Sabres vs. Lightning 3/19/08

After the 1st (2-1, Tampa)

The Bolts will try
to spoil our fun,
and at the horn,
it’s two to one.

Pommers knows
what he must do.
He’ll need to score
a goal or two.

They don’t look bad
they don’t look good
I hope they win.
They really should.

After the 2nd (4-1, Tampa)

This game sucks.
We need three goals
to tie the game
and soothe our souls.

At the end (4-7, Sabres)

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

WOOOOOOOOOO!!!
WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!
WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

My heart is filled
with love and hope
I sit and grin
I’m such a dope.

I can’t believe
they got the win
I’ll never doubt
the boys agin. (until the next game)

(heh) (I love hockey)

GO SABRES!

41 Responses to “Sabres vs. Lightning 3/19/08”


  1. 1 danielleia March 19, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

    6 GOALS IN ONE PERIOD?!

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

    Nice poem.

  2. 2 Katebits March 19, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

    I’m never going to stop WOOOOOOOOOO-ING!!

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!
    WHOOOOOOOOOOOO!! WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!
    WOOOOOO! WOOOOO! WOOOO! WOOOOO!!! WOOOOOOOOOOO!

  3. 3 mcguffers March 19, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    This game is exactly why I’m a Sabres fan. I went from screaming “How the f$#% do you a@#$%&^s lose to the second worst f#$%ing team in the f#$@ing NHL?!” to “I f@#$ing LOVE you guys! I knew you could do it!!!” all within 15 minutes.

  4. 4 mcguffers March 19, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    oh, and WOOOOOOOOO!!!!

  5. 5 Katebits March 19, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    I know! That was INCREDIBLE!

  6. 6 Katebits March 19, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!

  7. 7 Shari March 19, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHYYYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!
    This is why you NEVER leave a Sabres game! Ilove when they do this!
    I’m so glad it wasn’t overtime or a shootout! WWWWOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!
    Know what else????? TEPPO’S COMMING BACK TOMARROW!!!!!
    I’m soooo happy, happy, happy!!

  8. 8 Shari March 19, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    I hope they let him play!!! I hope, I hope, I hope!!!

  9. 9 Gambler March 19, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

    You know the best part about that game?!? I saw it! I SAW IT!!!!! The internet is a wonderful place and I saw my first hockey game in two and a half months and IT WAS THIS GAME!!!!!!! I was so pissed with the Sabres after the second period because I finally figured out how to watch them and I was staying up until 3:00am to do it and they were sucking ass, but then they completely turned it around BECAUSE THEY LOVE ME!!! YO-YO WITH GOALS 20 AND 21!!!!! I’M SOOOOOOO HAPPY!!!!!!!!

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!

  10. 10 Chaz March 19, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    I hope they do this again on Friday. OK, maybe not the losing until the third period and then pulling the win out of their jockstraps. I’m actually going to the game and expect to see an ice full of Maple Syrup when the Sabres are done!

    Go Sabres!

  11. 11 kathee March 19, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    Yippeeeeeee! WOOOO! YAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYY!

  12. 12 Shari March 19, 2008 at 9:21 pm

    And Yo-Yo is so damn cute! He should smile all the time! A snowplow just went by my house! I love the way Pommers shakes his head just like a puppy dog after he scores! Did you see his Aunt with the poster! Kate! I’m so happy for you that YOU SAW THIS GAME!!!!
    O.k. I gotta go to bed! Nite!Nite!

  13. 13 Katebits March 19, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    GAMBLER!!!!

    I thought of you SO MUCH during this game!! Yo-Yo did it for you! He did it all for you!!!! The Sabres need you back! Go back! Yo-Yo got to 20! Yo-Yo got to 20!! Yo-Yo got to 20!!

  14. 14 Katebits March 19, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    Ooops! I meant COME BACK! The Sabres MISS YOU, GAMBLER!

  15. 15 danielleia March 19, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    WWWWWWOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!

    Sorry, I realized I wasn’t quite finished.

  16. 16 Katebits March 19, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    You guys, Weber and Sekera were PLUS FIVES tonight!

  17. 17 mcguffers March 19, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    I LOVE that Sekera is doing well in Sabreland. There’s this crazy season ticket holder that sits right by the Amerks bench and verbally abuses the team. As they were coming off the ice in an overtime loss, she shouts out “Sekera, when you’re on the ice it’s like playing a man down!” Seriously, I’m not sure which I hate more, Puckbunnies with their “Jason I wanna marry you!” signs, or people who pay good money to sit near the bench and berate players. So to you rotten lady who sucks at life I say WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

  18. 18 Mags March 20, 2008 at 1:10 am

    What. the. FUCK?

    GO SABRES!

  19. 19 jonhoepfinger March 20, 2008 at 7:00 am

    I missed the game. Very sad. But seriously Darcy, please give Jason Pominville a 7 year contract this year. SIGN HIM CHEAP!

  20. 20 Jennfer March 20, 2008 at 7:49 am

    WWWWWWWWWWWWOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!! I don’t think I’ve seen a 3rd period I’ve enjoyed that much in, well EVER!!! And to think I almost gave up and turned the TV, ’cause I just couldn’t stand to see the boys beaten into the ground. Looks like Lindy had some explicatives of encouragement and they were doing the beating in the 3rd.

    YAH YO-YO & Pommerdoodle!

  21. 21 Glenn March 20, 2008 at 7:53 am

    Dayum! What more needs to be said? Don’t ever back these guys into a corner… they will CUT YOU UP!

  22. 22 Anne March 20, 2008 at 8:02 am

    ADLKBJNAHLIAEUNBLIAERGN!!!! WOOOOOO!!

    The Sabres respond really well to me yelling “DON’T FUCK THIS UP!” I’ve done it the last 3 games with miraculous results.

    It’s times like this where we make such grand statements as:

    JASON POMINVILLE IS THE GREATEST HOCKEY PLAYER TO EVER LIVE

    THOMAS VANEK WILL SCORE A NATURAL HAT TRICK IN EVERY GAME HE EVER PLAYS AGAINST THE TAMPA BAY LIGHTNING.

    JOCHEN HECHT WILL SCORE 20 GOALS EACH SEASON FOR THE REST OF HIS CAREER

    MIKE WEBER AND ANDREJ SEKERA ARE THE GREATEST DEFENSIVE PAIRING SINCE THE DAWN OF TIME

  23. 23 Anne March 20, 2008 at 8:35 am

    and:

    WWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  24. 24 Amy March 20, 2008 at 8:38 am

    Did you see his Aunt with the poster!

    That was completely adorable!

  25. 25 Destiny March 20, 2008 at 10:02 am

    WOOOOOOOOO HONK WOOOOOOOOOOO!

    I was working, and kept getting updates from people. At the end of the second, I was like, “Aww crap, they’re gonna freaking lose again.” Then I got to hear some of the third when they tied it up, and when they took the lead. I was like, “They’ll never lose another game, ever! I <3 this team!” Pommerdoodle and Yo-Yo are heroes and the Sabres need to totally lock them down FOREVER. The icing on the cake is Washington losing 5-0 to Chicago last night. Kane got an assist, he wanted to beat the Caps to help the Sabres, I’m sure of it!

    One more HONK for good measure. :)

  26. 27 Jaime March 20, 2008 at 11:43 am

    I was out running errands and happened to notice the Sabres at the Pepsi Center! I love watching them practice, their so humanized when their not being big, rough hockey players. They play all of these silly games and make faces at you, it completely cracks me up! And my daughter can flirt with the best of them! She MAKES them pay attention to her and yells GOAL every time the puck goes in the net.

    But there was no Teppo! Shouldn’t he have benn there? I was looking forward to seeing him:(

  27. 28 Katebits March 20, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    Amy, you are without QUESTION the best scour-er of the interwebs EVER! Nothing escapes your notice! Nothing! (But thanks for pointing that out, because I hadn’t seen it myself.)

    Jaime, the lack of Teppo is worrisome indeed. How awesome for you that you stumbled upon the Sabres though. I wish they would publish their practice schedule somewhere, because I would go if I knew when and where they were going to be.

  28. 29 Amy March 20, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    Amy, you are without QUESTION the best scour-er of the interwebs EVER! Nothing escapes your notice! Nothing!

    I only found it because the display URL mentioned the BPO and drumming Swedes. Two things not often found together. :)

    I would go if I knew when and where they were going to be.

    On days when the Sabres play at home, the morning skate is open to the public. It usually starts at 10ish. The players are on the ice for about an hour or so, and a section of the 100 level between the two benches is open to the public.

  29. 30 Jaime March 20, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    Kate- I know that the Sabres practice at the Pepsi Center when they’re home and there is something (concert etc.) going on at the arena. Otherwise it’s a total crap shoot. I just happen to live less than 5 minutes from the Pepsi center and if the side lot is full it means they are there. (And thanks for spelling my name right, it’s one of my pet peeves)

    Also just saw an adorable article about Paul Gaustad and his inability to read Dr. Suess books on Sabres.com. I simply am head-over-heels for him! And if you go to wrgz.com and search Paul Gaustad flour fight there is very cute video of just that. Super cute!

  30. 31 Jaime March 20, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    Oops thats wgrz.com not wrgz.com

  31. 32 Amy March 20, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    I simply am head-over-heels for him! And if you go to wrgz.com and search Paul Gaustad flour fight there is very cute video of just that. Super cute!

    It it a super sweet article. A discussion of it is going to be my blog post for tonight, once I get home and find the Dr. Seuss book I need to reference.

    The flour fight thing is probably the most random video I’ve seen. Its not like there’s even anything remotely newsworthy about it, its just Goose having a flour fight with little kids while baking cookies.

  32. 33 jonhoepfinger March 20, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    I guess the flour fight is better then what happened a year ago with Goose and Kids

    http://www.nhl.com/nhl/app/?service=page&page=NewsPage&articleid=357455

    Paul Gaustad remembers the embarrassment. The Buffalo Sabres’ hulking center remembers the teachers in the corner with tears nearly flowing from their eyes as they laughed out loud. He remembers the kids, oh those critical kids.

    “They gave me the hardest Dr. Seuss book that I have ever seen in my life, and I had the hardest time reading it,” said Gaustad, who through his brutal honesty couldn’t remember the name of the book he had to read to a group of school kids last year.

    HES A GOOSE, WHAT DO YOU EXPECT!

  33. 34 Jaime March 20, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    The Dr. Suess book was “Oh the Places You Will Go”

  34. 35 danielleia March 20, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    HAHA! Dr. Seuss is fun to read to little kids! Where were theses things when I was little? Couldn’t Peca or the Dominator come read to us? Honk!

    I remember they kept showing that flour fight on ch. 2 news. It was so cute.

  35. 36 danielleia March 20, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    these… theses…

  36. 37 Shari March 20, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    GAMBLER, I’m so glad YOU got to see this game! Not Kate. But I’m glad Kate got to see the game also. I was just so damn fired up I screwed the name up! Hanging my head….Shari

  37. 38 Anne March 20, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    But there was no Teppo! Shouldn’t he have benn there? I was looking forward to seeing him:(

    Teppo’s doing training camp style physical testing at HSBC Arena today. That’s why he wasn’t at the Pepsi Center. He’ll have on ice testing tomorrow and after that they’ll evaluate. He’s not in game condition. Any exercise other than skating is not going to prep you for a hockey game. If he does come back for the regular season, I’d be shocked it if was before the first week in April.

  38. 39 Katebits March 20, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    HAHAHAH! Goose and his inability to read Dr. Seuss is HILARIOUS!

  39. 40 Mary March 22, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    So I hope you’re not like, freaked out about this, ‘specially since I’ve never commented before… but I love your blog. Everything that you write is just so funny!

    So awesome blog and even awesomer post. The multicolored letters at the end add a special touch.

  40. 41 Katebits March 22, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    Aww, I’m not freaked out at all Mary! Flattery gets you everywhere with me. :D Thanks so much for your comment- it made my day!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


