Thumbs Uo, Thumbs Down

Thumbs Uo: Um, you guys. The Stanley Cup Playoffs ROCK. Last year, when I started watching hockey during the playoffs, I took a lot of the uniquely “playoffish” aspects of the situation for granted. Then, once the season started, I forgot about all those things. These are my first playoffs as a real fan and I have to say, I am PRO playoffs. Very pro.

Thumbs Down: My work schedule has been all wacky this week and I’ve been working evenings. I haven’t been able to watch any EC games. BOO! Right now, I’m so into this that if I could just clear my schedule and do nothing but watch playoff hockey, I would. Sadly, I need to work so that I can pay for Center Ice, and keep my cupboards stocked with Pirate’s Booty.

Thumbs Uo: My mother. On Wednesday, I settled down in front of the Wild game, determined to get to know and to fall in love with my Minnesota team. Just as I was getting the remote, the computer, and the Booty all conveniently arranged, the phone rang. It was my mother, Lois, calling to make sure I was watching the Wild, and to tell me that she was watching too. This is a DELIGHTFUL development, guys. As far as I know my mother had never watched a single hockey game before. The image of her knitting along with the Wild game is infinitely amusing and adorable. Anyway, that game turned out to KICK ASS, so Lois and I spent the evening calling each other at each exciting twist and turn. I was very impressed with her ability to get swept up in a game that she knew nothing about. That Lois,….she’s a keeper.

Thumbs Uo: The Minnesota Wild. Yeah, they lost that game. Yeah, all of their defensemen are injured. (As a Sabres fan, injured defensemen are pretty much par for the course, so this is familiar territory.) The thing is, I’m a Minnesotan. For real. It’s in my blood, it’s in my heart, and it’s in my speech patterns. I just LOVED watching the Xcel Center erupt during the third period of game one. I have often considered how odd it is that I didn’t discover hockey until after I moved away from Minnesota, but I really appreciate how hockey is creating a new connection back to my roots. So, I am cheering FULL BLAST for the Wild now.

Thumbs Down: The Caps/Flyers series. I’m just not into this one.

Thumbs Uo: Listen, I don’t want Brian Campbell to fall apart, but I DO want to stop reading all about how he’s the second coming of Jesus in the Sharks media/blogs. Honestly, we Buffalo fans aren’t totally stupid. There’s a reason we bid Soupy a fond adieu with uncharacteristic grace. That reason was perfectly encapsulated by Soupy’s redonkulously bad play against Iginla the other night. Soupy is awesome until he his so bad you want to claw your eyes out. Anyone who wants to sign him to their team but fails to understand his “awesome until hideous” MO is setting themselves up for disaster.

Thumb down: Sabres press conferences. I didn’t see the press conference because I was working, and I didn’t hear the gang on Schopp and the Bulldog because I was napping, but what I have gathered from the interwebs is that the press conference went something like this:

Larry Quinn: The sky is blue.
Darcy Regier: Grass is green.
Larry: Money is also green.
Lindy Ruff: Some of our players didn’t play well this year. Also, water is wet.
Darcy Regier: Wet water has been identified as a major goal of the organization moving forward.
Larry Quinn: It’s true. Wet water is a key part of the core.

(some dude passes out)

Bucky Gleason: WET WATER WOULD HAVE BEEN AVAILABLE FOR 5 FOR 25 FOUR MONTHS AGO!
Larry Quinn: Mistakes were made.
Darcy Regier: Puppies are wicked cute.

(End Scene)

Are hockey teams legally obligated to call a press conference and state the obvious periodically?

Thumbs Uo: Spring, glorious spring! Yesterday I was sitting on Elmwood Ave, watching the world walk by and yammering on my phone, when the slow flow of traffic stopped a car containing one Mike Ryan (Buffalo Sabre) right in front of me. While continuing to talk on the phone, I waved and he politely waved back, and then he drove away. It was so totally random and amusing. This really has nothing to do with Mike Ryan, but I love how Elmwood Ave bustles during the spring.

Thumbs Down: No Sabres in the play-offs. I’m still not over it.

Thumbs Uo: No Sabres in the playoffs. It’s so much less stressfull this way.

12 Responses to “Thumbs Uo, Thumbs Down”


  1. 1 Pookie April 11, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    That recreation of the press conference was perfect. I think that’s how pretty much every sports press conference in history has gone down with the notable exception of “we couldn’t do diddly-pooh” and “we play to win the game! Hello!” That’s another reason I love the Devils. When Julien was fired with 3 games left, I don’t think Lou held a press conference. I think he just left a note pinned to the podium that said, “Water.” Not even “Water is wet”.

  2. 2 jonhoepfinger April 11, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    I’m thinking that Mike Ryan was waving at you, since he recognized it was Kate from the Willful Caboose.

    Because what else would he read, when hes sitting in the press box for games on end.

  3. 3 Kathee April 11, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    I want Mike Ryan to wave to me, too. Kate, can I be your shadow for a few months? I promise not to interrupt you when you are practicing the viola, and I will keep your cupboard full of Booty. :)

  4. 4 Schnookie April 11, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    That’s so awesome about Lois! I have it on good authority that the adult mother/daughter combos who watch hockey together stay together. :D

    I love this post. LOVE IT. You’ve made me feel all playoffy and springy and laughing-at-inane-NHL-press-conferencesy!

  5. 5 Anne April 11, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    I loved the section on Elmwood Avenue, you see countless Buffalo celebs down there. Sabres, Bills, TV News personalities, the lady that stands on the corner and screams…

    Also, my mom is waaaaayyy more into hockey this season and I love it, she now exclusively refers to Pominville as Pommerdoodle and she was as incensed as I was last night when Wegmans didn’t have Breakaway Berrier. Moms are totally awesome.

  6. 6 Jaime April 11, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    Darcy Regier: Puppies are wicked cute.

    I love that Darcy now seems to be using some Boston-type slang. Was that in honor of Mike Ryan waving to you since he does just so happen to be an honest-to-goodness Bostonian?

    As for the playoffs, I tried to watch a few games but just caouldn’t feel any kind of passion for it. I guess that I’m just a one man er… team kind of girl. Maybe I’ll need a major hockey fix around finals time and watch then.

  7. 7 Katie April 11, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    I literally laughed so hard I snorted at your re-created press conference, Katebits (thank God no one but my mom was there to hear it)! Why can I totally picture Bucky having a spasm where he just randomly starts shouting “5 FOR 25!!” at the top of his lungs…

    And I’m so glad to hear about your Lois story! My mom is the reason I got into hockey; she’s been a fan since the French Connection days. She has the best stories about going to Montreal for playoff games and stuff like that. This season, she kept saying how she wants to feed Ryan Miller becuase he’s “just too skinny.” She talks about all of them like they’re her kids.

    I’m very jealous about your Mike Ryan experience. Looks like I need to head down to Elmwood!

  8. 8 Shari April 11, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    Cannot watch hockey with my mother.

    Me: Skate, skate, skate!!!
    Mom: Ew. Why do they have to spit all the time?
    Me: (rolling eyes)OH! He almost scored!!
    Mom: Doesn’t he look like he has something wrong with his eyes??
    And why does he always have to tuck in his jersey? Is he trying to show off how slim he is?
    Me: (Oh, here we go) Lot’s of players tuck Mom.
    Mom: Why are they waisting so much time? Why don’t they score instead of shooting the puck all the way down the ice.
    Me: Cos they’re on a power play, let the other team skate way down there and get the puck.
    Mom: What’s wrong with his nose? He’s ugly.
    My son: Your moms ugly.
    No, Grandma’s not really ugly, but you get the picture.

  9. 9 Jaime April 11, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    Shari- that’s so funny! I don’t watch hockey with my mom because she was hit with a puck in the throat when she was in high school and dating a hockey player. She has to tell me that story every tine a game is on.

    She also won’t roller skate because a girl in her Brownie troupe died while roller skating in front of her. These are the horror stories that my mother feels the need to tell me whne I’m trying to enjoy something! (My mom really is great and awesome but really she has some really nasty stories!)

  10. 10 Danielleia April 11, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    I’ve never heard of “Pirate’s Booty” before. Thats great! But, Darcy’s right, puppies are cute.

  11. 11 CrotchetyOriginalSam April 11, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    The only thing wrong with this post is the celebration of springtime. It’s been raining, sleeting, and snowing in Minnesota since yesterday, and Duluth is experiencing something called a “frozen hurricane.”

    Also, it would be such a tragedy if Joe Sakic and Peter Forsberg were to get lost in the blizzard on the way to the rink tonight and “accidentally” fall off the St. Paul High Bridge. Ahem.

  12. 12 Amy April 11, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    Because what else would he read, when hes sitting in the press box for games on end.

    Little do we know that Mike Ryan has been preparing “The Complete Guide to the Sabres Blogosphere” for the Sabres PR department.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


