Out of Control

Thankfully, I have dinner plans tonight and I will not be able to watch the hockey games. The Sabres are not in control of their own destiny, and scoreboard watching is just not for me. Don’t get me wrong, I would definitely be watching the hockey tonight if I hadn’t already made plans, but I am not sorry I’ll be missing the games.

As torturous as this last stretch has been, I’m getting a kick out of our extended “not quite dead yet” playoff push. According to Sports Club Stats the chances of the Sabres making the playoffs went from 1.9% to 3% after their win against the Leafs last night. Those numbers are so small that I’ve come to find them amusing, if not actually comforting.

I want the Sabres to make the playoffs, but I made my peace with the situation last week after they blew their lead to Ottawa. Everything since then has had an air of unreality. This last gasp of life feels like a silly gag-gift from the Hockey Gods. Truthfully, I’ve been enjoying the Sabres a lot more since I gave up on them last week.

So, without further ado: Go Devils! Go Pens!

I’ll be home in a few hours to survey the damage.

Let’s Go Buff-a-lo!

Update:

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!

HA! The Bruins took it to a shootout. (I think the loser point makes that bad news, but whatevs.)

HOW DOES IT FEEL TO WATCH THAT SABRES? NOT GOOD, HUH?!

Hee.

12 Responses to “Out of Control”


  1. 1 Jaime April 3, 2008 at 6:45 am

    We are now up to a 3.9% chance of making the play-offs! WOOO?

  2. 2 Jennfer April 3, 2008 at 7:31 am

    This is the mental message that I am sending to the boys all day today:

    OK Sabres, your die hard fans have cheered for you, even when you may not have deserved it; they have defended you to those who thought you would crumble without Drury & Briere; they have believed in you, even when you didn’t believe in yourself; they have and will cheer for teams that they have never cheered for before and don’t really like, just to try to ensure you a playoff spot.

    Please don’t fuck it up.

  3. 3 jonhoepfinger April 3, 2008 at 9:12 am

    Say what you will, but this has made me more interested in hockey in general compared to last year, where after the Trade deadline, I barely cared till the playoffs.

    Unfortunately so did the Sabres and they played lazy through the entire ’07 playoffs.

  4. 4 kathee April 3, 2008 at 11:13 am

    I didn’t get to watch any hockey last night, either, and I actually wasn’t cranky. Coincidence?

  5. 5 mcguffers April 3, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    Note to Big Bear: Goose likes to win the faceoffs in the offensive zone, then made a quick pass to the front of the net for a “Omigod that was freaking beautiful” goal. It’s his thing. Just go with it. Take the pass and score. He gave you two opportunities against Toronto. Either take the pass and score or tell Lindy to put my favorite line back together so Pommers can do it.

  6. 6 Jennfer April 3, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    You tell ’em, mcguffers. If they had been listening to us the entire season, they wouldn’t be in the mess they are now and we could just sit back and wait for the playoffs.

  7. 7 Anne April 3, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    I think the Sabres should be coached by the Greater Buffalo Community + fans that have relocated. Think of the greatness! That or mass confusion! Either way, the games would be infinitely more entertaining.

  8. 8 Shari April 3, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    Really! We should be getting paid.

  9. 9 mcguffers April 3, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    I completely agree. I think we’ve all provided much better suggestions than any “professionally trained” coaching staff could. Like this one: don’t turn over the puck and allow the other team to score. Try that. It could work.

    by the way, I love Lindy Ruff and freely admit I couldn’t coach a sixth grade dodge ball team :)

  10. 10 Gambler April 3, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    Those numbers are so small that I’ve come to find them amusing, if not actually comforting.

    Every time I see those percentages I can’t help but think that that’s only a 3.9% greater chance than I have of making the playoffs. It’s hard to be optimistic about that kind of number.

    Still, it ain’t over till it’s over, I guess. Go Sabres!

  11. 11 DS April 3, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    Hey, I have to add in a reciprocal (let’s) GOOOOOOOOOOOO BUFFALO! BUFFALO MONTREAL! ;)


  1. 1 Hooray! « The Willful Caboose Trackback on April 4, 2009 at 11:40 am

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


