3 Things

1. Now that the Rangers and the Sharks are gone, watching hockey is purely enjoyable again. I can’t get too worked up hating the Flyers. It helps that there is (thus far) no need to get too worked up over the Flyers. It is highly possible that I am going to truly like both teams in the Finals. How odd!

2. Witness the amazing power of the playoff beard:

Max Talbot without playoff beard = funny kid.
Max Talbot with playoff beard = funny mountain man.
funny mountain man = dreamboat

Max Talbot's Awesome Playoff Beard

It’s a powerful equation, no?

3. I saw this clip on Slap Shot today and had a good giggle. This is a Finnish announcer named Antero Mertaranta. There are a few notable things about this clip. First of all, Finnish does not sound anything like the Swedish Chef, so I have been grossly misinformed for YEARS about that, and second of all, it’s so awesome how you don’t need to understand what he’s saying to understand what he’s saying. (Whoa, deep.) This clip makes me wish I could somehow unlearn English and listen to Rick Jeanneret call a game.

9 Responses to “3 Things”


  1. 1 Shari May 12, 2008 at 8:35 am

    Wow! I never thought any announcer could be more hyper than Rick! So Kate, I clicked on the picture of Max Talbot up above, because he is pretty dreamy, and it took me to all your pics. So I started snooping through all of them. There’s one with you and 3 other girls against a grey background. I’m assuming that’s you on the end, with the shorter curly hair version of you? I think it’s called Smily? Or Smiley Claras? Anyway, I just think that’s a really nice picture! : )

  2. 2 Caitlin May 12, 2008 at 10:08 am

    Finnish hockey announcers are fantastic! I love listening to them even though I have NO idea what they’re saying. In fact, in NHL ’08 (or is it 2K8? I think it’s ’08) you can play as Finnish SM-Liiga teams in Finnish arenas with Finnish announcers calling the game.

    Best. Ever.

  3. 3 blitzen May 12, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    1. I’m cheering for the Penguins but am not making a point of scheduling my life around NHL hockey anymore. I’m still grumpy about the Sens.

    2. Yum.

    3. Quite the enthusiastic announcer. But what I found more interesting is the existance of an entire blog from the NY Times devoted to hockey – including the CHL. BTW, your Sabres prospect Paul Byron and his Gatineau Olympiques are off to the Memorial Cup starting next Friday. The Mem Cup is the biggie in Major Junior Hockey. The spousal unit and I are heading to Kitchener on Friday to take in the entire 10-day tournament (and some golf – to keep same said spousal unit happy). We’ll be cheering for the ‘Piques as they are pretty much local (just across the river). Our Ottawa team didn’t make it out of the first round. So I stil get to see some great, live, playoff hockey!! Yay!!

  4. 4 Steph May 12, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    Caitlin, in NHL07 you can play in the Czech leagues and they call the goals and whatnot in Czech, so my guess would be 08….not that, you know, this is a matter of much importance :P

    Katebits, I think that picture has revitalized my liking of the Penguins.

  5. 5 Heather B. May 12, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    Oooh, Blitzen have fun! Paul Byron was at training camp for a few days last summer and Kate and I originally thought he was someone’s son because he was so teeny tiny and baby-faced. Go, Paul, go!

  6. 6 Katebits May 12, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    That little guy was Paul Byron? Blitzen we were absolutely fascinated by him! Have fun at the tournament and say hello to Paul for us! :D

  7. 7 danielleia May 12, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    Live playoff hockey, without spending a bazillion bucks, right blitzen?

    Max T. is so funny! And he does look like a mountain man!

  8. 8 Matt May 15, 2008 at 3:43 am

    I sit down to watch that clip and listening to some dude get that excited about a goal made the hair on my head, neck and arms stand straight up. I guess I had forgotten how much I miss RJ. Doc and Chico just don’t do it the same here….

  9. 9 Jesse October 29, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    Go watch some of the highlights in youtube (USA-Suomi / USA-Finland 2008) :) Or just youtube “antero mertaranta” (thats his name). He is the one person on earth that can make javelin throw exciting.. I haf proof ! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VFSKQ5-ON24


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


