Slightly Torn

I’m a little torn about the game tonight.  On the one hand, I want to extend the season, and I want the NHL to squeeze every ounce of excitement it can out of this series.  I’ve been pretty amazed at how many non-hockey fans have brought up game 5 in conversation with me since Monday.  My mother mentioned it on the phone today.  Lois doesn’t watch hockey!…and yet, apparently she does, at least enough to get the gist of the excitement of game 5.  It’s fun to see hockey in the spotlight, and I believe a game seven would be great for the league.

On the other hand, I have to work on Saturday night.  I really, really want to see the Cup celebration, and in order for that to happen, it has to happen tonight.  I’ve been cheering for the Wings this entire series, and I still want them to win, but the Penguins snuck into the cold cockles of my heart on Monday….just a little.  I wouldn’t hate it if they won, I guess.  I’m essentially a non-partisan participant in these SCFs, but the fact of the matter is, I can’t watch on Saturday, so I want this thing wrapped up tonight.

So, I guess I’m rooting for the Red Wings to win a good game, and for the evening to be topped off with happy Swedes hoisting the Stanley Cup.

Go Red Wings!

(I think I’m going to live-blog tonight, so feel free to stop in if you want some company.  I’m sure the IPB ladies will have a lively thread as well.)

1 Response to “Slightly Torn”


  1. 1 SlugLuva June 4, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    Ummm….who’s the home team tonight? Whoever that is is who I want to win…..for the fans.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


