House Hunting With TWC

You may have noticed that things have slowed down a bit around here in the last few days. This is because TWC is in the process of searching for a new evil lair house. This will be my first go at home buying, so I’m being all antsy and ridiculously enthusiastic. Hopefully I’ll either find my dream lair soon, or I’ll chill out so that I can concentrate on other things, because right now the searching is taking up most of my mental energy. (You may have already noted that I have a small mental capacity.)

Anyhoo, this is a super long shot, but I thought it wouldn’t hurt to toss it out there:

If you, or someone you know is thinking about selling a home, please call me before you call a real estate agent! I am looking for a house south of Forest Ave, and north of Edwards. I am not afraid of the west side of Richmond, but I am afraid of the east side of Main. I don’t have a ton of money, and I’m looking for something smallish. My dream is to nab a cute little carriage house somewhere, but if I have to buy a double and be someone’s lazy landlord, then so be it. I’m willing to do a lot of back breaking cosmetic labor, but I’m not too into projects like new roofs or pipes. If you or someone you loved foolishly glued linoleum to hard wood floors, I’m willing to forgive you long enough to buy your house, but if you or someone you loved didn’t do basic upkeep on your house and now it’s a falling down pile of poo, then it’s not the house for me. Basically, I don’t want to have to build my own house.

Do you have a carriage house? Don’t you think it would be fun to have me living in your back yard?

I realize that historically, very few people have found their dream lair via their Sabres blog, but very few people even have Sabres blogs, so I hardly think this is a fair sample size. I predict that in the future people will be starting Sabres blogs with the soul purpose of eventually using it as a vehicle for locating their dream lair home.

The TWC reader who provides the tip that leads to the purchase of my lair will receive my undying devotion and a bundle of cash and prizes to be determined later.

25 Responses to “House Hunting With TWC”


  1. 1 Jennfer June 2, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    I predict that in the future people will be starting Sabres blogs with the soul purpose of eventually using it as a vehicle for locating their dream lair home.

    What better place to start than with your loyal readers who know and love you so dearly. (Sorry, I can’t help unless you are interested in moving to Virginia.)

  2. 2 Katebits June 2, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    Hm. Virgina is slightly south the the area I was hoping to buy, but thanks for your encouragement, Jennfer!

  3. 3 Erin June 2, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    Move to Rochester! The cutest house went up for sale, right next to mine. Neighbors!!

    Actually, I looked a a kind of funky but cute carriage house in Buffalo a few months ago. I’ll try and find my info on it, it could still be available.

  4. 4 kevin June 2, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    Wait you WANT to buy a house in Buffalo? Do you ever want to be able to resell it?

  5. 5 Shari June 2, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    Um…I have a Duro shed in my back yard and an about 3 miles of open field. OH, and a fire pit too! It took us 5 years to find our tiny palace. We used go by falling down barns and say, “Look, there’s a house we can afford!” For your own sanity, Do not become a landlord! Before you know it, Blobby will be back with all kinds of riff raff and the cops will be around all the time…not worth the hassle. Seriously, take your time (not 5 years), and watch out for the joints that are haunted!

  6. 6 Katebits June 2, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    Erin, sadly Rochester is slightly east of my target area. :P

    Kevin, I’m a pretty devoted spinster here, so no, I doubt I’ll ever need to sell my house. I’ll just live there for a few decades, die in my lazy boy, and let the stray cats nibble on my decomposing body for a few days before the state of New York has to deal with reselling the house.

  7. 7 Meg June 2, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    Good luck, Kate! Sounds exciting!

  8. 8 Katebits June 2, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    But Shari, if I buy a double the thing will basically pay for itself. It’s very appealing in that regard. I’m not dying to be a landlord, but I kind of love the idea of my mortgage being paid by someone else.

  9. 10 karen June 2, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    If I was still in WNY, I would sell you my Carriage House. Sadly, I’m in NJ (which should be outside everyone’s search area) and I’m pretty sure the outbuilding we have here should more lovingly be termed a “Potting Shed” than a “Carriage House”. Good luck, though! Maybe you can roll the price of season tickets into your mortgage?

  10. 11 Erin June 2, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    Kate, if you jump on it, I’ll bet you could pick up Brian Campbell’s old pad. You’d have to brush the red hairs off of stuff and ummm…..probably sanitize, but hey!

  11. 12 Amanda June 2, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    Kate, I know a bunch of people who live in that area. I’ll ask around and see if any of them know of any good buys. Did you call that real estate agent I e-mailed you about?

    Looking for a house is fun, but mentally exhausting. We ended up building after looking at about 75 existing houses, all of which my hubby found fault with.

  12. 13 Katebits June 2, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    Amanda, I didn’t get your email, but I do have a real estate agent that I really like already. Let me know if any of your friends find my dream lair! :D

  13. 14 Amy June 2, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    Good luck with the house hunting, Kate!

  14. 15 Mary June 2, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    I know someone who actually lives in a carriage house somewhere in Buffalo, and it’s pretty nice too. Unfortunately for you, they’re still there. :(

    Hope you find something!

  15. 16 Kate E. June 2, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    Come and live in Allentown. We are keeping an eye out over here.

  16. 17 blitzen June 2, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    good luck kate. i will await my invite to the open house and bring real maple syrup as my canadian house warming gift. oh – and a plant too.

  17. 18 SlugLuva June 2, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    Hey! Expand that search area a “tiny” bit and Daniel Briere’s old pad in East Amherst could be all yours! We’d be like neighbors! I realize that it is just a “tad” bigger than a carriage house….but think of all of the cats you could “rescue”!!
    The MLS Number: 289350

    If you decide to go North….I can TOTALLY imagine you here! MLS Number: 289350

    MLS Number: 313224 is on a great little street….wonder why it’s so cheap?

    BTW…Guess what I used to do for a living?

  18. 19 Schnookie June 3, 2008 at 1:26 am

    You know, Katebits, Stately IPB Manor’s detached garage could EASILY be converted into a carriage house. And we already have stray cats. Just sayin’.

  19. 20 danielleia June 3, 2008 at 1:32 am

    Good Luck with the evil lair hunting! If it doesn’t work out, your welcome to sleep on my couch.

  20. 21 Katebits June 3, 2008 at 2:11 am

    I am too exhausted right now (it’s 2 in the morning) to reply to all these well wishes and tips, but before I drift off to sleep, I want to say THANK YOU to everyone! I’m so glad I mentioned the lair hunt!

  21. 22 Pookie June 3, 2008 at 10:35 am

    You know, Katebits, Stately IPB Manor’s detached garage could EASILY be converted into a carriage house.

    Great point! You could get Center Ice and still follow the Sabres! The commute to the BPO might be tough, though.

  22. 23 Matt June 3, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    …The commute to the BPO might be tough, though….

    Who needs the BPO when you have Center Ice, reportdly-accomplished chefs as landlords and the great state of NJ?

  23. 24 kitten June 5, 2008 at 10:29 am

    Love this blog. You provide me with hours of amusement so I will pass onto you what I learned as a first time homebuyer.

    1. Educate yourself. Read every website and book about homebuying that you can.

    2. City and County tax offices have wealth of knowledge about the assessed values of properties and sales in the area you are looking into. Sometimes the public library will have this too.

    3. Don’t skip the inspection.

    4. If you are a first time buyer FHA loans are a great deal. Lots of paperwork to do though.

    Sorry, I can’t help myself, I’m a librarian and information spouting is an occupational hazard and real estate is one of my many hobbies.

    Good luck and enjoy the off season!

  24. 25 Katebits June 6, 2008 at 11:53 am

    Thanks for the sage advice, kitten!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


