The Doodle

I need to talk about Jason Pominville for a second.

Is it just me, or is he legitimately awesome? Pommerdoodle is so blindingly adorable that sometimes I overlook his more “hockistically valuable” attributes.

As much as I enjoy Crunchy’s honest interviews, they freak me out a bit. I’m always analyzing everything he says, and looking for tiny hints about his motivations and the state of his psyche. Pommers on the other hand, basically gives the same interview every day: “We just have to stick to the system. We have to come out hard and play a full 60 minutes. The guys in this room can compete with any team in the league, but we still have a lot to learn. I like bacon.” (Okay, I’ve never heard Pommers say that last thing, but you KNOW he’s thinking it.)

Of all the Sabres, Pommers is the one I find most soothing during trying times. It turns out that when I’m frustrated with the team, I want to see the Sabres giving calm, measured interviews. I do NOT want to see them practically crying (Soupy), and I do NOT want to see them vibrating with frustration (Crunchy) and I do NOT want them to tell us that “there’s a lot of confidence in this room” while giving us super-sad, blinky eyes (Goose). What I want is for Pommers to say for the millionth time, “We’ve just got to stick to the system.”

For some reason, I believe Pommers when he spews sports platitudes.  He’s a leader.  I’d follow him.

Pommers scores
Here we see Pommers scoring a goal with the same expression on his face that he usually uses while giving interviews.

Let’s review:

-Pommers is steady both on the ice and in interviews.
-Pommers is a good captain.
-If any Sabre can lead the team to the playoffs, I believe it’s Pommers.
-Pommers likes bacon.

In short, Pommerdoodle is bad ass.  Discuss.

33 Responses to “The Doodle”


  1. 1 janz March 17, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    bacon bacon bacon!!

  2. 3 Anne March 17, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    I live for Pommer’s formulaic interviews. They’re all basically the same, but for some reason I still listen to them intently.

    Pommer’s formula for a good game:

    sticking to the system + battling down deep + putting pucks on net + getting the bounces + playing 60 minutes + the phrase “yeah ya know” = 2 points.

    I can’t believe how wrong I was about Pommer as captain. I really thought lil’ Pommer was still way too young for the responsibility, but it really suits him and I hope he keeps a letter.

  3. 4 Katebits March 17, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    I can’t believe how wrong I was about Pommer as captain.

    I’m the same way, Anne. I can’t believe how captainly Pommers seems with that C. I actually like him better than Yo-Yo as captain.

  4. 5 Amanda March 18, 2008 at 12:29 am

    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, people who understand why I like Pommer. Everyone else says, “Yeah, he’s a good player” blah blah blah but very few people realize the awesomeness that is the Doodle. BTW, I thought I was the only lunatic who calls him “The Doodle”. Also, I think he likes bacon, but for some reason I have it stuck in my brain that he likes cookies. I would totally make him cookies and dole them out like treats. I think he’d even be nice enough to share them with his teammates. He’s that kinda guy.

  5. 6 mcguffers March 18, 2008 at 12:40 am

    There are a billion reasons why Pommers is one of my favorite ex-Amerks/Sabres. He went and visited a bar that created its own “Pominville” and he showed appreciation for his fans. He admits in his blog that he doesn’t like Sean Avery (which is Pommerspeak for he thinks Avery is un morceau de merde.) He probably chews through two mouth guards every game. Oh, and when asked if players only look at the jumbotron for replays, he said he likes to see the Kisscam too.

    Lindy, just let him keep the “C” for next year puhleeese.

  6. 7 Gambler March 18, 2008 at 5:43 am

    I actually like him better than Yo-Yo as captain.

    *weeps*

    No actually I’m really really upset that I’m missing out on Captain Pommerdoodle. I bet he’s consistently and steadily awesome at it just like he has been at everything this season. He’s really stepped up and solidified himself as one of my favorite players. (Don’t tell my mom, though, she gets jealous.) At this point Pommers needs to be a Sabre forever and ever or I’m afraid my heart might break.

    Oh, and when asked if players only look at the jumbotron for replays, he said he likes to see the Kisscam too.

    That is too adorable for words.

  7. 8 Amy March 18, 2008 at 7:33 am

    I can’t believe how captainly Pommers seems with that C.

    Its like he’s grown up before our eyes. That’s the only way I can describe it.

  8. 9 Jaime March 18, 2008 at 7:42 am

    My husband had mentioned over the weekend how much he is enjoying Pommers being captain. I totally agreed and then said that Pommers is a super hero now! He’s Captain Pominville! Rescues the Sabres with steady play, comforts fans and lifts them from despair, etc. (He also wears a cape and has a theme song in my head:))

  9. 10 Anne March 18, 2008 at 8:06 am

    He probably chews through two mouth guards every game.

    Ew, I totally agree. Who doesn’t love that the current picture on his blog is a very intense-eyed, determined Pommerdoodle with his GROSS mouthguard sticking out of his mouth. That will instill fear in the hearts of our enemies.

    Its like he’s grown up before our eyes. That’s the only way I can describe it.

    That’s exactly how I feel and why I was so surprised to see him be such a solid captain. Before, in the late 90s when when watching the games, I didn’t really care about them as people. That is, until they started being within like 5 years of my age. It’s so funny watching players like Miller, Roy, Goose and Pommer be considered our elite players when I remember like 4 years ago, some of them were: “Maybe they’ll make it to the NHL on a regular basis, maybe.”

  10. 11 danielleia March 18, 2008 at 8:54 am

    I remember an interview with Briere and they asked him who of the Sabres is the most gullible:

    Me: JasonJasonJasonJason.
    Briere: ummm…..
    Host: Is it Pommers?
    Briere: umm… yeah, (laughs) probably Jason.

    He learned his mouth guard skills from Dru and his calm speaking abilities from Danny. He clearly learned his “duhhh I’m scarryyy” look from Soupy (see icon).

  11. 12 danielleia March 18, 2008 at 8:55 am

    Sorry, Pommers, it would never work between us. I don’t like bacon.

  12. 13 Amy March 18, 2008 at 8:57 am

    It’s so funny watching players like Miller, Roy, Goose and Pommer be considered our elite players when I remember like 4 years ago, some of them were: “Maybe they’ll make it to the NHL on a regular basis, maybe.”

    That’s what makes hockey so fun. You get to see them mature from the guys that darn near have a weepy nervous breakdown a few years ago into steady, everyday players.

  13. 14 Amanda March 18, 2008 at 10:25 am

    Pommers is a super hero now! He’s Captain Pominville! Rescues the Sabres with steady play, comforts fans and lifts them from despair, etc. (He also wears a cape and has a theme song in my head:))

    Huh. I’m not the only one who pictured him wearing a cape either. So glad I’m not the only odd one around here.

  14. 15 danielleia March 18, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    I love how you gave Janz a SabreName by adding “ie…” Katezie.

  15. 16 SlugLova March 18, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    This is totally off topic, but does anyone know where I can finda a Kaleta t-shirt? I have looked EVERYWHERE I can think of……….

  16. 17 Katebits March 18, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    I love how you gave Janz a SabreName by adding “ie…” Katezie.

    That is a very interesting observation, danielleia. Janz is a good friend of mine in real life, and I have been calling him “Janzie” basically since I met him. I’ve given the Sabres a lot of shit for their uncreative nicknaming, and here I am, just as bad. Hee.

    This is totally off topic, but does anyone know where I can finda a Kaleta t-shirt?

    SlugLova, Bfloblog regular twoeightnine has got this one all ready to go!

  17. 18 twoeightnine March 18, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Who knew you’d be my biggest referrer of the day. You can save $5 on the The Kaleta! shirt with the code: SPREADSHIRT227

  18. 19 Jennfer March 18, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    SlugLova, have you checked CafePress.com? (no offense to twoeightnine) I was having a terrible time trying to find a Tallinder tee, but found one there. They have pretty much all of the players and a variety of designs.

    Katebits: They even have a “Mrs. Gaustad” shirt.

  19. 20 Katebits March 18, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    Who knew you’d be my biggest referrer of the day.

    Well, duh. Behold the awesome buying power of the Caboose, 289. :D

  20. 21 SlugLova March 18, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    Katebits, you are the shiznit! Thanks!

    Twoeightnine, lets talk sizing for a sec. All the NHL stuff runs really small. I take a large in that stuff and it barely fits. Usually I take a medium…so how should I expect it to fit?

  21. 22 SlugLova March 18, 2008 at 3:49 pm

    Yes Jennfer, I did check cafepress and all I found was a really generic looking shirt with a 36 on the back.

    That is, however, where I got my Mrs. Crunchy shirt!

  22. 23 danielleia March 18, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    HAHAHAHAHA!

    This is entertaining.

  23. 24 twoeightnine March 18, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    Are you male or female? Small chest or big chest? Which style were you looking at?

  24. 25 Katebits March 18, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    Small chest or big chest?

    OH NO YOU DID NOT! :P

  25. 26 Jennifer March 18, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    And here I thought this was just a great Sabres blog. It’s entertaining on SO MANY levels.

  26. 27 twoeightnine March 18, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    I almost didn’t. I changed it from “big boobs or small boobs”. It’s honestly the second most common question I get after “what’s the difference between?”

  27. 28 Katebits March 18, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    I think I have everyone’s measurements on file somewhere, 289. “Big boobs or small boobs?” is always my first question for new commenters.

  28. 29 Amy March 18, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    is always my first question for new commenters.

    You mean there’s questions we’re supposed to ask?!

    That wasn’t in the Blogging 101 Handbook.

  29. 30 Katebits March 18, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    Wait. You’ve been blogging without knowing the bra size of all your readers? *shaking head sadly* AMY! You’re going to get kicked off the interwebs if you’re not careful! This is TOTALLY against the Blogging Rules!

  30. 31 SlugLova March 19, 2008 at 8:19 am

    I am a woman. I like a fitted style, but not skanky fitted….ya know? Um….”chest” is on the larger side but the rest of me is not. Bra size is 34DD, waist is 35″….SINCE YOU MUST KNOW! :)

    There you go bloggers….blog away!

  31. 32 Matt March 19, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Well, duh. Behold the awesome buying power of the Caboose, 289. :D

    We’re gonna get you that three (and some pother cool stuff) one way or the other!

    I think I have everyone’s measurements on file somewhere, 289. “Big boobs or small boobs?” is always my first question for new commenters.

    I feel so left out now. Entertained, but left out.

  32. 33 twoeightnine March 19, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    With that information now in hand….
    ….
    ….

    I forgot where I was.

    The lightweight shirts are a little bit form fitting but they are thin and little stretchy. I’d probably go up one size from normal.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


