Crunchy’s Awesome Blog

I’m sure most of you know that Crunchy has his very own blog over at Maxim. I’ll admit then when I first heard about the blog I was mildly annoyed, because Ryan Miller is clearly trying to steal my thunder. I mean, first he shows up to play a concert with the BPO, and then he starts a blog? Is he going all Single White Goalie on me? BUT, once I got over feeling threatened, I realized that Crunchy is writing a pretty darn interesting blog. Leave it to Ryan Miller to pen a totally earnest and charmingly revealing blog….for Maxim. When Maxim asked him to do this they were probably like, “Hey! Why don’t you write about your wacky exploits as a rich, single, professional athlete?”, and then Crunchy was like, “Sure. I actually have some feelings about the season I still need to work out. This will give me an excellent opportunity to communicate with my fans on my terms. I just want to be the best off-season blogger I can be.” (Or perhaps I’m reading too much into things….but I think that’s highly unlikely. When have I ever over-thought something Sabres related?)

Here are my favorite things he’s written so far:

(about the tradition of shaking hands at the end of a playoff series):

There are some players you want to beat because it is a great challenge… And there are others that you think “I can’t wait to shake his hand after I beat him.” And there is no classier way to boast than smiling and shaking their hand and skating off to the next round. Simple and effective…

(about cheering for his friends on other teams):

I want them to have success and when they play me I want them to have a good showing… But no points or wins to show for it.

I love how honest he is about his borderline nutso competitiveness, and I love how he totally admits that he wants his friends to have success….but not actual success. You really have to love Ryan Miller.

Thanks for writing such an awesome blog, Crunchy!

12 Responses to “Crunchy’s Awesome Blog”


  1. 1 Schnookie April 19, 2008 at 12:01 am

    Is he going all Single White Goalie on me?

    :^:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

    I have found Crunchy’s blog to be one of the shining beacons of this playoffs’ blogosphere. He’s just so slyly snarky and hilarious, yet also droningly boring and earnest. It just… Crunchy!

  2. 2 Pookie April 19, 2008 at 8:12 am

    When have I ever over-thought something Sabres related?

    Never! That’s when!

    I love Crunchy’s blog so much, but it’s no TWC. Now, if he tries out a pedometer for a day or starts writing “Crunchy’s Favorite Sabre”…

  3. 3 Amy April 19, 2008 at 8:35 am

    When have I ever over-thought something Sabres related?

    Never!

    “Crunchy’s Favorite Sabre”

    That sounds like a reality show in the making.

  4. 4 danielleia April 19, 2008 at 9:37 am

    “I just want to be the best off-season blogger I can be.”

    That’s what I read. Maxim and hockey blogging, who would have thought?

  5. 5 elise April 19, 2008 at 11:43 am

    why has Crunchy not yet posted on your blog?

  6. 6 Katie April 19, 2008 at 11:54 am

    “That sounds like a reality show in the making.”

    I think we would all totally watch that!!

    I love how honest he is about his borderline nutso competitiveness

    No one can accuse Crunchy of being anything but honest…and I think that’s part of the reason we all love him (and why he makes such a good little blogger!!)

  7. 7 Heather B. April 19, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    I’m curious to how Ryan judges success when victories and points aren’t involved. They didn’t hurt themselves? They’re not embarrassed at the end of the game?

  8. 8 JBo April 19, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    Is he going all Single White Goalie on me?

    Oh, hon. Did you not read that heartbreaking line of his? The first line of his posting titled “Playoffs Week 2: Avery’s Antics and a Childhood Hero”?

    “I am currently in Chicago visiting my girlfriend…”

    *sniffle*

  9. 9 Erin April 20, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    Can I totally brag that it was my question about who he would root for that caused him to make the comment regarding giving up no points and no wins. So I think it’s offical that Ryan Miller and I are BFFs. Total BFFs.

  10. 10 Katebits April 20, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    Erin, Crunchy’s response to your question might as well have been a marriage proposal. :P

  11. 11 Erin April 20, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    Katebits, good point, I almost missed the hidden meaning in his answer. I’m already married, but I find no reason not to accept his proposal. I’m thinking the Pepsi Arena for the ceremony. I’ve got to run and call a caterer.

  12. 12 JBo April 21, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    That sounds great, Erin! And afterwards you can have the reception at the arena.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


