Not Closed For the Season

Well, that’s it for hockey. For four months.

See you in October.

Heh. Just kidding.

This is the time of year when I cut my teeth as a fan and as a hockey blogger. I started this blog on August 11th, deep in the midst of a dark, dark Sabres offseason. In addition to the absence of hockey, I had to contend with the fact that I’d seen very little hockey up to that point. Yeah that’s right. I started a hockey blog while there was no hockey occurring, and when I had seen less than twenty hockey games in my entire life. But look! It all worked out, more or less. No one was injured at least. My point here is that I am quite comfortable blogging during the offseason. I’m looking forward to it, in fact. I’m sure that come August, I’ll be desperate for the return of real hockey, but for now, I’m pleased to consider the creative freedom the offseason provides.

Right now I have three things planned for the summer:

1. I’ll be presenting Season 2 of Kate’s Favorite Sabre Competition, which last year hilariously yielded Maxim Afinogenov as KFS. Yeah….that lasted for about a week. The selection process has gotten exponentially more sophisticated since last summer (when I basically judged the entire thing on their roster photos), so you can rest assured that by the start of next season, a more lasting Favorite Sabre will be crowned.

2. I’ll be blogging the Olympics. I heart the Olympics. Big time. Plus, August is dark for the BPO, so I literally have nothing to do during the Olympics except for blog. In August, I’ll have no job, and no money. It’s the perfect situation for sitting around writing snarky posts about each and every freestyle gymnastics ribbon twirling routine. You can expect the Olympic coverage to be extremely extensive. Obsessive, even. We here at TWC will watch every single archery match, so that you don’t have to.

3. Last, but CERTAINLY not least, the readers of TWC will enjoy a complete and utter free agency emotional MELTDOWN. I essentially began my hockey boyhood during the ramp up to free agency ’07, and then I became a man during the gory aftermath of the co-captain’s departure. Some of you enjoyed years of carefree hockey fandom as children with nary a thought given to free agency- but not me. Oh no, I became a hockey fan while devouring every available piece of media about the departures of Chris Drury and Daniel Briere. I may seem like an innocent, but I assure you, I have wallowed in the trenches of free agency despair, and I am not an innocent. Free agency panic is my bread and butter. (I’ve basically been fretting about Ryan Miller non-stop since last July. Ask HeatherB.) Now granted, this will be a difficult offseason to create dramatic panic, even for me. We don’t have a lot on the line this summer in terms of UFAs, but you can count on me to satisfy all of your “SWEET MARY MOTHER OF GOD, WHAT THE HELL ARE WE GOING TO DO WITHOUT DMITRI KALININ AND MIKE RYAN? THE SABRES ARE DOOMED AND WE’RE ALL GOING TO DIE,” needs.

So that’s about it. Free agency, Olympics, and Kate’s Favorite Sabre. Obviously these three things will not provide four months of daily material, so if you have any requests for what you’d like to read about this summer, by all means, request away. I’ll do my best to be accommodating.

7 Responses to “Not Closed For the Season”


  1. 1 CrotchetyOriginalSam June 7, 2008 at 1:29 am

    Looking forward to those archery roundups, since I’ll be spending the entire Olympics in middle nowhere New England, out of range of TV…

    (On a not completely unrelated note, I have a really stupid closed-circuit question about what you and I will be doing two weeks from now: you’re playing first viola on the Mendelssohn, right? Or am I practicing the wrong part?)

  2. 2 Pookie June 7, 2008 at 9:11 am

    Katebits, I promise not to make any pitches for Staffy for KFS this year. Also? I CANNOT WAIT for your Olympic coverage. TWC has already made hockey better — I’m so happy that this can only be the best Olympic year ever because it’s going to have the TWC stamp on it. (Best Olympic Year ever is saying an awful lot, too, since it’s going to be devoid of Ian Thorpe, a fact which has the potential to make it the Worst Olympic Year ever.)

  3. 3 Katebits June 7, 2008 at 9:35 am

    You know, I was kidding about the archery round-ups, but the more I think about it, the more I’m thinking it might be fun to concentrate on all the little goofy, never watched sports. Hmm.

  4. 4 Jonathan June 7, 2008 at 9:46 am

    I think Toni Lydman is the odds on favorite this year.

  5. 5 Schnookie June 7, 2008 at 11:00 am

    I, for one, am now DOUBLY excited for this summer, because I can’t WAIT to read TWC’s Olympics coverage. And more than that, I can’t wait for the gripping return of Kate’s Favorite Sabre, a series that last summer took the interwebs by storm. This is GREAT NEWS!

  6. 6 AllHailTheGreatMiller June 7, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Another source of amusement for this summer: Crunchy’s own website! http://www.millertime30.com/

  7. 7 Amy June 7, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    Yay! Summer on TWC sounds like great fun.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


