obviously, making the playoffs would be awesome, but not making the playoffs would be semi-tolerable if the Sabres stay in the hunt until the end of the season.  All I really want is a reason to keep cheering.

2. Who knew that the solution to Invisible Staffy was to stick him on the fourth line with Kaleta and Mair? It’s so awesome to see Staffy zipping around eating brains again. The Kaleta! and Mairsy both gets TWC Medals of Honor for rehabilitating everyones favorite flesh eating zombie.

3. I’m almost afraid to mention it for fear of disrupting it’s magical properties, but Pommerdoodle, Yo-Yo, and Goose make for an awfully, um, tantalizing line.

4. I don’t even want to LOOK at Thomas Vanek right now. Thankfully, due to the recent overall awesomeness of everybody else on the team, we can afford to give TV the cold shoulder.

5. Sorry, Spacek, Kalinin and Patches, but you’re fired. It seems we’ve got an decent collection of baby defensemen, some of whom look like they are constantly wearing eye makeup. Nothing says “NHL ready” like a hot set of smoky eyes. Nicely done, Funky Cold Medina.

27 Responses to “5 Things”


  1. 1 DS March 16, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    oh HELL to the yes. :D Scoring seven goals feels awesome!

    Putting the beatdown on the Flyers may feel even better!

  2. 2 kathee March 16, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    Hopefully, they don’t get too comfy and start coasting again! I hate it when they do that!

  3. 3 Meg March 16, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    Funk is obviously working hard to fill the void left by Taylor Pyatt. Pretty eyes and not as physical as his size might lead you to expect. :)

  4. 4 Jennifer March 16, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    I think the guys heard about OUR plans for “mixing it up” and got scared. They are playing an incredible game right now. I agree with Kathee, let’s hope they keep working and don’t start getting sloppy again.

    And not only did Buffalo win on Saturday, the Rangers LOST!!!!!!

  5. 5 Glenn March 16, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    I so want a Funk jersey….. just sayin’!
    P.S. – We better take Tampa Bay seriously coming up….they just beat the Rangers….

  6. 6 danielleia March 16, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    Bow chica bow bow… Funky rocks. Smokey eye sounds good.

  7. 7 mcguffers March 16, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    How come Funk gets a play list before Gaustad does?

  8. 8 mcguffers March 16, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    Oh, and in the same line as helmet nuzzles, I’m starting to appreciate goofy things that happen after goals are scored. I love how Pommers trips and falls after his goal on Saturday, but Roy “hugging” the linesman after his goal on Friday was awesome.

  9. 9 Heather B. March 16, 2008 at 5:59 pm

    McGuffers – Yeah! What is up with Funky Chicken getting a playlist in his first game as a Sabre? Shouldn’t a fella have to earn that kind of thing?

  10. 10 danielleia March 16, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    Mcguffers-I completely forgot about the hug! I was wondering why Goose didn’t have songs picked too. They all have picked songs but him. Maybe he doesn’t like music. Honk honk.

  11. 11 Katebits March 16, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    Roy-Z hugging the linesman was AWESOME. Heh.

    My theory on Goose’s playlist is that he listens to really mellow, girly music. I bet he’s a big Indigo Girls fan or something.

  12. 12 M.J. March 16, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    AND PIE!! Tha man-child has gotten his touch back!!

    Also, I added you to my blog roll, I hope that is ok that I link you, I like to let people know as a courtesy when I do that:) I get tremendous amusement from Ryan in a shower cap:)

  13. 13 DS March 16, 2008 at 8:25 pm

    Lookat how happy Vinny is for all of us! (Mike Smith was so happy, his helmet transmogrified into something without Garth Brooks on it!)

  14. 14 Amy March 16, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    My theory on Goose’s playlist is that he listens to really mellow, girly music. I bet he’s a big Indigo Girls fan or something.

    I’ve seen pictures of Goose listening to an mp3 player during pre-game meditations on the bench. So unless he’s listening to a How To Speak Czech podcast, he must be listening to music, right?

    Maybe he listens to a lot of classic rock, and the team doesn’t want to release that list for fear of damaging his street cred?

  15. 15 Anne March 16, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    I was really surprised that the Chicken got a playlist his first game of the season. However, I believe all of those songs are also on my iPod.

    Did anyone else sense the irony of Danny Pie-YAY’s goal on Pi day?

    I think the linesman secretly wanted to hug Roysie back. You know they wish they could celebrate the goals too, especially when they come on the power play. “Hey! I called the penalty that got you this opportunity! Where’s the love?”

    Goose is totally into New Age music. They tested out his Enya CD during a pre-season game and the whole crowd fell asleep, that’s why he can’t have a playlist.

  16. 16 Katebits March 16, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    Goose is all about Enya and Yanni all the time. (And Simon and Garfunkel when he’s feeling spicy.)

  17. 17 mcguffers March 16, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    Heather B, I was thinking the same thing! Even Kaleta just got his first play list only a few games ago. Who does this Funk think he is? (Meg, I totally thought Pyatt too when I saw the eye make up!)

    And while visions of Goose rocking out to Enya are seriously cracking me up, any guy that plants his butt in front of an NHL goalie subjecting himself to crosschecks, high slap shots, and various other shenanigans deserves to have his music heard. Let the man listen to The Carpenters if that’s what gets him going. If Pratt can have Hannah Montana then a little John Tesh should be fine.

  18. 18 Amy March 17, 2008 at 7:19 am

    And Simon and Garfunkel when he’s feeling spicy.

    I can totally see him rocking out to “Cecilia” or “Mrs. Robinson” when he’s driving around Buffalo in his ginormous SUV.

    I see Goose’s lack of a playlist as the result of a practical joke in the locker room. Crunchy and Staffy – knowing full well that Goose thinks books are the foundation of reading – have told him how much fun they’re having reading music. Poor Goose has been staring at his CD collection, wondering what they’re talking about. The pondering has caused the playlist to be delayed.

  19. 19 Erin March 17, 2008 at 7:35 am

    Just to go back to Funk’s goth look again. I think he looks like a silent movie star. Charlie Chaplin or Rudy Valentino.

  20. 20 Shari March 17, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    YES! Erin, that’s excactly what he looks like!

  21. 21 Anne March 17, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    Goose has been working steadily on creating the ultimate play list all season, and it will only be unveiled at the final home game on the 30th.

    The Player Tunes to end all Player Tunes.

  22. 22 danielleia March 17, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    I’ve been researching Goose’s favorite books and I discovered he is reading this.

    Sources in the locker room have also given me a copy of a message that Crunchy had written on his CD case.

  23. 23 Katebits March 17, 2008 at 5:24 pm

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHahahah
    ahahahahHAHAHAHAHAhahahahaahHAHAHAAHAHA!!!!!!!!

    I especially love “Goose, hide this Enya CD”!

  24. 24 mcguffers March 17, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    WHAT???? I switched all my lightbulbs to flourescent and Goose drives a “ginormous SUV”?? WTF Goose? Does the Green Team know? I expected him to drive a Prius or one of those SMART cars. He better be using his huge gas guzzler to drive under privileged kids to the library.

  25. 25 danielleia March 17, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    I tried to put your Pommer “C” labradoodle in there instead of spot… I could not handle that. I ran with Anne’s Enya idea.

    I love that Goose was also on WGR today.

  26. 26 Lauren March 17, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    mcguffers – im not positive, but i hear that goose drives a toyota, a 4 runner or a highlander i do believe, and i think i might have heard something about it being a hybrid?? but once again..just what i heard..anyone know for sure??

  27. 27 Katebits March 17, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    I think we should all assume that Goose has forsaken all motorized vehicles.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


