Crunchies

The Conference Finals aren’t really capturing my fancy, and I’m having a difficult time thinking of things to blog about these days. While staring at my blank computer screen, desperate for blogging inspiration, I remembered the present that my dear friend Glenn gave me a few weeks ago…..

Yes, it’s true. Crunchies are not just NHL goalies, they are also a snack food.

If you’ve ever thought to yourself, “I like blueberries, but I wish they were bone dry, and a lot less sweet,” then Crunchies are the snack food for you! I myself do not really care for Crunchies (the snack food, not the goalie), but I’ve had this bag loving displayed on my mantle since Glenn gave them to me in honor of Crunchy (the goalie, not the snack food).

Now that I think about it, Crunchies (the snack food) are the perfect food representation of Crunchy (the goalie). “Bone dry ” kind of describes Crunchy (the goalie) to a T. Oh, Crunchy wants us to believe he’s rich, dark chocolate ice cream with delicate raspberry swirls, but we all know he’s really a dried-up blueberry, and frankly, that’s why we love him.

Supplemental heads up: Crunchies (the snack food) stain your fingers purple.

Thanks for the Crunchies, Glenn!

13 Responses to “Crunchies”


  1. 1 Schnookie May 15, 2008 at 9:37 am

    OH MY GOD! My grocery store has Crunchies tropical mix, with dried bananas and crap in it, and I’ve been hemming and hawing for OVER A YEAR about buying a bag just to put a picture on IPB! But I’ve always been like, “That’s a lot of money for something I won’t eat.” If I’d known Crunchy made dried blueberries, I would totally have been all over this! Dammit, you beat me to it! :P

  2. 2 Pookie May 15, 2008 at 9:56 am

    So what you’re saying is, if I pick some of the blueberries I grow this year and leave them on the hot driveway in the August NJ sun for a long time, I can create my own awesome Crunchy goaltender?! SWEET! Or rather, UNSWEET AND BONE-DRY!

  3. 3 Katebits May 15, 2008 at 10:11 am

    Or rather, UNSWEET AND BONE-DRY!

    :^::::::::::::::::::

    These things are pretty unpalatable, which just make SO much sense.

    The spelling of “Crunchies” has causes me to wonder if the plural of “Crunchy” (the goaltender)is C-R-U-N-C-H-I-E-S. I realize there aren’t many situations in which you would need a spelling for multiple Ryan Millers, but still I’m curious. Maybe it’s like “mouse” and it becomes something totally different when there are more than one….like “Crinch”. You could say, “I went into the Sabres lockerroom and I saw a Pommerdoodle and a couple of Crinch.” Of course all this has me marveling at the mere THOUGHT of being in the same room as multiple Crinch. Can you IMAGINE if there were TWO Crunchys?!

  4. 4 Schnookie May 15, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    Of course all this has me marveling at the mere THOUGHT of being in the same room as multiple Crinch.

    :^:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

    That is SO many more Crinch than I think I could handle. AT LEAST 1 1/2 more.

  5. 5 Jennfer May 15, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    Can you IMAGINE if there were TWO Crunchys?!

    I think I just lost all brain function for a little while there, just trying to imagine that….. and I can’t. SCARY!!!

  6. 6 Amy May 15, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    Can you IMAGINE if there were TWO Crunchys?!

    That has soap opera written all over it, since you know they would have to be good Crunchy and evil Crunchy.

  7. 7 Katebits May 15, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    Yes, but is our Crunchy the good or the evil one? I mean, does the real Crunchy have a good twin?…or an evil twin? It’s hard to say…

  8. 8 Kris May 15, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    a handfull of crunchies are good, but even more delicious, a serving of Gustados! http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g191/hairdeity/223710384_747143672_0.jpg

  9. 9 Katebits May 15, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    Kris, AAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

    I should have known that Goose would be a more fattening and delicious snack.

  10. 10 blitzen May 15, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    Well, I understand that the NHL network will be carrying the Memorial Cup games. Maybe you might catch some of the games and watch Buffalo prospect Paul Bryon play. The Gatineau Olympiques play host Kitchener Rangers at 7:00 tomorrow night.

  11. 11 danielleia May 15, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    When I come to your blog, I feel like I’m entering a new country. I’ve never seen so many new foods. I love this. It’s like a taste test potluck blog.

  12. 12 CrotchetyOriginalSam May 15, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Can you IMAGINE if there were TWO Crunchys?!

    If there were, they could face off in next year’s version of the NHL’s “yo momma’s so ugly” ad…

  13. 13 Shari May 16, 2008 at 9:03 am

    Food with fruit scares me. Like jello with fruit, it’s like something out of a horror flick, I expect it to attack me like the blob. Or chocolate with fruit inside, which is just wrong! I feel like blobby today. I ate two hot dogs with everything last night. I am the swollen, sodium queen this morning!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


