3 Things

1. Darcy Regier is on a prospect-signing bender right now. Here’s the new kid:

He appears to be Swedish.

Now that I know a bunch of future Sabres by name, I’m a little sad that the AHL team won’t be in Rochester next season. I kept meaning to go see an Amerks game, but I just never got around to making the trek this year. Now that they are out of reach (most likely in Maine), I want to see the AHL team more than I’ve ever wanted anything. Ever. I blew it with the Amerks! I played too hard to get, and now they’ve moved on to greener pastures.

2. Tiger Woods hates hockey. When asked who he’s cheering for in the Stanley Cup Finals, he said:

“I don’t really care. It’s all about the Dodgers. I don’t think anyone really watches hockey anymore.”

When asked about golf, Katebits said:

“I’d rather be repeatedly run over by Marshawn Lynch’s car than watch televised golf.”

3. I have been searching for a house to buy for two whole days, and I STILL don’t have an evil lair. I know! It’s an outrage!

11 Responses to “3 Things”


  1. 1 Steph June 3, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    I have been reading your blogs for a long time now and felt the need to compliment your artistic style and usually very amusing posts! The wide aray of topics and insight are to be commended and I thoroughly enjoy reading everything on your site. I hope this doesn’t sound sarcastic, because I really don’t mean it to. I look forward to checking what’s new, as a fellow WordPress blogger (only by force of my English teacher – she wanted to explore the technological side of learning…I’m pretty sure we’ve never done it and my friends and I just post random stuff for fun!) Anywhooo, I would like to recommend that you dedicate a post to Luc Bourdon (http://www.canada.com/theprovince/story.html?id=ca01a4c0-3eca-43f0-bcfd-c287c94fcc47 , http://www.hockey.com/hockey-blogs/nhl-news/1117-luc-bourdon-death-hitting-best-friend-letang-hard.aspx) I just thought this might be something you may want to comment on, as it is a huge part of the hockey world right now. As a fellow sabres fanatic (<3 #38), I would like to encourage you to keep up the good work! :-)

  2. 2 Katebits June 3, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    Thanks for your super nice comment, Steph! (I think blogging is ALL about posting random stuff for fun!)

    You know, I gave some serious thought to doing a post about Luc Bourdon, but in the end I felt like I wanted to leave the tributes to those who knew him best, both as a player and as a person. It sounds like he was a great kid. What a horrible tragedy.

  3. 3 Mary June 3, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    The Amerks were fun to watch, even though the game I went to was pretty bad. It’ll probably be the only time I’ll get right against the glass at a hockey game! Oh well, yay for more prospects!

    “I would rather be repeatedly run over by Marshawn Lynch’s car than watch televised golf.”

    I think that’s the best currently relevant comeback, so I’m not even going try. :D

    Oh, and did you hear that Darcy says no offer for ‘Tri? I guess him and Max are practically BFFz and Max isn’t happy… and the offseason unfolds!

  4. 4 Shari June 3, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    Mary…Where did you hear Max wasn’t happy? They haven’t said to much more about his possible trade. I imagine he probably wouldn’t be to happy about it! I know people are frustrated with him but I’d miss him!

  5. 5 KevinP June 3, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Someone’s blog got a mention on Mike Schopp’s show today…

  6. 6 Mary June 3, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    Shari, evidently Max and ‘Tri have been together since Amerks days and have a close relationship… and I guess for some reason it’s not sitting well with him. Though I thought Max knows about the possibility of a trade and also maybe even both of them being gone, so I don’t even know!!

  7. 7 Katie June 3, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    “I’d rather be repeatedly run over by Marshawn Lynch’s car than watch televised golf.”

    This may be the best comeback ever! Someone should tell him that at least hockey is exciting to watch.

    evidently Max and ‘Tri have been together since Amerks days and have a close relationship…

    So Max and ‘Tri are the Russian equivalent of Goose and Pommer! I feel a soap opera unfolding…”These are the Days of our Sabres…”

  8. 8 Anne June 4, 2008 at 10:16 am

    Dear Golf,

    I love all the prime-time programming time you ge-….ohhhhhhhhhhh wait. That’s right, you get Sunday mornings and compete for ratings with “Victory Gardens”, infomercials for orthopedic shoes, movies that bombed in 1989 but for some reason have to be shown on TV, and televised mass. Congratulations.

    Love,
    Anne

  9. 9 jonhoepfinger June 4, 2008 at 10:30 am

    Kate, your picture comments always crack me up.

  10. 10 Amy June 4, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    So Max and ‘Tri are the Russian equivalent of Goose and Pommer!

    Only with 100% more vodka consumption.

  11. 11 Shari June 4, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    Days of our Sabres, I love that!
    Mary, that is so sad and I’d hate to see Max leave. I feel like one of my babys is leaving home! It’s been the begining of the end of this Sabres team. Sniff, sniff.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


